Team-BHP - Fiat Grande Punto. EDIT : Launch on 17th June!

-   -   Fiat Grande Punto. EDIT : Launch on 17th June! (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian-car-scene/27631-fiat-grande-punto-edit-launch-17th-june.html)

Any idea when will FIAT Punto will be launched in India?

It has awesone Safety rating.

http://www.euroncap.com/content/safe...ings.php?id1=6

Adult Occupant Rating - 5 out of 5
Pedestrain Test Rating - 3 out of 4
Child Protecting Rating - 3 out of 5

Even bigger cars like BMW doesn't has this combination of ratings.

And its 1.3 L MultiJet TDI has awesome mileage (>20 km/l).
http://www.lancia.com/cgi-bin/lancia...OID=1074041096

:OT
For people who are cribbing about FIAT vehicles, if Palio has been a grand success in India Getz would have got launched in 2003 and Swift in 2004.

If Sienna has been big sucess, Esteem would got phased out much earlier and Baleno would got positioned correctly much earlier.

By FIAT's failure in India we are the big losers.

Hmm..Palio number one selling vehicle in South Africa and Brazil.

Well, I am not FIAT salesman but a car lover.... thats too european cars.

Prasanna

The moment any new car is pointed to europian model, I get jigz suddenly. Both Swift and Getz for downgraded as far as engine is considered for Indian conditions and market value. Is it the same story for Punto also?

Originally Posted by pingmepal
The moment any new car is pointed to europian model, I get jigz suddenly. Both Swift and Getz for downgraded as far as engine is considered for Indian conditions and market value. Is it the same story for Punto also?

I do not think so as per the track record of FIAT it has not introduced any vehicle exclusive for Indian condition that is the reason it fails e.g. FE. here people will buy only those which are FE unlike FIAT cars (so far FIAT has not thought on this issue)

IIRC, the official FIAT India line is, "no new models for a period of one year".

the official FIAT India line is, "no new models for a period of one year".
I think Fiat is going the right way with that attitude. They really have to first solve the dealership issues. Try and stregthen their dealerships specially in rural and small towns and also do more about improving the after sales service expereince. More importantly, they also have to make sure people know about their improving after sales service and also about their seriousness to stay in the Indian markets. Already they have murdered the fantasitic Palio and I would really hate to see first class car's like the Punto, Panda, Idea go the palio way. A year seems to be a fair enough time for a company to solve it's problems provided they move fast, shedding the lethargy they have become famous for. Anything more then another year without a new car and fiat will be history in India.

they should bring in the Granade Punto,it looks fabulous.

Any info on when the new Fiat Grande Punto will be launched in India? According to Car and Bike on NDTV, its likely to be launched in Jan 08. Can some one please provide any additional info like engines/specs/pricing?

Originally Posted by prashanthyr (Post 533745)
Any info on when the new Fiat Grande Punto will be launched in India? According to Car and Bike on NDTV, its likely to be launched in Jan 08.

Same question answered by an Fiat India official in an email to me:

Dear Mr. Raisinghani,

It was great to read your blog and know that you were satisfied with the service provided by us. Customers like you are the true brand ambassadors for our products. However your feedback regarding lack of visibility of "Fiat" in the service area has been accepted and we would certainly work in this direction. Grande Punto and Linea are expected to be launched in first half of the next year.

Please feel free to get in touch anytime.

Warm regards,

Jaldeep Virani.
[ Brand Executive (Fiat) , Mumbai PCBU , Mumbai ]

the linea seems like a good car- guess one needs to see more of the actual release version before taking a call.

First half could be from Jan to June. It is expected to be in July. That's what was announced during the opening ceremony of their new manufacturing plant.

:) there is thread for linea i believe

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...k-pricing.html

You will get a lot of info here

I've got this info from one Fiat person. According to him, Punto 1.2 and 1.4 petrol will be launched in january 08, while the diesel will join later around July.

Punto 1.2 will start from 4.5 lakh ex showroom..

how can Fiat sell cars at a such low price?Even the new Fiat Bravo will be launched in India.Are they going to assemble those car in their Pune factory?

Originally Posted by abdul 65 amg (Post 544300)
how can Fiat sell cars at a such low price?Even the new Fiat Bravo will be launched in India.Are they going to assemble those car in their Pune factory?

They know the only way they can sell cars is if they are VFM, because their support + IMAGE is still not very good. Every manufacturer does it. Baleno used to sell at 9 lacs and they started selling it @6.5 lacs. Elantra started at 11lacs now its like 8.5 - 9 lacs for CRDi.

If swift was not selling Maruti may have been selling it at a lower price now.