Old 8th July 2009, 17:36   #16

Originally Posted by SilentEngine View Post
this has potential to be misused, it doesn't take much to find out the actual address of the person or other details using social networking sites/phone directory etc.
Yes it can be misused, but good that they are not giving out the address yet. That can have major implications. But if you really want to know these details, you can go to the RTO and find them out. I think they have to give them out under RTI. Also not everyone is listed in the phone directory unless they have BSNL.
Old 8th July 2009, 17:39   #17

Works all right. Though 0 BHP would be a tough engine to make

I think privacy concerns are valid, but since there is no phone number or address being given out, and RTO areas are large enough to have more than one person of the same name, its not the easiest piece of info to misuse available today given google.
Old 8th July 2009, 17:52   #18

Originally Posted by hemanthisgreat View Post
Yes it can be misused, but good that they are not giving out the address yet. That can have major implications. But if you really want to know these details, you can go to the RTO and find them out. I think they have to give them out under RTI. Also not everyone is listed in the phone directory unless they have BSNL.
They are not giving out address, yes, but what exactly is the point of this service. What additional value-add does this give over the usual way of approaching RTO and finding out the information if you really need to file a complaint against some vehicle.
This is a classic case of using technology to solve a problem that didn't exist and create more problems as a result.
Old 8th July 2009, 19:20   #19

Originally Posted by 71Convertible View Post
I just found out today that the KA RTO has an SMS number where you can send any license plate number

bn
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
You mean registration number right?
Originally Posted by 71Convertible View Post
Aren't they the same?

B
Nopes, We don't have license plates in India, we have registration number on our Cars. In US(& UK too I think) they are called License plates because a person transfers his license plates from his old car to new car unlike in India.
Old 8th July 2009, 19:41   #20

Seems to a half baked idea of some neta or babu. This will be largely misused. I dont see any benefit of this facility. Somebody from KA should file a case in court and obtain a stay order against this.
Old 8th July 2009, 20:17   #21

I tried 3 times with my own vehicle numbers, but I got reply all 3 times "this facility is not configured, please sms 'help' to xxxx for further details". My 9 rupee is gone ! Thanks to my fellow brothren !
Old 8th July 2009, 20:20   #22

@shaju ,I just tried now ,it worked . What format you tried ?

RTO KA-01-AA-1111 send this to 56006 .
Old 8th July 2009, 20:36   #23

For hit and run, isn't the registration number itself sufficient? Whats the use of this service other than to find out your chassis number etc., for yourself easily.
Old 9th July 2009, 10:20   #24

Its really great to see that India's IT Hub is getting more 7 more informatic & modern.
Hey Mumbai RTO, attention please !!!!
Old 9th July 2009, 10:21   #25

Originally Posted by JayD View Post
That has been done away with. It now shows only the Owners name and what vehicle it is. if you need to know the rest, on has to enter the chassis number!
What is the SMS number and format?
Old 9th July 2009, 10:50   #26

I tried it now, for my vehcile, it did not work. I received message as "the Vehcile No is wrong". It was registered in Mar-08.
Message format sent was
ka-04-mf-***
ka-04-mf-0***
Old 9th July 2009, 10:54   #27

Originally Posted by srinivasmhn View Post
I tried it now, for my vehcile, it did not work. I received message as "the Vehcile No is wrong". It was registered in Mar-08.
Message format sent was
ka-04-mf-***
ka-04-mf-0***

Try in all caps, may not work but, your choice and the fromat is

RTO SPACE KA-01-AA-1111 to 56006.
Old 9th July 2009, 10:59   #28

hey does it give details about the vehicles all over karnataka or is it limited only to bangalore.?
Old 9th July 2009, 11:01   #29

Just used this on my vehicles. It gives out the name of the owner, engine and chassis number along with HP and CC details.

One thing i fail to understand is even if its a hit and run case how would anyone benefit from getting these details? I seriously do not understand the use of this facility!

Would it help in case you lose your RC? In this case no one is dumb enough not to keep a photocopy. Can anyone enlighten?
Old 9th July 2009, 11:21   #30

Originally Posted by sharu945 View Post
hey does it give details about the vehicles all over karnataka or is it limited only to bangalore.?
Only for KA-01 to KA-05 which would be only Bengaluru.