Old 27th July 2010, 18:27   #436

Whether its private customers or commercial (especially).
Most of the yellow plate Corollas are owned by Hotels, isnt it? I dont think they will prefer Innova instead of Diesel Corolla.

Some smart buyers will go for Innova instead of Corolla.

Last edited by Latheesh : 27th July 2010 at 18:37.
Old 29th July 2010, 09:19   #437

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
When Skoda Laura CRDi MT has a FE figure of 20kpl with much bigger and powerful engine, The Toyota's figure of 21.43 kpl with a 1.4 litre engine that makes just 85hp mated to a 6speed MT is not very surprising to me.

The Altis cannot even dream to match the Jetta or Laura MT's driveablity, they pull like locomotives from as low as 1500rpm.
And you are forgetting Octy's 8 year old 1.9 L engine returns as high as 23-24 kmpl. So, I don't see what is so great about 21.43 kpl from an underowered 1.4 L engine.
Old 29th July 2010, 10:18   #438
PCS

@ pgsagar

Octavia ARAI Mileage = 21,39 kmpl and actual 23-24 kmpl

Altis D ARAI Mileage = 21.43 kmpl and actual 24-25 kmpl (refer zigwheels article)

Please dont compare ARAI figures to actual figures.

Have you driven this car ??

If not i suggest you to test drive one and give comments before calling it as underpowered !!!

I mean , i dont even say its a diesel rocket.

Its just ADEQUATE for Indian conditions
Old 29th July 2010, 13:13   #439

Wow, thats great FE for the Corolla diesel. Higher than ARAI figures. Do we have any numbers of the bookings generated so far?
Old 29th July 2010, 13:26   #440

The J-class is at a good price point....but factor in the discounts on the petrol Altis and the differential jumps quite a bit.

Only good for fleets and "mature" people willing to retain the car for 5 years.

But a 2 yr-3yr old depreciated diesel Altis will be a killer once it hits the second hand car market at around 6 lakhs !!!
Old 29th July 2010, 21:50   #441

Originally Posted by PCS View Post
@ pgsagar

Have you driven this car ??
I mean , i dont even say its a diesel rocket.
Its just ADEQUATE for Indian conditions
Not sure why people keep saying this sentence again in all the new launch thread. Its not necessary that you can comment on the car only after driving it.
The reason the stats of the car like the power and torque are revealed is because it is a mark up of performance of cars.

I am sure PGSAGAR's comments are based on these stats, you dont need to test drive to understand that a 1.4L engine is less powerful than the 1.8 engine. Moreover when you have the stats of the power there can be no doubts about it.

No one pays 13 lakhs for a car which is adequate.

You can say the car is good, probably people will anyway buy it, but its no powerful and its doesnt deserve to be tagged premium.
Old 29th July 2010, 22:06   #442

PCS, I don't know what is so offensive about calling an underpowered car an underpowered car? I didn't say it is a bad car anywhere. It may have lot of virtues but power is not one of those. Besides, I am not the only one who said it is underpowered. Every magazine, every review says this.

Xingamazon, you are right. Being a Toyota, it will sell. But....
Old 30th July 2010, 00:52   #443

I observed the Toyota Altis Diesel advertisements in various newspapers, not even a single advertisement had Engine/Power details.
Old 30th July 2010, 08:54   #444
PCS

@pgsagar, @xingamazon,

Guys if in that case do you call ford fiesta and skoda octavia also underpowered ?

Fiesta Diesel = 1.4L = 68 PS= 1150 kg
Altis Diesel = 1.4L = 90 PS = 1270 kg
Octavia Diesel = 1.9L = 90 PS = 1330 kg ???

Altis is much better in terms of specs and has lesser weight also compared to octavia

Isnt Fiesta a fun to drive car ?

Even octavia also then should be branded as underpowered.

Octavia did 90 in 1.9L, but if corolla delivers the same in 1.4L, then why is it branded as underpowered ?

Modern engines pump out more power in less displacement.

Last edited by PCS : 30th July 2010 at 08:57.
Old 30th July 2010, 09:35   #445

There's a price difference of few lacs between Altis Diesel and Fiesta so these 2 shouldn't be compared at all! Etios sedan would be appropriate competition for Fiesta and others. The major grouse here is Toyota Altis diesel provides too little for this sum of money in this segment! Surely it's underpowered and unexciting at this price!
Old 30th July 2010, 09:39   #446

Good point PCS.

At times, if engineered properly, like the Fiesta and the Octavia, a car which has lesser power on paper can drive and feel better than a more powerful car and that is a trick many mature manufacturers who develop mass production automobiles use which results in good FE, greater sales and bigger profits. Its a win win situation if engineered very precisely.
Need a powerful but bad car? The Hyundai Verna which supposedly makes 100BHP but never set the sales charts on fire due to the fact that the power was not properly utilized.

PS: I have not yet driven the Altis diesel.
Old 30th July 2010, 09:49   #447

The market will decide whether Altis D is a hit or flop. Does anybody has any idea of the initial customer reactions and bookings?
Old 30th July 2010, 10:03   #448

We as enthusiasts will always be wanting more which forms a very little percentage of the buying public. Any manufacturer unless a premium/distinguished one will always target the segment which could bring in more revenues than actually what would be best for the people. In such a case, then only v6-v8 should be manufactured for engines.

It does not matter too much as to whether we brand the altis diesel as underpowered or not, what matters is Toyota will laugh all the way to the bank.
Old 30th July 2010, 22:32   #449

Originally Posted by .anshuman View Post
I observed the Toyota Altis Diesel advertisements in various newspapers, not even a single advertisement had Engine/Power details.
How very true! I saw it too. No mention of CC or BHP? All it says is D4D engine.
Old 30th July 2010, 23:14   #450

Is Altis Diesel on roads now? waiting to see its test drive report