Old 6th November 2007, 10:21   #16

How about a gypsy? that is small and out of the ordinary.
Old 6th November 2007, 11:28   #17

Originally Posted by redsfx View Post
How are the spares for the baleno?
Are they cheap and readily available?

How about the S10?Will we be able to get spares easily for a 2 or 3year old car easily? How expensive is its maintainance?

spares for the baleno are reasonable & freely available. On the other hand, spares for the palio are a trifle hard to find.

P.S. edit your title thread with the magic word palio & see all the advice that will flow in for free.
Old 6th November 2007, 11:48   #18

@esteem_lover: Dude am not only looking for a palio but other rides as well. Pretty much open-minded now. Like one of the members pointed out if there is a baleno for around 2.3-2.5 for a 2 year old car I don't think there will be a better deal with respect to the running and maintainance costs.
Old 6th November 2007, 12:02   #19

Like one of the members pointed out if there is a baleno for around 2.3-2.5 for a 2 year old car I don't think there will be a better deal with respect to the running and maintainance costs.
Buddy, that is in Delhi. Down south you won't get Baleno at that rate. Just got a call from M truevalue, they have a 2004 Baleno Lxi quoting 4.3L. I told them that very same Truevalue has offered a 2005 Baleno for 4.1L (after negotiation). He promptly cut the phone.
Old 6th November 2007, 13:04   #20

Like one of the members pointed out if there is a baleno for around 2.3-2.5 for a 2 year old car I don't think there will be a better deal with respect to the running and maintainance costs.
for that price, you would get a 2000/2001 Baleno. In that case, even the Mitsu Lancer & OHC come into the picture.
Old 6th November 2007, 14:48   #21

I think the best car's ( eye candy wise ) in that budget would be -

Mitsubishi Lancer SFX ( 2002 / 2003 Model - 2.5 - 3.0 lacs )

Fiat Palio S10 - Difficult to find but nevertheless a brilliant hatch - All
Yellow colours only though.

Fiat Adventure - 2003 Model / 2.5 Lacs - A good vehicle but DRINKS !!

Baleno - 3.0 lacs - 2004 / 2005 Model - BUT someone said that prices are higher down south so you will have to check.

Esteem - plenty of them avaialble so not unique.
Accent - same as Esteem, plenty around.
OHC - same as above 2 again !!
IKOn - same as above 3.

Others - Gypsy, Uno, Daewoo Nexia, Ford Escort, Versa - All between 1.0 & 2.0 lacs - all very unique now.
Old 6th November 2007, 15:01   #22

ford ikon 1.3 is also good option then palio in my opinion.ikon is lot peace of mind in maintaince then palio .LANCER SFXi in yellow is also good option n suits very well your friend.
Old 6th November 2007, 16:28   #23

I would recommend buying a car w/o a boot, look at a old zen (later to '00) or matiz ('99-'00) both can make a decent buy and would look pretty with a girl inside, paint it pink, add alloys, ICE and what not....?

Buy a non coastal area car for rust free maintenance.
Old 7th November 2007, 12:40   #24

@AirWind: Dude I dont think she wants a zen or a matiz. They are pretty dated as well. I have a lancer sfxi and will probably look for another sfxi at a good price and condition. Will also be on the look out for a s10. Maybe also keep my eyes open for a good deal on a baleno/ohc.

Old 7th November 2007, 13:52   #25
PVS

She wants a a car in a budget of about 1.75 - 2.5 lakhs. This will be her first car. She wants something out of the ordinary and funky rather than the normal boring rides.
Are there any other cars we could look at in this price range? The car would be self-driven most of the time. She is against the zen, wagon-r options. Come up with suggestions guys.

Suggestion: Maruti Esteem VX - 1999/2000 - able performer, fun to drive; affordable spare parts; getting in & out can be a problem especially if your friend is a tall lady.
Old 15th November 2007, 23:46   #26

As you say this is her first car then it should be a small one that is reliable and easy to use in a city like Chennai I would suggest a Santro or an Alto(totally out on the funky thing).
Though if big is the way to go then the Indigo(would be diff) petrol(GLS or GLX 2003-04) would also do. Should come around 1.75-2
Old 16th November 2007, 11:21   #27

I feel the first car should be a second hand car and should be a small car as if you go for mid size, the negotiation in traffic will be too difficult. A small car hatch like Zen/Santro/Palio would be more helpful for her. Its not unique but it will save her from the expenses that will be incurred after she starts to drive.
Old 16th November 2007, 11:23   #28

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
I would Recommend her a Honda City 1.5 if available

A gud 2000-2001 Model Could Be Easily Available For a maximum of 2 lakhs

not in chennai im sure
Old 16th November 2007, 11:27   #29

i would not recommend a OHC for a lady - very uncomfy getting in and out....and for a first car - defenetly not...

u said ur not looking at Matiz...how about a new SPARK ? i think it looks really fresh and classy and with GM selling fewer and fewer - it defenetly catches ur eye when u see it on road....

accent is also a good practical option...
Old 16th November 2007, 11:39   #30

I know a PALIO 1.6 gtx (sports), black in color for sale. It's a 2002 model and the asking price is 1.5 L in Chennai. Let me know if youre interested. I will pass on the contact to you.