Old 16th July 2007, 23:18   #16

Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Vidyut, we're forgetting that a small car will have an excise sop by 8% of the vehicle value if it falls under the small car category.
So,take out around 2 lakhs .
Nitrous yaar what small car? the length is the same as a lancer's.

source: Audi UK > Home
Old 16th July 2007, 23:26   #17

A3 with any decent options costs $30,000. There is no way Audi can sell that for anything less than 12 L in India. OTR price would be around 15L for sure.
Old 17th July 2007, 01:17   #18

Sorry but this won't happen. One, they can't price it anywhere even near to logical levels (one reason is that it'll be a CBU) and two, our market can't accept hatches costing 15-25L or so. Hell, even a estate at 15L (Octavia) didn't sell at all so a hatch has no chance even if it's Audi or Merc or BMW.

Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
And it's in the TOI, take it with a pinch of salt.
You mean a bucket of salt, right?

Last edited by iraghava : 17th July 2007 at 01:20.
Old 17th July 2007, 02:05   #19

vidyut, I agree with u . yes the a3 is as big as a lancer (i've driven it myself , but the indian mentality doesnt care about it . i one pays 10L for a car, no matter how powerful the engine is, a 10 L car should atleast have a boot a.k.a. dickie !!!
m sure TOI ppl must be reading about the european versions of the civic and corolla !!
Old 17th July 2007, 02:15   #20

Ishan just echoed my thoughts. Take the A4 price - deduct 20% and you have the A3 - There is NO way the A3 will be sold in India for south of 25 Lakhs and if for some miracle they do manage to price it at TOI's superbly reserached price analysis, the common response from the public will be "Yeh Gadi Ki Dicky Kithe hai? Chalo ji, isse accha to mein 5 Getz na loon?"
Old 17th July 2007, 07:55   #21

An Audi for <15L - I would close my eyes and buy it anyday when compared to the other models around - hatch or sedan does not matter!

I guess if they do price it the way TOI is reporting it, then they would get their act together on the after sales support and the spare parts as well.. If you thought Skoda was pricey, this would be higher.

If Audi is pricing their CBU this way, i wonder what the Skoda and the VW camp will do, not mentioning Honda..
Old 17th July 2007, 08:27   #22

why would a luxury marque that commands as much respect as Mercedes or BMW launch a 10 lacs car and destroy their repute?

Mercedes could have brought their A-class and b-class here as well. they didnt. Audi wouldnt want to do this if they are thinking about it seriously.
Old 17th July 2007, 11:49   #23

looks like i am missing the link - can someone post it up again?

Also - why is a Volkswagen company building a competitor - or have i been left behind in the previous generation?

Last edited by madan80 : 17th July 2007 at 11:57.
Old 17th July 2007, 12:34   #24

This could be the Audi A3 Sedan...

Old 17th July 2007, 12:37   #25

If that is the A3 sedan, it will be on top priority on my purchase list, provided i can manage to bring around Rs. 12-13 lakhs. Sigh...
Old 17th July 2007, 12:38   #26

any source for those pics lurker? I doubt that is the A3 sedan. Looks more like the next gen A6 which is due I think soon.
Old 17th July 2007, 12:49   #27

Originally Posted by vid6639 View Post
any source for those pics lurker? I doubt that is the A3 sedan. Looks more like the next gen A6 which is due I think soon.
I think you mean the new gen A4. Current one has been around since 2000 with a facelift during 2004
Old 17th July 2007, 13:20   #28

Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
If that is the A3 sedan, it will be on top priority on my purchase list, provided i can manage to bring around Rs. 12-13 lakhs. Sigh...
like someone said before, there are good cars and good cars. but until the A.S.S and servicing/maintenance costs are earthly, one does not buy them.

compared to the near-20 L one would hypothetically spend for the car, the spare part prices and servicing costs would most certainly be a rip-off. even all the love we t-bhpians share for cars alone does not justify buying a cheap audi that's viciously expensive to service.
Old 17th July 2007, 13:25   #29

Audi A3 for India

guyz its gonna blast the growing D segment.............much of corollas, civics now. its time to take the next step..............anyway A4 should be the one
Now NO MORE CIVIC SENSE
Old 17th July 2007, 13:30   #30

Guys
Get ready to be rocked by A4, it would turn the whole mkt
NO MORE CIVIC SENSE......................
Enough of Toyotas now.....

Anyway wht abt the new corolla???????????????
Toyota should make it fast