Old 19th December 2008, 20:32   #91

Originally Posted by ajnagpur View Post
Only 1.4 kappa is confirmed for now.
You mean to say there will be no 1.2 kappa?
Its getting very confusing.
Old 19th December 2008, 20:41   #92

Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
You mean to say there will be no 1.2 kappa?
Its getting very confusing.
Initially 1.4 kappa launch & they will bring in other engine options on the go. but they dont have any plans for diesel variant as of now.
Old 19th December 2008, 21:52   #93

Originally Posted by ajnagpur View Post
Initially 1.4 kappa launch & they will bring in other engine options on the go. but they dont have any plans for diesel variant as of now.
Media reports can't be trusted. It could actually be the 1.2 kappa that might be launched.

A 1.4 just can't be competitive price-wise with the Fabia active or classic - Hyundai would have to pay more than Rs.30,000 as additional excise for not meeting the 1200cc/4 metre regulation - and Hyundai's no Maruti.

Unless they want to compete with Fabia 1.4 Elegance or maybe the Ambiente with their own version of an i20 with a 1.4 lt engine.
Old 19th December 2008, 23:41   #94

Originally Posted by aditya.86 View Post
there are chances that the I20 will be launched in jan. This lmonth hyundai motor India is manufacturing 1000 domestic cars. The export model is going good on an avg of 9000 cars for the past tw months.

It's gonna have a 1.4 and a 1.6 l engine and the pricing is surely going to be above 7.5 lacs.

An inside news. There are 22000 i10's lying inside the hyundai factory yard itself, all domestic models. So expect huge discounts and offers in the next month as all are going to become a previous year model.
Are you sure aditya????

Cause i am VERY certain that 1.2 kappa and the 1.4 diesel are going to be launched with the i20.

Also in your later post you mention a 1.4 kappa, let me clarify there is NO such engine rather its the 1.4 gamma engine. Not a big deal, but the fact that you got it wrong makes what you are saying all the more doubtful.

Also regarding the discounts, let me give everyone a tip. Try for good discounts on i10 ERA and DELITE models. Kappa and Santro (incl Santro CNG) are still doing well.

Elito

Last edited by Elito11 : 19th December 2008 at 23:45.
Old 20th December 2008, 02:25   #95

Originally Posted by Elito11 View Post

Also in your later post you mention a 1.4 kappa, let me clarify there is NO such engine rather its the 1.4 gamma engine. Not a big deal, but the fact that you got it wrong makes what you are saying all the more doubtful.

Elito
Yeah, you are right. All the Indian blogs are saying 1.4 kappa but I did not find any such engine. It could be 1.4 gamma.
Old 20th December 2008, 03:08   #96

Hyundai i20 will be launching on 28th december.
Hot News: There is a possibility 1.6L DOHC will be powering i20.

Source: Hyundai i20 Launching on 28 December, 2008 : Watch Cars
Old 20th December 2008, 10:30   #97

Originally Posted by Gangsta View Post
Hyundai i20 will be launching on 28th december.
Hot News: There is a possibility 1.6L DOHC will be powering i20.

Source: Hyundai i20 Launching on 28 December, 2008 : Watch Cars
Sorry buddy but this website is user created and not a legit news site. Probably is fishing info from sites like T-bhp.
Old 20th December 2008, 13:44   #98

Originally Posted by reppy View Post
Sorry buddy but this website is user created and not a legit news site. Probably is fishing info from sites like T-bhp.
lol but i havnt seen this 1.6 thing on team-bhp. may be i missed it. but 28th december launch is true.

Last edited by Gangsta : 20th December 2008 at 13:46.
Old 20th December 2008, 15:34   #99

If its a petrol launch only, then "YAWN". This is going to be a crowded segment with very few distinctions.
Old 20th December 2008, 15:48   #100

lol but i havnt seen this 1.6 thing on team-bhp. may be i missed it. but 28th december launch is true.
These pics exist since long in ACI forums and even TBHP - see here http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...rna-too-2.html

In any case, whatever Hyundai engine it may be - the 1.2, 1.4 or 1.6 - I don't mind my i20 with any one of them - they're all really good! cheers:

Last edited by reppy : 20th December 2008 at 15:49.
Old 20th December 2008, 16:17   #101

These pics exist since long in ACI forums and even TBHP - see here http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/indian...rna-too-2.html

In any case, whatever Hyundai engine it may be - the 1.2, 1.4 or 1.6 - I don't mind my i20 with any one of them - they're all really good! cheers:
Yes but remember with 1.2l engine Hyundai can keep price low (due to lower excise). The failures of Fabia 1.4, Chevy SRV, Ford Fusion etc should tell Hyundai something about overpriced luxury hatches... No way should top end i20 cost more than 1 lakh (compared to Swift Zxi) so that means something like 6.5 lakh (ex-showroom)
Old 20th December 2008, 16:34   #102

Originally Posted by joslicx View Post
No way should top end i20 cost more than 1 lakh (compared to Swift Zxi) so that means something like 6.5 lakh (ex-showroom)
Infact, I'd go even lower than that - The Fabia 1.2 Ambiente comes for 6.2 lacs on-road in Gurgaon. And for Hyundai to price their 1.2 i20 above that would be a complete disaster - and going by i10 features list, we shouldn't expect an extraordinary feature list for that kind of money - the basic ABS/Airbags/Integrated stereo with hopefully steering mounted controls and auto-aircon, if included, would make it a sweet deal - anything less would show that Hyundai hasn't learnt its lessons from the overpriced Getz stories of the past.
Old 20th December 2008, 16:45   #103

As per my sources i20 is gonna be launched on 22nd Jan 09 and there's gonna be a diesel variant as well.
The date of launch may change. Will keep updating if i get any other info.
Old 20th December 2008, 16:57   #104

aha! i missed it then. well i don't think they will launch i20 in 1.2L variant. it will surely be a 1.4L or 1.6L (as per the site which he showed the proof ) i20 with 1.6 batch. Else there wont be a difference bet. i10 1.2L kappa and i20. for what we will be paying extra? for space? Nah! there must be difference in the engine spec. also. what do you say?

Ok how about this? 1.4L (all new engine) and 1.6L (verna's engine) in i20. Is that possible? i guess so because we had seen getz getting verna's engine a shocker.

Originally Posted by kpzen View Post
As per my sources i20 is gonna be launched on 22nd Jan 09 and there's gonna be a diesel variant as well.
The date of launch may change. Will keep updating if i get any other info.
any info about the specifications?
Old 20th December 2008, 18:01   #105

Else there wont be a difference bet. i10 1.2L kappa and i20. for what we will be paying extra? for space? Nah! there must be difference in the engine spec. also. what do you say?

Well the i10 was launched with a remapped Santro engine initially, rebranded as "irde" - so why not? What's wrong with a 1.2L (hopefully remapped) ~80 bhp i20 for 5.5 lacs?

Of course that doesn't rule out the possibility of a 1.4 or even a 1.6 top end version - so I think you might be right too.