Old 8th April 2005, 09:55   #1

Suzuki agrees to Swift's May debut in India

Maruti Udyog Ltd has got its Japanese parent Suzuki Motor’s nod to drive into the burgeoning crossover car market in India in the third week of May with the 1.3-litre Swift.

Swift, the first global model from the Suzuki stables to be developed from scratch with Indian engineers, is expected to sport a tag of around Rs 4.5 lakh. The roll-out plans were approved at a crucial board meet held in Hamamatsu (Japan),

source:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...ow/1071915.cms
Old 8th April 2005, 10:01   #2

its a pretty heavy car..kerb weight of 1000+kg for a 65bhp esteem engine. its heavier than the baleno!!!!!
Old 8th April 2005, 10:25   #3

Originally Posted by iceman91
its a pretty heavy car..kerb weight of 1000+kg for a 65bhp esteem engine. its heavier than the baleno!!!!!
Umm iceman... 65 bhp? Carbueretted Euro III Swift?

Revv
Old 8th April 2005, 10:26   #4

I think Esteem's engine is 85 Bhp(current Euro II model) & not 65Bhp(that was in Euro 1 model).

So for a car of that size, I think 85 bhp is quite decent. Whats the power/Bhp of Getz & Fusion ??
Old 8th April 2005, 10:27   #5

lol...my mistake sorry the esteem mpfi...85 bhp....thats a good one...65 bhp for a 5 lac swift...haha
Old 8th April 2005, 10:29   #6

What a way to start the day! Marutis first truly modern offering in a long long time. Iceman, its the old carbeuretted Esteem engine that had 65 bhp. The MPFi rates at 85 BHP.

P.S. : Damn Tabrez You beat me to this story.
Old 8th April 2005, 10:36   #7

Finally. Some competition for the Getz ... From the pictures it looks very decent this car does.
Old 8th April 2005, 11:04   #8

Great news from Maruti finally. The is the launch I was looking forward to this year. The car really looks good I hope it comes with some engine options eventually when launched. After a long time a car is coming from the Maruti stable which is completely new. Man was I bored of those facelifts..!!

Dippy
Old 8th April 2005, 11:14   #9

Finally something new from maruti!! Hope it'l live up to people's expectations and also do good in sales...
Old 8th April 2005, 11:32   #10

good news. fingers crossed. you sure its heavier than a baleno iceman?
Old 8th April 2005, 11:55   #11

Its gonna be a "BbbbbbbbbbbbIG HIT" -----can take it 4 granted
You cant take anything for granted in the Indian market. Maruti says that its going to be priced at 4.5 lacs. You can count on it being 5 lacs plus on the road.

Premium hatch. Premium pricing. No diesel option. Remind anyone of the Getz?

Old 8th April 2005, 12:14   #12

Originally Posted by iceman91
And here is the reason, it is the first car from Suzuki that is actually safe.
Old 8th April 2005, 12:17   #13

Originally Posted by tabrez02
Maruti Udyog Ltd has got its Japanese parent Suzuki Motor’s nod to drive into the burgeoning crossover car market in India in the third week of May with the 1.3-litre Swift.

Swift, the first global model from the Suzuki stables to be developed from scratch with Indian engineers, is expected to sport a tag of around Rs 4.5 lakh. The roll-out plans were approved at a crucial board meet held in Hamamatsu (Japan),

source:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/...ow/1071915.cms
I was about to post this myself. All I can say is, AT LAST!!

I just read
this review of the 1,5L Swift in Australia. A very positive review. The author says the Swift is better than the Getz and even compares it favourably with the VW Golf!

But the price in the Indian market seems a little high (compared to Australia). As per this article the price in Australia for the 1.5L Swift is AU $15990 (5.36 Lakh rupees). And the 1.5L Swift in Australia comes with the following as standard :
# ix speaker in dash CD stereo system
# easy to operate audio system controls mounted on a leather steering wheel
# air conditioning
# electric mirrors and windows
# power steering
# remote keyless entry with hazard lamp
# UV reducing glass
# dual front SRS airbags
# ABS brakes

Let's hope the Indian 1.3L Swift matches this feature spec.
Old 8th April 2005, 12:18   #14

Originally Posted by gamerno1
good news. fingers crossed. you sure its heavier than a baleno iceman?
I read in a tech spec somewhere that the 1.5L petrol Swift is 1040Kg. The 1.3L should be a little (maybe 10Kg) lighter.

Don't know how that compares with the Baleno.
Old 8th April 2005, 12:20   #15

Originally Posted by Technocrat
I think Esteem's engine is 85 Bhp(current Euro II model) & not 65Bhp(that was in Euro 1 model).

So for a car of that size, I think 85 bhp is quite decent. Whats the power/Bhp of Getz & Fusion ??
Getz is 82BHP. Fusion is 101BHP.

But we need the kerb weight's as well for a meaningful comparison.