Old 24th December 2020, 14:52   #31

Re: BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launch on January 21, 2021

Wonder why with a 110mm extra wheelbase just 43mm extra rear legroom! Where has all the extra length gone? Some error imo

Last edited by scooby05 : 24th December 2020 at 14:54. Reason: Did not want to quote the full message.
Old 24th December 2020, 17:08   #32

Re: Long wheelbase BMW 3-Series launch on January 21, 2021

^^
Rear Seats will be different with a wider base over a regular 3.
Turbanator is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 24th December 2020, 19:53   #33

Confusing value proposition here, a fun-to-drive RWD sport sedan with focus on rear seat comfort? I just hope BMW has the presence of mind to offer a “prestige” variant instead of the m-sport on this.
A detuned turbo petrol and the same diesel as the regular 3 would help differentiate this chauffeur driven special. Can we have higher profile tires, smaller wheels and a full size spare wheel?
Surely, purists who love to drive will not take kindly to identical engine options or an m-sport pack on this variant. I’ll even wager that this could outsell the regular driver focused 3 in India.
shreevishnu is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 24th December 2020, 21:15   #34

Originally Posted by shreevishnu View Post
A detuned turbo petrol and the same diesel as the regular 3 would help differentiate this chauffeur driven special. Can we have higher profile tires, smaller wheels and a full size spare wheel?
Surely, purists who love to drive will not take kindly to identical engine options or an m-sport pack on this variant. I’ll even wager that this could outsell the regular driver focused 3 in India.
Well said. They should offer it as the China tune 325 Li with the 190 bhp petrol instead of the 255 bhp tune.

I also agree it'll outsell the 'purist' version.
Old 3rd January 2021, 08:58   #35

3 Series Gran Limousine media drives have begun.

BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launched at Rs. 51.50 lakh-a66271dae33d4446b2c16715188af404.jpeg
CEF_Beasts is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2021, 22:00   #36

BMW has a winner in the form of the 3 Series Gran Limousine albeit at the cost of the 5 series though (except the 530d.)

BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launched at Rs. 51.50 lakh-69495c0baa1844e3b96ffafe85d223be.jpeg
The massive panoramic sunroof

BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launched at Rs. 51.50 lakh-90210a702d67490393f42e638d2fc9fe.jpeg

BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launched at Rs. 51.50 lakh-74829f1835e848908caf3f808227ac46.jpeg
Will get the L badging signifying the long wheelbase.

BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launched at Rs. 51.50 lakh-a20b542beab649009dc2b98f506f8801.jpeg
The legroom is definitely .

Looks like BMW can definitely replicate what Mercedes Benz did with the E-Class long wheelbase!

https://www.instagram.com/p/CJlqSegA...=1x1r1xa8aqx6i
CEF_Beasts is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 3rd January 2021, 22:09   #37

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Here is a pic of the real BIG change
Seems like the plush pillows are missing in the India version.
Old 3rd January 2021, 22:33   #38

Good cash cow move. BMW taking indian/chinese tastes and preferences seriously.

Wonder what the new tagline would be though ?
Old 4th January 2021, 03:36   #39

Originally Posted by CEF_Beasts View Post
BMW has a winner in the form of the 3 Series Gran Limousine albeit at the cost of the 5 series though (except the 530d.)

Attachment 2102352
The massive panoramic sunroof

Attachment 2102353

Attachment 2102354
Will get the L badging signifying the long wheelbase.

Attachment 2102355
The legroom is definitely .

Looks like BMW can definitely replicate what Mercedes Benz did with the E-Class long wheelbase!

https://www.instagram.com/p/CJlqSegA...=1x1r1xa8aqx6i

Thanks for the Instagram link. Just posting Sorabjee’s short review for those who might not have seen.
BMW 3 Series Gran Limousine launched at Rs. 51.50 lakh-1ea005acf75444bc9b23b7c32f0d32ee.jpeg  

spkrnh is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 4th January 2021, 07:05   #40

From the pics I am really pleased to note that they seem to have gotten the underthigh support and the seat back recline factors spot on. That’s a huge relief.

2023 - 25 is when my GT comes up for replacement. I had always expected my next car to very likely be a Camry for sheer comfort and longevity of use with peace of mind of ownership. But that’s gonna set me back a solid ~46 lakh or so. I would expect a 2 year old used LWB with less than 20k on the ODO to sell for approx 32 - 35 lakh, not more. That really throws a curve ball into assessing the value proposition because in the LWB 3, I would get a fuel efficient, uber comfortable sedan which still drives like a BMW behind the wheel and gives comparable comfort to the Camry when at the back.

Even if I put the 10 - 14 lakh rupees saved in an FD, it more than covers any additional costs of maintaining the Beemer for a 10 year life horizon. Not going to be easy navigating that decision.

Last edited by Axe77 : 4th January 2021 at 07:07.
Old 4th January 2021, 08:45   #41

This has a potential, one of known, a little aged, who will always sit in the rear and has a 7 was specifically looking for smaller C for ease of movement in traffic. But found the rear space absolutely unacceptable. Ultimately bought the E.

Am sure there’s a huge market but, currently E class carries 10-11 lac discounts effectively making ex-showroom in low fifties. At full BMW price, whatever they launch, I see a challenge unless they go competitive from the start which I doubt. Except for few crowded metros like Kolkatta or some parts of Delhi/ Mumbai, people may not prefer a smaller -3- L over an E which looks like a mini S unless BMW can have a price difference of over 15 lac which might be very difficult for BMW.

So even though it’s a great product I expect, MB to give a fight.
Turbanator is online now   (5) Thanks
Old 4th January 2021, 10:50   #42

I just checked the 320d regular version prices and was in a state of shock. The on road price for luxury line is 60L without discounts in Bangalore!

This means the long wheelbase will be easily 65L if not close to 70L without discounts. This means it will be 10-12L lesser than the E class 220d starting price.

This is where BMW will have a tough time. As Turbanator mentioned, the E class has hefty discounts and a 320Ld without discounts will be a very tough sell.

IF MErcedes drop a few driver oriented features and get the E class in an even lower trim, any chauffeur driven buyer will prefer the E over the 3.

Also, I don't think it makes sense for Mercedes to get the C class long wheelbase with such a brilliant E class. The C class customer and the E class customer are different. The C class buyer wants a compact luxury car and the E class wants S class comfort at a lower tag.
Vid6639 is offline   (8) Thanks
Old 4th January 2021, 14:50   #43

I just checked the 320d regular version prices and was in a state of shock. The on road price for luxury line is 60L without discounts in Bangalore!
Cannot comment on the Mercedes side but I imagine this will take the literal and spiritual successor to the 3GT in discounts as well. When I bought my G20 330i Sport, BMW was offering close to 13L (!) off the F30 3GT. That was bringing the OTR to close to what I ultimately paid for my 3.

I feel the Li & Ld models will soon sell at big discounts, as BMW will be forced to keep the MRP artificially high compared to the SWB models.

Personally, I did not consider it all given the overall looks including that big derriere, soft suspension and outgoing generation. BUT many people continued to be in love with it due to the immense space and practicality it offers.

As Turbanator has pointed out, it will sell very well with those looking to be chauffeured over the week but wants to drive a BMW over the weekend. FOr example, if I had my parents staying with me, I could not have considered the 330i at all due to the difficult ingress/egress at the back.

This LWB version solves that particular issue brilliantly.
itwasntme is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 4th January 2021, 18:06   #44

This means the long wheelbase will be easily 65L if not close to 70L without discounts. This means it will be 10-12L lesser than the E class 220d starting price.

This is where BMW will have a tough time. As Turbanator mentioned, the E class has hefty discounts and a 320Ld without discounts will be a very tough sell.

IF MErcedes drop a few driver oriented features and get the E class in an even lower trim, any chauffeur driven buyer will prefer the E over the 3.

Also, I don't think it makes sense for Mercedes to get the C class long wheelbase with such a brilliant E class. The C class customer and the E class customer are different. The C class buyer wants a compact luxury car and the E class wants S class comfort at a lower tag.
Completely agree with you about the E Class segment vs the C Class segment buyer.
But hey, the 3GT did sell fairly well despite its odd shape & cannibalized the 5 series market. I expect the 3 LWB to do just that + steal a few sales from the C Class to boot.

Given our market's love with the backseat, I'd actually expect stellar discounts on the regular wheelbase 320d (or maybe higher trims discontinued and replaced with the LWB?) but the 330i will continue enjoying it's own fan following as being the enthusiast choice in the segment.

Regarding the E Class, its a matter of a few months before the facelift hits our shores, and the ₹10-12 lakh difference will only increase once the facelift is launched - Mercedes in general is quite stingy with discounts.
I wouldn't expect much discount on the 3LWB this year.
Old 5th January 2021, 08:32   #45

Autocar India has done a small overview of the BMW 320Ld. Looks good, I feel but the only problem will be its price. I really hope it's not as badly priced as the 2 Series or Q2.