Old 23rd February 2009, 16:32   #1

USED SWIFT DDIS Ldi - need advice

guys..
in the past few days i have been looking to sell my petra for a linea.
but i guess linea will have to wait cause some unexpected personal expenses have been made.
today i came across a person who wants to sell his swift ldi.
the car has run 50000 kms and is a feb 2008 vehicle.ITS A TOURIST VEHICLE.
i havent checked the vehicle yet.will let you guys know the condition of the car once i check it.
need your advice guys...
Old 23rd February 2009, 16:34   #2

Tourist Vehicle: Stay away is my two cents.
Old 23rd February 2009, 16:36   #3

1 year and 50000 kms is way to much for any car.stay away or get it free,my two cents.
Old 23rd February 2009, 16:51   #4
rippergeo

Car is likely to have been abused. but, have a look and see what you think. If possible, get someone from maruti to help you with the inspection.

Problem areas
1.Turbo- if the driver doesnt idle after highspeed runs before switching off
(not sure how you can check it)
2.rattles
3.check clutch
4.make sure the kick at 2000rpm is there.
5.pulling to the side on an unbanked road
6.related to point 5-check for uneven tyre wear.

there maybe more, but this is all I can think of.
Also- why is someone selling a tourist vehicle at 50k?

just remembered
Smoke during heavy acceleration

Old 23rd February 2009, 16:54   #5
SBR

Tourist Vehicles are a abused lot. Stay away from them.

Suggest go for a New one if you have decided on a Swift + SBI is offering very good car loans as well which will keep your commitment levels low.
Old 23rd February 2009, 16:59   #6

1 year and 50K kms, stay away bro .. Keep searching and you might get better vehicles...

Originally Posted by SBR View Post
Tourist Vehicles are a abused lot. Stay away from them.

Suggest go for a New one if you have decided on a Swift + SBI is offering very good car loans as well which will keep your commitment levels low.
Old 23rd February 2009, 17:31   #7

Agreed with everybody.

Dont buy. It will have lots of problems later on.

Better go for a new diesel / CNG hatch.
Old 23rd February 2009, 17:54   #8

1) How many kms the car has done ?
2) Why is the car being sold off ? I have seen that generally these vehicles are not sold off so fast in an year. They will keep it running untill it completes 1 lakh kms. In this case its just one year.
3) What it the price quoted ?

Sometimes what happens is that when these tourist vehicles meet with a crash or some other form of accident, they are repaired and then sold off.
Agree with all, stay away.
Old 23rd February 2009, 18:02   #9

Does the car have full service history and extended warranty? i.e. 4yrs/80,000 km? Ask for the records. If it does, it would be still worth buying it, PROVIDED the price is approx. 20% below the usual market rate for cars of that age. You have 30,000 km of warranty coverage to set things right. The stuff that is not under warranty, i.e. tyres, clutch etc., can be replaced with the cost differential vis-a-vis a lower-mileage car. And is it accident-free?

Most importantly, does it feel good to drive?
Old 23rd February 2009, 18:21   #10

Originally Posted by rippergeo View Post
1.Turbo- if the driver doesnt idle after highspeed runs before switching off
(not sure how you can check it)
I think if the turbo bearings are shot due to this , the turbo spool up should be laggy or very gradual, and the effect also will be low. Someone who uses a swift D regularly should be able to judge this
Old 23rd February 2009, 19:17   #11

Uhh 1 Year = 50000kms!!

Where was the car driven, on a World Tour??

Stay away from a tourist vehicle. They are most abused and accident affected!! Dont you see a Call centre cab daily, think?

Cheers~
Old 23rd February 2009, 19:31   #12

go for my advise-DO NOT SELL YOUR PETRA.

already the resale values of the cars have crashed due to nano effect, selling a car which is the most suited for indian conditions will do it no good.

it's surprising to see you downgrade from a solid built fiat to a flimsily built maruti with a fiat engine, and that too a tourist taxi which, can fall into pieces anytime. taxiwallahs are still not accoustomed to maintain modern CRDi engines (smoking taxi innovas, for example), so STAY AWAY.

or else-either buy a new palio MJD SD, available at a discount or wait for the punto.
Old 23rd February 2009, 19:51   #13

As everyone suggested, stay away from a Tourist vehicle which has gone 50K kms. If we calculate an average of 12K Kms a year, this car is mechanically 4 yrs old.
My $0.02, stay away
Old 23rd February 2009, 21:52   #14

No way a TAXI. It would be night mare to own a taxi, cos i ve seen how bad these guys maintain the car. They dont even service it on prescribed intervals. Check for genuine service records as they may get some rubbish service records from their known mechanics.

I d recommend you to keep your petra till you are all ready for a Linea or go for a Second hand well maintained SWIFT (Which is very difficult to get). Try your luck, you may come up spotting a good owner driven SWIFT Diesel.
Old 24th February 2009, 00:48   #15

GUYZ...THANKS A MILLION FOR YOUR INPUTS!

since all of you guys feel the same i shall stay away from this car butttt ill surely have a look at it in a couple of days time just for sake of experiance.
by the way the owners quoting 3.65 lacs.its just the price and the itch of changing cars thats tempting me.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com