Old 16th April 2022, 16:39   #16

Re: Next-gen Mercedes C-Class India launch on May 10; bookings open

The only good thing about these luxury cars getting expensive is that cars <40L or even <30L are getting better at a faster rate. I’d feel cars like octavia, xuv or the virtus are equivalent to a 10 year older c class and maybe 10 years down the line we may see the current c class features in that latter dates economy cars. The only thing missing though is the wow factor which if manufacturers work on to get into you’ll be so pleased with economy cars you’re not gonna find the luxury cars as special. In the past years, few cars are not only good cars per se but they have a sense of occasion when you drive one or get driven in one. Off the top of my head in 2012- Passat/Jetta & Fluidic Elantra were so festive that a night cruise in them would be as special as a C and E. This is from my personal experience may vary for other people though!

Last edited by TechSavvy : 16th April 2022 at 16:43. Reason: Proof reading
TechSavvy is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 16th April 2022, 20:03   #17

What I am having trouble understanding is why Audi is still offering lower prices. Globally, the 3 series, A4 and C Class are priced equally for every trim and engine variant as it is supposed to be and has always been. Why is the discrepancy present only in India? The A4 is almost 10 L cheaper than the 3 and C. Is this due to the perceived higher value of a MB in India or what exactly?

I understand that usually the price differences occur when one of these 3 has launched a newer generation. But the same generation cars are priced similarly aren't they?

The current C starts at 53 where the A4 starts at 41. Why is this so?
Old 16th April 2022, 20:11   #18

Originally Posted by sauravpat View Post
What I am having trouble understanding is why Audi is still offering lower prices. Globally, the 3 series, A4 and C Class are priced equally for every trim and engine variant as it is supposed to be and has always been. Why is the discrepancy present only in India? The A4 is almost 10 L cheaper than the 3 and C. Is this due to the perceived higher value of a MB in India or what exactly?

I understand that usually the price differences occur when one of these 3 has launched a newer generation. But the same generation cars are priced similarly aren't they?

Audi is no longer selling cars in volumes that it used to. Discontinuation of diesels, lack of rear wheel drive etc has eroded its brand value. While A4 might look tremendous value when pitted against the c class, bring Skoda Superb into the picture and A4 loses its VFM proposition.
DonHyd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th April 2022, 20:21   #19

Originally Posted by sauravpat View Post
The A4 on sale in India is FWD which is why it can be had for considerably lesser than the RWD C Class and 3 Series. The FWD A4 being sold in India is popular as the A4 Ultra in the US which is a fair bit cheaper than the fully blown 250 BHP tune A4 laden with quattro in the US!

And then Mercedes Benz over the past 7-8 years have ensured better snob value for the brand in India.

Last edited by manson : 16th April 2022 at 20:22.
manson is offline   (15) Thanks
Old 17th April 2022, 15:54   #20

Considering that I bought my E200 at 44L on road, this C’s price is simply atrocious! At this point, it will essentially move into the E’s price territory. Anyway, it will make for a good buy 3-4 years down the line in the pre owned market.
Merc_Freak is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th April 2022, 17:55   #21

Wow. The price makes me dizzy !!! I thought India was a VFM market. Suddenly we are a “take it or leave it” market.

And worst part is there are enough customers to lap up the cars at any price ! Have incomes really gone up so much or ppl are just going all out no holds barred ?

The X3 top model I bought in 2019 for 60 lacs is now almost 75 lacs Is this trend going to continue or will car manufacturers get a reality check soon ?
drjaygoyal is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 17th April 2022, 22:32   #22

Folks, with the current trend of auto companies removing features and increasing the prices after the first lot, does it make sense to go for the pre booking and get added to the queue ?
Old 18th April 2022, 00:25   #23

Originally Posted by rag_nfs View Post
Folks, with the current trend of auto companies removing features and increasing the prices after the first lot, does it make sense to go for the pre booking and get added to the queue ?
You must think about pre-booking. Else you may not get a car. Most manufacturers offer a full refund on cancellation.

You can always postpone the buy for a few months if you feel certain features have been deleted and promised later ( XUV700)

Or you can wait for brands like BMW who have permanent deleted some features (wireless charger) till the chip shortage stabilises.

Speak to the dealer to get specific information on the care you are looking for.

Last edited by ajmat : 18th April 2022 at 22:39. Reason: typo
drjaygoyal is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 18th April 2022, 14:48   #24

Originally Posted by rag_nfs View Post
Unfortunately with the chip shortage, it does make sense especially as prices will increase.
With Mercedes however, do also keep in mind that they have the tendency to carry out a Launch Edition of their vehicles which generally sees better kit & finishes as compared to the standard models. It's not a guarantee that they will do it, as the GLE, E, GLS didn't see any such launch edition, but more recently the S-Class did & even the W205 C Class had a launch edition which got different alloys, adaptive suspension, etc. Both of these were however CBUs if memory serves me correctly so possibly why Mercedes was able to do so.

That being said, first lots often also see more niggles than the following models, so please do keep that in mind and get EW on Day 1.
lamborghini is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th April 2022, 00:37   #25

Originally Posted by drjaygoyal View Post

Or you can wait for brands like BMW who have permanent deleted some features (wireless charger) till the chip shortage stabilises
That’s my worry, the India version anyways seems to miss out on many features like 360 camera, rear wheel steering, burmester audio system etc

Originally Posted by lamborghini View Post
Both of these were however CBUs if memory serves me correctly so possibly why Mercedes was able to do so.
The C class is expected to be a CKD unit, hopefully the launch edition will have some additional features

Waiting to see the car when it gets launched in May and then it will be decision time between the 3series and the C class, exciting times ahead
rag_nfs is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th April 2022, 15:43   #26

I was really looking forward to this launch and had almost made up my mind to get the new C in case there was any improvement in the drive. However this price tag just makes it so stupid to even consider. I mean 75ish I'd get a barely driven 2021 E class instead.
Apart from the the Big 3 the pre owned market players are making a killing too! I'm the market for an upgrade to my 3GT. Every 5 series, X5, GLE I explore, these guys would literally knock off 5-7 L off for a 2-2.5 year old vehicle, that is not even 10% of the OTR which the owner must have paid. On the contrary when I ask them to evaluate my GT, they want to knock of 30-40% o f what I paid 3 years ago. Argument being: Model discontinued. Alrighty I then go on to enquire about the Endeavours which are 2-3 years old,, probably Gj or HP or PY registered where the road tax is like 4-6%, company wrapped up and gone 2 years ago and the price is 30-37L which is probably 3-5 Lakhs lesser than what the owner must have paid 3 years ago! Ridiculous, I am starting to detest these dealerships.
Karan_n8 is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 19th April 2022, 20:37   #27

Originally Posted by M00M View Post
Landmark MB has shared with me that theyre expecting the C to cost 70 lac INR on the road in GJ. Thats a bit of an overkill considering the price. I would never pay that kind of money for a C class. I hope the market gives them a reality check sometime soon.
I think the 70L OTR figure is for the C300d variant only. The C200 will be cheaper I’m guessing around 60L OTR followed by the C220d
CEF_Beasts is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 27th April 2022, 16:16   #28

Mercedes-Benz India has begun the production of the New C-Class at its plant in Chakan, Pune.

Next-gen Mercedes C-Class India launch on May 10; bookings open-20220427_161518.jpg

To be launched in India on 10th May.

Last edited by Venkatesh : 27th April 2022 at 16:33.
Venkatesh is offline   (5) Thanks
Old 27th April 2022, 18:17   #29

Mercedes-Benz has sold over 37,000 C-Class in India since it was first launched in 2001.

Next-gen Mercedes C-Class India launch on May 10; bookings open-20220427_181412.jpg

New Mercedes-Benz C-Class will be available in three variants - C200, C220d and top-spec C300d.

Next-gen Mercedes C-Class India launch on May 10; bookings open-20220427_181418.jpg

Venkatesh is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 27th April 2022, 19:40   #30

Originally Posted by drjaygoyal View Post
Wow. The price makes me dizzy !!! I thought India was a VFM market. Suddenly we are a “take it or leave it” market.

And worst part is there are enough customers to lap up the cars at any price ! Have incomes really gone up so much or ppl are just going all out no holds barred ?

The X3 top model I bought in 2019 for 60 lacs is now almost 75 lacs Is this trend going to continue or will car manufacturers get a reality check soon ?
Wait till you see that same 2019 model car going for the same money it was worth new in the used market.
Cresterk is online now   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com