Old 25th June 2016, 17:52   #346

re: Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs

The launch is planned for 15th July.
even Chandigarh dealer told on similar lines, do you guys have any ballpark figures for the launch prices ?
Old 26th June 2016, 09:41   #347

even Chandigarh dealer told on similar lines, do you guys have any ballpark figures for the launch prices ?
A dealer in Pune mentioned ~ 70 lakhs.
Old 27th June 2016, 10:50   #348

60 - 70 Lakh is the expected price Ex Showroom.
Old 2nd July 2016, 13:21   #349

Mustang to launch on 13th July
Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-img20160702wa0004.jpg
samaspire is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 3rd July 2016, 19:21   #350

So happen to drive one here in Canada yesterday. We drove one with Ecoboost engine but also checked bigger 8 Cylinder engine on the bay. We were offered one without leather & sync3 at $ 27500 and the loaded one is about $ 5000 Extra . 8 cylinder is another $ 5000 extra so what they will be launching here is something that retails around 37,5 $ or so in Canada.

My suggestion to anyone who wants to plonk 60-70 Lac or higher amount, should go for a longish drive before committing. This car does not feel or drive like a 100 K $ nor has an interior that can justify this high price tag which will be due to taxes. Everything is built to the price and is quite evident once you are past the euphoria of driving / seeing such a different car. And when you are going to book one please don't take any acquaintances who are not supporting you financially or related to you Neither take this near to any mall or women's college on test drive as this is surely a head turner & you will not able to check anything else once your testosterone levels changes which this car is actually quite capable of - Best to test drive in dark

Will I buy one ? Nope . Will this be successful in India - if they price 60 & beyond - after 1 or 2 lots it's going to be very difficult I guess.

Last edited by Turbanator : 3rd July 2016 at 19:25.
Turbanator is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 4th July 2016, 12:07   #351

Thanks Turbanator! Yeah, because it's a CBU, it'll be competing against the 6-cylinder Europeans and certainly can't fight them in quality, finesse or engineering depth.

However, what the Mustang has is styling, image, V8 engine, character & history. I'm just really, really happy to see such an iconic car coming to India. Don't remember the last time I was as excited about a CBU.

2019 should be a good year to pick up a pre-worshipped example .

Last edited by GTO : 4th July 2016 at 12:15.
GTO is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 4th July 2016, 13:40   #352

It is really sad that ford is choosing the CBU route for the mustang. I feel our market has matured well enough. A mustang at 30-40Lac would certainly be a BIG threat to the mighty Europeans playing with their entry level executive saloons. Its got a lot more street cred than, say a C class or even the more premium SUVs. I, for one, think a mustang is more macho than an ML or a Q5.

I know its bad but I pray the mustang has utterly terrible resale value
ashwin1224 is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 4th July 2016, 15:02   #353

Will this be successful in India - if they price 60 & beyond - after 1 or 2 lots it's going to be very difficult I guess.

Thank you Turbanator for your initial impression! Completely agree with your observations.

You speak of my mind here, GTO! Have had a long lasting fling with convertible Mustang GT V8 back in 2011, and looking forward to pick up a pre-worshipped one when the initial euphoria is over and people get over it. Whatever brickbats I may get for saying this, want the Mustang to poor resale so that people like us can lay our hands on this beauty at mouthwatering prices!

Ah the beautiful days, those! Was too mesmerized by Polestar C30 Volvo back then, for that amazing shade of Rebel Blue (Ford called color on Mustang Grabber Blue!)

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-084.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-082.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-my-mustang.jpg
Ace F355 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 7th July 2016, 15:07   #354

Resale of this car will be particularly good as compared to its German CBU rivals for sure, provided it is priced sensibly. What ever the MRP they decide it will not cost less then 40L in 2019, IMHO.
zulfi hansi is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th July 2016, 18:59   #355

Ford Mustang to officially launch in India tomorrow

Ford Mustang all set to be launched officially
http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/a...w/53155460.cms via @timesofindia
Old 12th July 2016, 11:31   #356
//M

Ford Mustang launched at BIC at 65 lakhs ex-showroom Delhi. Couldn't find an article anywhere yet, but the news comes from a very reliable source.

Some pics from Twitter - #FordMustang.

Last edited by //M : 12th July 2016 at 11:50.
//M is offline   (22) Thanks
Old 12th July 2016, 14:24   #357
//M

Ford Mustang launched in India at Rs 65 lakh

Ford today launched the iconic Mustang in India at a price of Rs 65 lakh (ex showroom, Delhi). The company will accept bookings for the Mustang in Mumbai and Delhi initially, and plans to include other cities next year.

The sixth-generation Mustang is the first one to be developed as a right-hand drive. Powering the Mustang is a 401hp 5.0-litre petrol V8 engine with a torque rating of 515Nm mated to six-speed auto gearbox. The mechanicals can hurl the Mustang to a claimed top speed of 250kph. The American muscle car is equipped to run on regular 91 octane fuel or above.

The Mustang features aviation-inspired interiors complete with airplane-like toggle switches on the centre console. It also gets a leather-trimmed steering wheel with audio and speed controls and tilt-steering column and an infotainment system with 8.0-inch touchscreen on the inside.

Drivers can choose from four driving modes – Normal, Sport+, which provides a more responsive steering and throttle response, Track, which produces a more powerful engine sound and Wet. It also comes with limited slip differential to improve traction and agility on slippery surfaces.

Source: ACI
Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712020657_mgt.jpg  

//M is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 12th July 2016, 14:39   #358

As I mentioned earlier, the V8 Mustang sells below the C-Class in the USA. Thanks to Ford bringing it in as a CBU, it's priced above an E350 here. What a contrast. One of the main reasons behind the Mustang's popularity (since the 60's) has been its affordable nature. Sadly, not the case in India where it's priced exorbitantly.

Still, this is a special day for all us muscle car lovers. Can't wait to drive the beast .
GTO is offline   (13) Thanks
Old 12th July 2016, 16:08   #359

Not at all a bad pricing IMHO! The car has a cult following and it should sell in decent numbers at this pricepoint, it may not be the best, but its a V8.
Old 12th July 2016, 16:18   #360

Interiors of the Mustang

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712025157_dash.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712030319_gearbox.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712030322_toggles.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712025157_dials.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712030318_frontseat.jpg

Ford Mustang coming to India. EDIT: Launched at 65 lakhs-0_468_700_http172.17.115.18082extraimages20160712030320_rearseat.jpg

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-rev...ve-402531.aspx
Karthik Chandra is offline   (12) Thanks