View Poll Results: The brand you like to own in future if they sort out their current issues
Maruti 18 3.44%
Tata 183 34.92%
Hyundai 17 3.24%
Mahindra 44 8.40%
Kia 16 3.05%
Toyota 16 3.05%
Honda 18 3.44%
Renault 6 1.15%
Skoda 78 14.89%
Volkswagen 72 13.74%
MG 0 0%
Nissan 8 1.53%
Citroen 7 1.34%
Jeep 41 7.82%
Voters: 524. You may not vote on this poll

Old 23rd January 2023, 12:15   #1

The brand you'd like to own in the future, if they sort out their current issues

Before I start let me clarify the following, this thread is in no way targeting a particular brand. As we all know there are many top-line executives from different brands who are taking TeamBHP seriously, I thought of having this poll which can be an eye-opener for the brands that can get real-time feedback and pull up their socks.

Now "issues" can be anything and everything, to name a few, no 5-star ratings, flimsy build quality, frequent niggles, lethargic service technicians, brand complacency, delay in adoption to the latest and greatest, poor supply chain planning, etc.

I have voted for TATA, as I have called out in many instances, I would love to own a TATA car, off-late they are killing it with their design elements with the latest being TATA Curvv and TATA Sierra. However, as we all know design alone is not enough; I want TATA to rectify the current shortcomings raised by the existing owners to give us a complete product with lesser issues. Infact, I am having an eye on Sierra as I would want my next car to be either a hybrid or EV and I am sure there will be many like me who would want their car to be XXX, please share your opinion. Thanks

Vivek
vvivek85 is offline   (23) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:24   #2

re: The brand you'd like to own in the future, if they sort out their current issues

My vote goes to Hyundai, but includes Kia too. Let them solve the safety shortcoming on their mainstream cars and they become the best all rounders. In the case of Hyundai, it would be nice if they can mellow down their design language too.
CoolFire is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:40   #3

re: The brand you'd like to own in the future, if they sort out their current issues

I currently own a VW Vento TSI.
I voted for Hyundai/Kia. I think they have an amazing line up some international markets and overall these vehicles have good quality. In India, they should work on improving their build quality while being the frontrunner in newer technologies and features.
Akshay2010 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:52   #4

Voted for Nissan. Not only the Magnite, but I am also looking forward for the cars they had showcased last year. Nissan is more fun to drive and I actually like their designs over Toyota and Honda. I sincerely hope they'll find their path soon.
sandeepmdas is offline   (18) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 12:59   #5

Without a smidgen of doubt, that would be Skoda (or VW) for me.

They're relatively well priced (if you compare with full fat German luxury brands) and the closest feel you can get to proper European fit and finish.

The Superb and the Kodiaq would be top of list choices for me, as would the Passat (if it were sold again) or Octavia.

Last edited by Axe77 : 23rd January 2023 at 15:38.
Axe77 is offline   (25) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 13:15   #6

Did not vote as I have a slightly different perspective.

I am old enough to have seen vehicles puking disgusting smoke and other crap out of the tail pipe. Then Maruti arrived on the scene and it was almost magical to see water droplets drip out.

In recent years, we learnt that invisible does not necessarily mean healthy. A clean tail pipe can still emit toxic gases.

Right now the electric seems to be the cleaner future. However, I am personally not that convinced, especially after reading the efforts (and pollution) it takes to mine stuff which makes up an electric battery. And mind you, we are yet to reach the stage where we will face the problem of disposing batteries which are end of life.

For me, the answer seems to be Hydrogen, which might solve many issues currently associated with vehicle emissions. I was fortunate to see water out of a tail pipe. I hope I live long enough to see the same water in the tank inlet.

Infinite energy! Hell yeah! (Just kidding. No such thing)

So for me, anyone who wins the race for hydrogen powered vehicles, is the one I would love to own.
RedTerrano is offline   (31) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 13:39   #7
AYP

1. I'd like to own a VAG(VW/Skoda) if they bring back the diesels.

2. I'd like to own a Toyota if they introduce some enthusiastic cars to our market. Turbo petrol is a thing Toyota, you know this already. The same goes for Honda.

3. I would like to own cars from our own Indian brands if they can fix the niggles which still plague them.
AYP is offline   (7) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 13:41   #8

Dear Volkswagen of India - please get the DSG issues sorted out once and for all and give a 10-year warranty to cover that.
(wishful thinking )

If you do this, I will own another one from your stable, eyes closed.
JoshMachine is offline   (12) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 13:42   #9

I would love to own a Tata someday, I am so tempted to buy the Red Dark edition of Harrier, but the horror stories keep me at bay.

Last edited by AtheK : 23rd January 2023 at 13:49.
AtheK is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 13:45   #10

What an excellent thread idea, thanks for sharing . I have two Mahindras in my garage & would love to own a Tata someday. But they need to get their QC in order for that to happen, and consistently deliver reliable niggle-free cars. If SUV, they would need to offer AWD which is currently missing on the Harrier / Safari. I love Tata Motors because of how the brand has evolved in the last 5 years, their gorgeous styling & of course, because it's an Indian brand. Although I have no qualms about buying MNC cars either since they invest thousands of crores in India and create lakhs of jobs.
GTO is offline   (37) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 14:18   #11

Re: The brand you'd like to own in the future, if they sort out their current issues

I have voted for Maruti - if they can improve safety and interiors. No one can match their service network and over all reliability. I guess we can compromise little bit in features list, though Maruti in recent time has shown interest in providing features.
But in the same tone, I would like Tata and Mahindra reliability and Service to improve for they are innovating a lot in recent times and can improve.
Citroen has shown some glimses of well engineered cars, but they got miles to go and make good strategies. You can't sell cars in India, without features . One way to do is giving higher variants and increasing dealer network at fast pace.
Nissan and Honda are facing impending EXIT unless they comes up with 2-3 new locally manufactured products within next one year.
VW and Skoda needs to think of reliability and Service.

Last edited by d-g-p : 23rd January 2023 at 14:27.
d-g-p is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 14:23   #12

Re: The brand you'd like to own in the future, if they sort out their current issues

Off the top of my head, a strong or plug-in hybrid is in our future, so I'd love some variety in that from Hyundai, say or Nissan & Renault. The same goes for Maruti and Suzuki, get some more affordable and every-day use sort of hybrids out please.

But overall I think it has to be Tata. Solve the dealership issue, fit and finish, and make your cars feel a little bit less like a truck (they're already 95% of the way there from the Indica days, IMO) ad you'll see me signing up for the Altroz Racer on the spot.
AulusGabinius is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 14:51   #13

Voted for Skoda. I have always loved their engineering and their designs. The looks, the features, the build, the mechanicals, all are good. I have stayed away from this brand only for its poor reliability & horrible customer service.
sudeepg is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 15:00   #14
One

Re: The brand you like to own in future if they sort out their current issues

This is one of those questions where "All of these" or atleast "Most of these" would be my answer.

Maruti : So many of their wonderful small-medium cars for city driving if they were safer.

TATA/ Mahindra : So many cars with wonderful designs, if only quality and service levels were better

Hyundai / Kia: Would have picked the Creta few years back if not for brake/ safety reasons. Likewise for Carens. The Carnival missed due to feedback from owners about availability of spares and lack of competency across service centers.

Toyota: Loved to have more contemporary levels in cars.

Honda: Loved to have some car in India!

Renault/ Nissan: The Kicks/ Duster would have been picked during Creta evaluation days if they had better presence and service levels.

Skoda/ Volkswagen: It almost seems like their fortunes move in opposite directions. VW used to be ok but now seem jaded in their offerings. Skoda which was not ok has improved presence, vehicles. But not confident in their servicing yet for cars which sell in a few low thousands every year.

MG: Would not pick anything from this background - am too close professionally (seen their best companies with stolen IP) and personally (too many folks in Services to know few things). Obviously people will make short term "economic" arguments for their presence but there are enough long term implications which go beyond the scope of this thread. I just wish that people who are affluent enough to have other choices made themselves more aware of the issues here.

Citroen: Better presence and I might have just about ignored their obnoxious Sales person in the city and picked the C5

Jeep: Would like better service & quality levels.

Summary is, if service and quality levels across the board were better, I can pick the most apt car for my requirements rather than being forced to look at post-sales ownership experience for purchasing decisions.

Last edited by One : 23rd January 2023 at 15:14.
One is offline   (9) Thanks
Old 23rd January 2023, 15:03   #15

I would like to see the likes of Mazda in the Indian market. They have some really drool cars.
Dieseltuned is offline   (9) Thanks