Old 16th April 2009, 18:10   #76
Max

Originally Posted by maverick030581 View Post
@starscream

1. I think the potential damage to a car while being towed is a great deterrent to wrong parking. It has happened to me twice and I am a lot more careful now. I guess the `punishment' worked.

So by that yardstick, if someone has committed a bigger crime like, say, getting drunk & driving, in addition to the fine, his car should be totaled as a deterrent. What say?
lol, well said bro.
Old 16th April 2009, 18:59   #77

Originally Posted by kvish View Post
Its sad indeed. However, there are some instances where I feel some people deserve this kind of treatment for their cars. Particularly in Bangalore, people dont give a damn for the no-parking signs. Fine is just 100 Rs.
It is just one side of the story. Some people are stupid and they will be always stupid. And we have growth in the country and the vehicle numbers are bound to increase. But where are the paid parking slots available. Cities are old and no redesigning is happening at all. All that the police will do is make roads one way and make any existing maps obsolete.

Where is the planning in this country? And of course there are different (no!) rules for politicians when they roam like kings of the country with 40-50 vehicles and park anywhere and everywhere.

It is only the ordinary citizens who are affected. Just to give an example there are places in chennai like Cenotaph road (where ICICI bank office was there) where there wont be any parking available anywhere near and the roads will be too narrow and in front of every house's gate and compound there will be a "no parking" sign hung by some vendor who offers "computer training", "free home delivery" etc and you will be really scared to leave the car anywhere in the vicinity being afraid what will happen.

And when you see the odd car wheel clamped down it is really scary. What you do is curse yourself for taking the car to such a place and use an auto after paying the price of 5 litres of petrol for traveling 10 kms and the privilege you get to use them.

And just to add one must see the narrow lane where Apollo Hospitals in Chennai. You will sure break your head how on earth the Govt allowed the hospital of that size to be built in such a narrow lane and corner without any place for parking vehicles. You want to take your old folks to that place then either you hunt for parking for 30 minutes or choose an auto robber.

Normal rate for auto to visit any place near apollo Rs.100 but if you mention apollo hospitals the rate will go to Rs.150. And try hiring one from in front of the hospital they might even ask Rs.200. We are spoilt for options.

Last edited by LandCruiser : 16th April 2009 at 19:02.
Old 16th April 2009, 19:41   #78

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
I hear this argument quite often - for many professions. Absolute hogwash! If people are underpaid and overworked there is a reason. They have no special skills which needs to be paid highly, and they can easily be replaced with another generic person, and they are too lazy to get themselves into a high paying job/ do something on their own.

We live in a capitalistic society. Nobody is forced to work on a job they don't like. Everyone has the opportunity to work hard,learn (even when they are old) and look for better avenues.

I feel no sympathy for people who want to sit idle and whine they are underpaid. Most often they deserve it.
Skywalker, are you familiar with the primary education situation in this country? Is it people's fault that successive governments have not been able to deliver on universal education? When this person who gets a sub-standard or zero education grows up, is he not suppopsed to earn enough to eat? When he does get a sub-optimal job where he is easily replaceable, as you put it, won't his first instinct be to hold on to it to maintain his subsistence living? For people like this, who incidentally number in the hundreds of millions in this country, where is the opportunity?

The attitude of privileged Indians towards their less fortunate brethren surprises me.

Last edited by StarScream : 16th April 2009 at 19:56.
Old 16th April 2009, 21:32   #79

Originally Posted by StarScream View Post
Skywalker, are you familiar with the primary education situation in this country? Is it people's fault that successive governments have not been able to deliver on universal education? When this person who gets a sub-standard or zero education grows up, is he not suppopsed to earn enough to eat? When he does get a sub-optimal job where he is easily replaceable, as you put it, won't his first instinct be to hold on to it to maintain his subsistence living? For people like this, who incidentally number in the hundreds of millions in this country, where is the opportunity?

The attitude of privileged Indians towards their less fortunate brethren surprises me.
I am surprised that this turned out to be such a 'touching' topic for some. If some of us really like the way police behaves or atleast are satisfied/in favour of their modus operandi, its good for them. They should be happy and credit the police everytime they see a poor little car being towed away mercilessly and in the process getting destructed. Others, like some of us here should keep bringing such incidents to light, what we dont expect is someone to advocate the behaviour of police.
Those who think that the behaviour is right should start a new topic, to praise the behaviour of police towards the public and also to portray their problems.
This thread's sole purpose is to bring together some similar incidents.

Those who justify the action of police , are doing so at the wrong thread.
Its like justifying the wacky mods in weird and wacky mods thread.

Regards.
Old 17th April 2009, 00:05   #80

Now, Look what we have here mates, a police car parked in front of 'NO PARKING' board.
Now will some underpaid,overworked and stressed cop care to Tow it away please?

SOURCE-- Indian Police Cars thread on TeamBhp.

Regards.
Mumbai Towing Service: Is this how our cars are towed?-dsc00258.jpg  

Old 17th April 2009, 00:14   #81

they are public servants, YC.
typical line of reasoning:
"I am a public servant. I am part of the public. I serve myself, hence I serve the public. purpose achieved."
Old 17th April 2009, 07:29   #82

When he does get a sub-optimal job where he is easily replaceable, as you put it, won't his first instinct be to hold on to it to maintain his subsistence living? For people like this, who incidentally number in the hundreds of millions in this country, where is the opportunity?
dude, i know that not everyone is privileged to get into a professional college. that is fine. people gotta try moving up from where they are. that's what life's all about.

so a person got a suboptimal job - lets say starts a the lowest grade govt job. whats stops him from taking some spare time to learn, write a govt test and move up the ladder. what stops him from taking a degree while he is working and look for another job. what stops him from doing something on his own and try to get out of it. There are enough opportunities for people willing to work.

but no, they would happily move around lazily, do the minimum work and whine about their situation.
Old 17th April 2009, 11:18   #83

In a country, where several million are below the poverty line, rising crime graph especially crime against women and even children (from what I have been reading in TOI females in some families are not safe even with their family!!!), I think cars getting damaged while being towed doesn't even figure in anybody's priority list except ours.

The way I see it, it's an additional tax we pay for living in a country like ours. This is ofcourse avoidable in most cases unless you are the unlucky one i.e. car towed from a parking zone.
Old 17th April 2009, 14:09   #84

Originally Posted by asr245 View Post
I think cars getting damaged while being towed doesn't even figure in anybody's priority list except ours.
This sort of attitude (theirs, not yours!) is exactly what infuriates so many of us about our country. If they must tow, why can't they do it carefully? Why can't they use the sort of small flatbed trucks where the car is pulled on board and then transported? And for heaven's sake, would it kill them to leave a note saying your car has been towed away and not stolen?!

Rising crime graphs against women have nothing to do with doing a job properly, IMHO.
Old 17th April 2009, 14:35   #85

would they take to it kindly if the roles were reversed and their wheels were dragged away in the most retarded possible way? NO!
"do unto others what you would like them to do unto you". simple tenet but something that nobody realizes exists. if people started to follow it, life would be so much better...
Old 17th April 2009, 16:26   #86

Originally Posted by Perakath View Post
That's the point.

In truth:
Parking allowed unless prohibited by signs / in contravention of regulations (which are general guidelines and not location-specific).

Our cops' bluff:
Parking not allowed unless permitted by signs.
Our motor vehicle act only states that the state govt or any other agency authorised by the state govt can decide where a motor vehicle can be parked
Laws - Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 Section 117.

Are there any other laws governing parking of vehicles ?

Last edited by kingshukt : 17th April 2009 at 16:28.
Old 17th April 2009, 17:10   #87

Originally Posted by Perakath View Post
Rising crime graphs against women have nothing to do with doing a job properly, IMHO.
Well, if your (or mine) car is damaged, who would you report to? Cops? Traffic police? Media? Take them to courts? First thing everyone's going to atleast think (if not say it out loud) will be "there are thousands of much more serious offences to be looked into. Take a number!".

Just to be clear I am not supporting this attitude but if tomorrow I become an active citizen of my country (rather than a complaining one) even I will not have this in my list of priorities.

Originally Posted by blacmagic View Post
would they take to it kindly if the roles were reversed and their wheels were dragged away in the most retarded possible way? NO!
I doubt if any one of them actually owns a 4 wheeler (besides the owner of towing company).
Old 17th April 2009, 17:24   #88

Originally Posted by SkyWalker View Post
dude, i know that not everyone is privileged to get into a professional college. that is fine. people gotta try moving up from where they are. that's what life's all about.

so a person got a suboptimal job - lets say starts a the lowest grade govt job. whats stops him from taking some spare time to learn, write a govt test and move up the ladder. what stops him from taking a degree while he is working and look for another job. what stops him from doing something on his own and try to get out of it. There are enough opportunities for people willing to work.

but no, they would happily move around lazily, do the minimum work and whine about their situation.
SkyWalker, a low grade govt. job is still very good for a lot of people in this country. Half the population here can't even aspire to that. Im not defending govt. babus, it's the disenfranchised that Im talking about.
Old 17th April 2009, 22:35   #89

Originally Posted by kingshukt View Post
Our motor vehicle act only states that the state govt or any other agency authorised by the state govt can decide where a motor vehicle can be parked
Laws - Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 Section 117.

Are there any other laws governing parking of vehicles ?
Yes; as you've pointed out, rules and regulations made under authority of the power delegated by the MVA 1988. I can't give you an online link, but I have seen the Delhi Traffic Police's Rules in this regard. I think I've already mentioned the relevant rules in Delhi earlier in this thread.
Old 18th April 2009, 08:00   #90

Im not defending govt. babus, it's the disenfranchised that Im talking about.
well, in that case its fine. My response was specific to the following statement you made:
2. Our traffic cops are massively overworked and underpaid.
anyway, we are going OT. Since both "agree to agree", i guess we are done here

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com