Old 4th September 2008, 16:26   #31

Originally Posted by sridharps View Post
Is this because of limitations in production capacity? Given the fact that Swift is ruling that segment and has thoroughly thrashed Getz, I would have expected the i20 to take Swift on and post some decent numbers.
Hyundai thinks otherway.. they consider i10 to be compititor to swift..(just because they have priced it that way)

I doubt if i20 is sold anything less than 5-6Lakhs
Old 4th September 2008, 22:29   #32

the car is quite big, almost fabia sized....it will affect the sales of fabia as well....as for the swift,....Maruti should be worried
Old 4th September 2008, 23:08   #33

Definitely looks good. The Civic like grille has become a part of Hyundai DNA now.

An interesting thought. Looks like a cross between the Swift, the Splash and the i10.
Old 5th September 2008, 00:12   #34

A test car with dark tints! thats a new one!
Old 5th September 2008, 11:19   #35

i20 looks very good. See the i30 below. Its even more classy.

Old 5th September 2008, 15:13   #36

Guys check this link for i20

Hyundai i20 Reviews Previews Specifications Performance India Europe Launch BHP RPM

Catch more details here

Anju
Old 5th September 2008, 15:21   #37

Originally Posted by appuchan View Post
i20 looks very good. See the i30 below. Its even more classy.

yup i30 looks much cooler.

personally for me its just a wrong thing that Hyundai will launch i20 after i10 and then this i20 will be followed by i30. if i buy i20 now coz thats what i find good in market and i30 comes an year late...i miss out on a much better car. and its not that i30 is not yet available in markets or is a concept or R&D stage. its being sold in other markets, has a bigger CRDI engine, so why cant it be launched closer to i20 launch.
i understand it has marketing and operational/production implications for Hyundai to do so.... but as customer it just increses my confusion on ''buy now or wait an year?'
Old 6th September 2008, 18:27   #38

Fantastic scoop, Aditya! I love the look of Hyundai's new breed of hatches....Korean quirkiness is left behind in the yesteryears. Plus, they now have the quality and some great diesels too.

I bet that Hyundai is losing sleep over their potential pricing strategy. The Getz, for all its positives, was killed by its over-optimistic launch pricing. And some variants of the i10 are in the 5 lakh rupee range. Where will the i20 fit? I am dead sure that the Getz will be put to rest.
Old 6th September 2008, 22:52   #39

Would Hyundai do a maruti and sell the i20 alongside the Getz? Very unlikely. Hyundai started a successful chapter with the i10 and would be looking to build on its success. For that the Getz would have to bite the bullet.

HMIL would also do well to take a long and hard look at the i20 pricing. Lets face it, apart from the Santro, i10 and the Verna, their other offerings simply have not taken off. So Hyundai, please do not go Skoda with the pricing. The i20 looks promising. Let sense prevail.
Old 7th September 2008, 01:43   #40

here are the pics i was talking about ....

Originally Posted by Rahulkool View Post
even i saw it yesterday night, my fren took some pics and the driver got little pissed off lol

started shouting at us and all :o ...... will post the pics tonight
how they are able to test LHD cars on roads ? isn't it illegal ??
Caught the i (Hyundai i-20)-dsc01493.jpg  

Caught the i (Hyundai i-20)-dsc01494.jpg  

Old 7th September 2008, 17:16   #41
srh

Originally Posted by Rahulkool View Post
here are the pics i was talking about ....
To me it looks almost as long as the SRV. Hope that is it not like the Swift - big from outside but cramped on the inside
Old 8th September 2008, 01:03   #42

I bet that Hyundai is losing sleep over their potential pricing strategy. The Getz, for all its positives, was killed by its over-optimistic launch pricing. And some variants of the i10 are in the 5 lakh rupee range. Where will the i20 fit? I am dead sure that the Getz will be put to rest.
The i20 is definitely going to be priced in the 6-7 lac range. The getz exports are going to stop by the end of october and domestic model will go on till december. This is the news as of now as per HMI's latest plan.
Old 12th October 2008, 11:54   #43

oh it looks more like the jazz from the front.The middle of the bonnet has a similar bulging in the jazz too.Good shape though.
ram
Old 12th October 2008, 18:15   #44

I have this feeling that they will keep the Getz going and charge Fabia type money for the i-20, at least for a couple of years while the look is fresh and tempting.
Old 12th October 2008, 18:58   #45

Nice catch there.
Which engine would be used in the deisel one ( the 1.1 Crdi to be used in the i10 , or a 1.5 from verna? )