Re: Next-gen Mercedes C-Class India launch on May 10; bookings open

Maruti is winking in the corner, potential facelift for Swift Dzire

On a serious note, just love that 5 spoke alloys. Adds so much of character
sunikkat is offline   (11) Thanks
Old 5th May 2022, 11:46   #47

Those fuel efficiency numbers do look good, especially for the diesel engines.

The C200 Petrol seems to have better efficiency than the Astor, which was never revealed to the public.
umohan98 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 5th May 2022, 12:21   #48

6 colors, 5 out of them combinations of white and black.
amol4184 is online now   (7) Thanks
Old 5th May 2022, 13:58   #49

Originally Posted by FAIAAA View Post
Agree, which year was that though? I bought my E200 Avant-garde for 55L OTR inclusive of 5 year EW in 2016. ( different matter that I sold a year later for an eye watering 39L !! Reason - severe post purchase dissonance).
Not sure about used car prprices though. My eyes water even more these days when I see the logic defying prices. For example, a 2018 3GT , 35K kms run ( with a then ex showroom, if I remember correctly, of ~42 L ,before discounts) , available today at an asking price of 35 L!!!
What's more, if you check any of the portals for the sell in rate, it's 20-22L. I offered 25 L across the table with a cheque book in hand but the dealer was adamant. And there are many such cases around.

As someone who has been trying to get a pre-owned car for the past 6 months, the prices are insane right now due to the high demand + the long waiting period for new cars leading to new car buyers with disposable income buying up all decent used cars for about the same price as they were when new. Doesn't help that new car prices have also shot up around 20% compared to a couple of years ago even for models that haven't even been refreshed. Some of them have even been downgraded like the bmw X1 and volvo xc60 both of which lost significant features like AWD and air suspension respectively but prices have still gone up 15l.

The only thing we can do now is wait. This is honestly the worst year to buy any car.
Cresterk is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 5th May 2022, 19:18   #50

Now this is a thing of beauty.
Mercedes designers have truly mastered the art of timeless designs. BMW, hope you reading?!
But surely enough with each passing day and each new iteration prices are just jumping up & up. Earlier high end car features used to trickle down to the medium/low end manufacturers. Sadly, the case is so different now.
deepjaju is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 5th May 2022, 22:42   #51

Somehow not liking the Pan-Americana grill. Looks more sporty than elegant Personal opinion though. Stunning otherwise IMO.
Old 6th May 2022, 06:39   #52

thats not the pan americana grill. its just the amg line.
Old 6th May 2022, 06:52   #53

Originally Posted by sunikkat View Post
Maruti is winking in the corner, potential facelift for Swift Dzire
Where’s the Maruti you’re referring to?
Gannu_1 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th May 2022, 09:11   #54

A beautiful car indeed! Absolutely love the new steering, given a feeling of taking off to fly, the way it is designed and shaped like a bird in flight. The time of chunky large steering wheels seems to be ending with sleeker and smaller designs taking centre stage.

Unbelievable acceleration times from the 300D tune of the OM654 coupled with the ISG! This is better than a BMW 530D with its massive 6 cylinder 3 litre engine! Goes to prove that we are at the next step of engine downsizing. Also glad to see MB keep the faith in diesel and keep innovating and investing in it. Also hope to see better diesel tech from BMW now, their B47 Diesel has not improved output by much in 8 years!

The 1.5 petrol is also remarkable in output! Almost double the power and more than double the torque of equivalent sized NA engines from Honda and Hyundai!
This is without even considering the start-up torque punch from the ISA. It is sad for these companies to be peddling 30 year old engine tech in the Indian market, when the advancement possible is such an order of magnitude more. I am glad Renault Nissan, at least, brought the shared Mercedes 1.3 Turbopetrol in the Kicks with a healthy power output. Unfortunately the car itself was on such a dated platform that it did not succeed.

Although there are a lot of new fine details, the overall shape and form has not changed much from the previous generation C class, which was a real looker. Hoping that pre-owned prices of the previous gen C220s come down significantly. They are still selling at stratospheric price levels in the used car market.

Last edited by 84.monsoon : 6th May 2022 at 09:24.
84.monsoon is offline   (6) Thanks
Old 6th May 2022, 09:39   #55

Originally Posted by Gannu_1 View Post
Where’s the Maruti you’re referring to?
Sorry, I was referring to the similarity of Dzire and C Class in the front looks, mainly the way headlights are, near front grill etc.
sunikkat is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2022, 10:31   #56

did i miss out on the prices or they have not been mentioned by anyone yet?
Old 6th May 2022, 11:44   #57

Originally Posted by Vidzy View Post
did i miss out on the prices or they have not been mentioned by anyone yet?
Prices will be revealed on 10th
techspark is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2022, 13:53   #58

Originally Posted by BugginBugsy View Post
I always wonder if the general income has improved as much as prices of the C- class. I remember my dad looking at the C- class in 2005 and balking at the 25 lakhs it cost then. We bought a bigger Chevy Optra for 8 lakhs. The.mn he upgraded to an Innova Crysta in 2017 for 20 lakhs. We tested the A4 at the time and balked at 42 lakhs on road. Now they say the C is going to be 75 lakhs. That’s three times 2005 costs! And our salary has certainly not gone up 3 times! Insane prices. And still people buy it.
Our new E220 petrol, indian, in 1996 cost us near 21/22 lacs if I remember, 25 years and now the baby C costs more than 3 time!! Our brand new bmw 730i in 1982 cost us 11 lacs, with all the 150% duty and TR costs etc, now the thing sells at 1.50 crore+! The DM was Rs. 4 at that time, and today its price parity to euro is considered 1.95 dm.
scooby05 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th May 2022, 14:34   #59

Absolutely love the design. I really hope they price it sanely. Looking at the current trends, I don't have any hopes of owning these big marques in the future. I'm 20 and I don't see making 75 odd lakhs after tax per year in the next 10 years Unless I move abroad.
Old 6th May 2022, 15:33   #60

Saw the car in the flesh today, the C200, looks really impressive. The front grill and the lines on the bonnet make it look quite sporty. The interiors are beautiful, with the screen being the focal point. Has the Burmester speakers, panoramic sunroof, and the other usual features, there is no 360 camera. Rear seat seems to be on the hard side but comfortable with good thigh support, leg room was also adequate, felt less than the 330LWB though. Haven’t seen the dimensions yet but would be interesting to see hope much more internal room Merc has been able to carve out with the increased dimensions. Test drives are available only after the 10th so will have to wait for that.

Overall seems to be a really strong product, in the 45 mins I was there saw 6 other folks walk in.
rag_nfs is offline   (3) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com