Team-BHP > Team-BHP Reviews > Indian Car Loans & Insurance

Old 12th October 2024, 10:39   #5776

Re: Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me

Originally Posted by PGA View Post
I recently purchased Grand Vitara Hybrid and my insurance worked out to Rs 31,410/- with 50% NCB added into it. A photo of the policy document is below. Since I was only looking at the overall budget I did not check the finer details.

While I do understand that some of the above is optional/on as required basis, is it necessary to have an EV shield and Engine and Gear Box Protect? Shouldn't that be part of the overall policy cover. IDV of the car is little over Rs 17.50/-Lakh
The TPL premium amount is for a single year or 3 year as it seems to be too low. Is it because of the hybrid car?

Engine and gear box protect is effective if you driving in a flood prone area/location. If only for city drive then it does not make sense.

Can you elaborate what does the Private EV shield have, could you share the T&Cs?
Old 12th October 2024, 14:07   #5777

Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
My Tucson insurance is up for renewal and I got an email from Hyundai to renew it. But it is not letting me renew as it is getting stuck in KYC page. It asks for documents like PAN and GST, and after uploading that it kicks me back to the beginning page. After doing it for 4 times, I am giving up. Looks like it is designed such that online renewal is impossible.
Any particular reason for renewing the Insurance from Hyundai, is the premium lower than the market prices? The issue could from the Hyundai website end.
Old 12th October 2024, 14:26   #5778

Originally Posted by ghodlur View Post
Any particular reason for renewing the Insurance from Hyundai, is the premium lower than the market prices? The issue could from the Hyundai website end.
Yeah, their quote was the lowest compared to the quote given by the dealership. I haven't shopped around other than that.
Old 17th October 2024, 15:35   #5779

Hi Folks! Planning to renew my City 5th gen insurance through Raheja QBE.
Can you guys throw some light on claim settlement and customer service? Is it better than Acko?
Appreciate your help. Thanks.
Old 18th October 2024, 18:39   #5780

Can someone please help me in making sure that I am going for correct IDV value per IRDAI?

Purchase Date - Nov 29 2021

Age for the car - exceeds 2 years but less than 3 years as of now

Depreciation as per IDRAI - 30%

Dealer insurance is saying it will be 40% as we will be renewing the same insurance and effective date will be after the current insurance expires Nov 29 at that point, age of the car will be 3 years.

Is this accurate statement?

Please help with my other question related to PA coverage.

I have PA cover (owner- driver) bundled with compreshenive insurance on one car which has 3 year expiry. Do I need PA cover on another car when renewing insurance? I am confused as people are saying if we have stand-alone PA cover, we don't need for individual cars. Can some one please calrify?

Also, I do have PA cover for paid driver and PA cover for 5 unnamed passengers. Are these PA add-ons with same 3 year expiry? Policy documement is unclear as it mentions the 3 year in the description for the PA cover for owner-driver and not for others. Then on the top it says liability section with 3 year expiry.

Please help.

Last edited by Gannu_1 : 20th October 2024 at 08:25. Reason: Back to back posts merged.
Old 18th October 2024, 18:55   #5781

Originally Posted by carguy2021 View Post
Please help with my other question related to PA coverage.

I have PA cover (owner- driver) bundled with compreshenive insurance on one car which has 3 year expiry. Do I need PA cover on another car when renewing insurance? I am confused as people are saying if we have stand-alone PA cover, we don't need for individual cars. Can some one please calrify?

Also, I do have PA cover for paid driver and PA cover for 5 unnamed passengers. Are these PA add-ons with same 3 year expiry? Policy documement is unclear as it mentions the 3 year in the description for the PA cover for owner-driver and not for others. Then on the top it says liability section with 3 year expiry.

Please help.
Owner PA cover is to be bought only once in a year. If you already have it as a part of personal insurance or another car then no need to buy it again.

Last edited by Aviator_guy : 18th October 2024 at 18:57.
Aviator_guy is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 18th October 2024, 19:03   #5782

Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
Owner PA cover is to be bought only once in a year. If you already have it as a part of personal insurance or another car then no need to buy it again.
Thank you.

Are these add-on also for 3 years? I bought a new car recently with all these add ons and liabiity coverage was for 3 years.

PA Cover for 5 Unnamed Passengers Rs 200000 Each (IMT-16)
PA cover for Paid Driver of Rs 2 Lac (IMT-17)
Paid Driver (IMT-28)
Old 18th October 2024, 19:16   #5783

Thank you.

Are these add-on also for 3 years? I bought a new car recently with all these add ons and liabiity coverage was for 3 years.

PA Cover for 5 Unnamed Passengers Rs 200000 Each (IMT-16)
PA cover for Paid Driver of Rs 2 Lac (IMT-17)
Paid Driver (IMT-28)
AFAIK, these are yearly covers. Only third party cover (for new car) is for 3 years.
Old 18th October 2024, 20:11   #5784

Originally Posted by Aviator_guy View Post
AFAIK, these are yearly covers. Only third party cover (for new car) is for 3 years.
After a long hold was able to talk to insurance agent and looks like it is 3 years (same as third party validity).

LL to Paid Driver (IMT-28) - 150

Add on Coverages PA Cover for Un-Named Persons of 200000 Each (for 5 Persons) (IMT-16) - 1500

I was able to double check on few website by opting for these add ons which were 1/3 the price for 1 year.
carguy2021 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th October 2024, 09:48   #5785

After a long hold was able to talk to insurance agent and looks like it is 3 years (same as third party validity).

LL to Paid Driver (IMT-28) - 150

Add on Coverages PA Cover for Un-Named Persons of 200000 Each (for 5 Persons) (IMT-16) - 1500

I was able to double check on few website by opting for these add ons which were 1/3 the price for 1 year.
Good to know

By the way, PA covers for co-passengers and paid driver are optional.

If you don't have driver or don't intend to hire driver then you may chose to skip paid driver cover.
Old 19th October 2024, 10:49   #5786

I had got a 3 year 3rd party as well as a 1 year Own damage premium. The premium which I paid when I got the scooter had significantly lesser base cover amount than the one which is being shown now. Is this to be expected? Any tips on how I can get a better deal? I want to have a own damage cover as well as a zero dep cover since Ola Scooter is notorious for breakdowns.
Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me-screenshot_20241019_082253_ola.jpg  

Automobile Insurance Queries? Ask me-screenshot_20241019_082323_cred.jpg  

Old 24th October 2024, 11:04   #5787

Guys, I recently bought a used car from Spinny with valid comprehensive insurance. Now the process to transfer the insurance to my name is not clear.

I called IffkoT, and they asked me to send my Pan, Aadhaar, new RC (virtual copy), and my photograph to them.

Following this, I received an email from them saying:

"This is a dealership policy. So any change in the policy will be done by the dealer end. Requested you to kindly co-ordinate with dealer for endorsement copy."

Thereafter, they have written an email to the dealership and thats about it. Can someone explain how does this work? This is my first time buying a used car and transferring insurance to my name.
Old 24th October 2024, 11:44   #5788

Originally Posted by Pancham View Post
Guys, I recently bought a used car from Spinny with valid comprehensive insurance. Now the process to transfer the insurance to my name is not clear.

I called IffkoT, and they asked me to send my Pan, Aadhaar, new RC (virtual copy), and my photograph to them.

Following this, I received an email from them saying:

"This is a dealership policy. So any change in the policy will be done by the dealer end. Requested you to kindly co-ordinate with dealer for endorsement copy."

Thereafter, they have written an email to the dealership and thats about it. Can someone explain how does this work? This is my first time buying a used car and transferring insurance to my name.
I'd say you can give them a call or visit if possible to update the insurance records if that's what the insurance company wants you to do. Since you have updated RC already, name transfer should not be a trouble.
Old 29th October 2024, 19:12   #5789

Folks,

One of my friends changed his paint color from x to y, post paint process he applied to the RTO for intimation and rc update.

In the interim the car met with an accident. Can we get a claim on this car? Any experience / insights will be helpful.

What would be the process?

Old 30th October 2024, 08:07   #5790

Originally Posted by arjunrudra View Post
One of my friends changed his paint color from x to y, post paint process he applied to the RTO for intimation and rc update.

In the interim the car met with an accident. Can we get a claim on this car? Any experience / insights will be helpful.
If the Paint color modification and the RC application is shared with the Insurance co and a confirmation is sought, there should be no reason why the claim cannot be honored.