Old 10th March 2006, 07:52   #1

New Camry at19.80lac to 21.40lac

New Camry is out.Priced at 19.80 to21.40lac. Check today's The Hindu.
Old 10th March 2006, 08:01   #2

Yeap..saw it too. The rear should be real fabulous and comfort levels would be high too.

Option packages:

Vehicle Stability Control with Traction Control (VSC/TRAC)

JBL premium 6-disc in-dash CD changer with Bluetooth. 8 speakers, 440 watts
power moonroof
16-inch alloy wheels
VSC/TRAC
autodimming rearview mirror with compass

JBL premium 6-disc in-dash CD changer with Bluetooth. 8 speakers, 440 watts
VSC/TRAC
power moonroof
leather-trimmed interior
available heated leather front seats
Homelink
autodimming rearview mirror with compass
Navigation with JBL premium 4-disc in-dash CD changer with Bluetooth, 440 watts. (AT version only)
all-season radials

Navigation with JBL premium 4-disc in-dash CD changer with Bluetooth, 440 watts. (AT version only)
all-season radials
leather-trimmed interior (4 cyl only)
available leather heated front seats
VSC/TRAC
smart entry system with push button start (V6 only)

Last edited by karthik247 : 10th March 2006 at 08:06.
Old 10th March 2006, 08:39   #3

Ex-Showroom price in Delhi

W1-Manual- 1,983,500
W2-Automatic-2,145,500

Last edited by kpzen : 10th March 2006 at 08:43.
Old 10th March 2006, 08:50   #4

This is crazy!

I mean, would u buy this over the accord?- the Camry may be half a size bigger now, but hte acord is not exactly small wither, and it is a whopping 4 L cheaper, with a more powerful engine.

Even the 3.0 V6 is a couple of lakhs cheaper than the camry

Hell! if I wanted to spend 20L , I would much rather buy the TDI V6 superb.

Looks like Toyota are not serious about Camry in ndia, which is a shame realy cause it is a very refined luxury car and can be a genune competitor to hte accord in india.

As of now, it is honda all the way since the sonata has also fallen by the wayside!

WAKE UP TOYOTA!!!!
Old 10th March 2006, 09:12   #5

I have seen 2 Camry's on the roads here and though it was just a glimpse, I would say the car looks better in real then in pictures. But fast work by Toyota, the camry is in India already! Still the price is way too high. I guess it's being brought into India as a CBU and therefore the high price tag. Karthik are those features for the Indian variant? I mean homelink in India? Another reason why I think the car is a CBU. The interior pic is nice but are'nt the instruments lit up in VolksWagen Blue?
Old 10th March 2006, 09:18   #6

seems like Toyota has been smoking dope !
Old 10th March 2006, 11:48   #7

Wooow. i didnot expect it to come so soon. The accord facelift was heard before. But the camry out so soon. THats great though whatever the car be.
Old 10th March 2006, 11:53   #8

Toyota has joined Skoda in the adda....one prices a 14 lakh barely-d-segment car at 18 and the other prices a D-segment vehicle at Avalonian prices.
Old 10th March 2006, 12:08   #9

The Camry has always had a cost-disadvantage to the Accord, since the Camry is imported as a CBU. This would explain their strategy of marketing aggressively only to the hospitality sector which can avail of custom duty waivers under the EPCG scheme.

However, I still do see a lot of D segment buyers choosing the new Camry over the Accord simply because it is an entirely new and fresh design compared to the Accord which is now 4 years old and common place on Indian roads.

But what will happen when the new Accord comes here in 2007?

Old 10th March 2006, 12:42   #10

Good amount of electronics over Accord but then again it is full 4L expensive.
Also some people might be put down by either exterior styling or excessive chrome inside.
Personally I wanted to spend 21L on car I would choose Superb over Camry.
But my favorite D segment car is still Accord, because I dislike exterior styling and hate excessive chrome

PS:
Originally Posted by GTO
But what will happen when the new Accord comes here in 2007?
It will still remain leader in its segment

Last edited by adya33 : 10th March 2006 at 12:46.
Old 10th March 2006, 13:37   #11

I guess if they are sharing Skoda's dope they will run out of kits soon
Old 10th March 2006, 13:42   #12

Originally Posted by adya33
Good amount of electronics over Accord but then again it is full 4L expensive.
But most buyers do not consider all these goodies - what they want is a big engine, loads of space inside, good looks, exclusivity and sometimes a big brand name to flaunt.

I dont think many people in India buy the S-class, coz its so loaded with electronic goodies - mostly will have drivers who wont have a single clue. They buy it for the space, comforts and the prestige.

And you can get all in an Accord for 4L lesser. Thats 20% savings.
Old 11th March 2006, 00:04   #13

the headlights look like they have been hurriedlt stolen from the nissan 350z and the centre fascia in the interiors looks a total rip off of an accord!
now we know who's the mimic!
Old 11th March 2006, 11:59   #14

@frank:erm, i don't think the headlights are reminiscent of the 350z; the z has much bigger and more flared lamps.

as for the price, the camry DOES have a few things going for it against the skoda superb- first being the price, which is over 2 lacs cheaper (than the diesel; the petrol does not offer much competition; plus, the camry comes with a manual too- both the skodas come in tiptronic autos; and although both cars might be chauffeur driven, a manual does give more F.E), and secondly, it is a toyota; skoda just can't compete with the brand value.

one thing though; toyota SHOULD consider SKD's or CKD's if they intend to head-butt the accord. why? guess how much a camry costs under the EPCG scheme.....a mind-blowing 10 lacs..!! that was the price paid for a bunch of camry's when a hotelier had bought a fleet some time ago...

so, when's the accord 2.2 ictdi and the 3.0 V6 manual due......? let's hope they hit our shores sooner than we think....
Old 13th March 2006, 11:22   #15

Originally Posted by GTO
However, I still do see a lot of D segment buyers choosing the new Camry over the Accord simply because it is an entirely new and fresh design compared to the Accord which is now 4 years old and common place on Indian roads.