Team-BHP > Motor-Sports > Indian Motorsport

Old 20th December 2007, 18:04   #16

cab drivers and souped up Indicas..

Rest assured, no cab company will be nuts to buy a petrol indica They are out to make money not lose loads of it

Last edited by prabhuav : 20th December 2007 at 18:07.
Old 20th December 2007, 18:37   #17

What? an indica giving competition to a fiesta?

someone wake me up!
Old 20th December 2007, 18:46   #18

What gearbox is this? I thought the current box couldnt handle more than 100 bhp.
Old 20th December 2007, 19:59   #19

Is it a track only car or can it be driven on public roads? (some kind of homologation special).

Originally Posted by v1p3r View Post
What gearbox is this? I thought the current box couldnt handle more than 100 bhp.
The torque will be more or less the same

PS: How I wish this was Ford or HM instead of Tata

Last edited by Mpower : 20th December 2007 at 20:02.
Old 20th December 2007, 21:04   #20

The best thing about this is that one can even get a loan on this ..... And I do believe that this really is one helluva hot car .

Rt @ Would this be homologated for the '08 INRC as well .... ?? It definitely would be a cheap way to start of rallying ..
Old 20th December 2007, 21:24   #21

Right time to invest in one of these & prep it for a dream offroading. what say vikram ?
Old 20th December 2007, 21:38   #22

Anyway J.Anand done a good job.I dont know the stability and the handling in rally scenes.
Old 20th December 2007, 22:00   #23

Fantastic news. The Indica body shell was always up for this.

Where are the launch pics..where are the launch pics?
Old 20th December 2007, 23:14   #24

Originally Posted by khaadu75 View Post
And I do believe that this really is one helluva hot car .

It definitely would be a cheap way to start of rallying ..

Mr Ratan Tata: You can put me down as one confirmed buyer.

Khaadu: When do we start? Lets put a petition to Tata Motors for this. Just like we had one for Mitsubishi.

cheers:
Old 20th December 2007, 23:35   #25

Would not the 1.6 Palio suffice?

If they can offer the same car at around 5.5L with 115bhp and no FIA safety stuff(just standard interiors), we will have the most powerful hot hatch in the country!
I remember a 80bhp Tata zero car was used a few years ago, and also gave the impression of a "Tata indica sports version coming to market" but that never materialized.

Hopefully this is for real! Saloon car racing for the masses. My only question, what if the starter motor gives up at the start line, do they allow push starts?
I think one can get a brand new 1.6 Palio for 4.5lakhs and then convert it into a Palio 1.8R(with crank shaft and piston upgrade) and get 125bhp by shelling out 1.5lakh on the car. Would this not make better sense than splurging on a TAXI.
Wishful thinking this might be but I think its possible. If its possible my Palio GTX is ready for the transformation after it crosses 100000km.

Fiat Palio 1.8R

Last edited by drpullockaran : 20th December 2007 at 23:36.
Old 20th December 2007, 23:51   #26

Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post
I think one can get a brand new 1.6 Palio for 4.5lakhs and then convert it into a Palio 1.8R(with crank shaft and piston upgrade) and get 125bhp by shelling out 1.5lakh on the car. Would this not make better sense than splurging on a TAXI.
Wishful thinking this might be but I think its possible. If its possible my Palio GTX is ready for the transformation after it crosses 100000km.

Fiat Palio 1.8R
Yeah, but then who will service it? Will you get spares easily? What if some idiot puts in too much oil? Or the block gets a hole?

Oh wait, if you're getting all this stuff from Brazil anyway, can you ship me some cachaca as well?
Old 21st December 2007, 01:46   #27

Originally Posted by drpullockaran View Post

Fiat Palio 1.8R
And you still won't be able to take the car out onto track/rally or even if you manage to get it homologated then you would still have to spend another 2 lacs to get ot prepared with roll cage , seats , suspension , etc etc --- so what you prefer now ????

Just remember this Indica is not being sold keeping street racers or office goers in mind ... it's purely for people who wanna go out and race/rally -- and thats a HUGE DIFFERENCE !!!!

PS -- But do keep us updated about your planned upgrade on the GTX !!
Old 21st December 2007, 02:19   #28

Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Been doing a lot of push-starting on your Indica these days, I guess?
LMAO, and I thought I was the only one...

@1100D, we discussed the Indica as a rally car in the Rally Suitability of Swift/SX4 in India thread... do you think someone with influence actually read that? ;-)
Old 21st December 2007, 04:38   #29

Originally Posted by oversteer View Post
LMAO, and I thought I was the only one...

@1100D, we discussed the Indica as a rally car in the Rally Suitability of Swift/SX4 in India thread... do you think someone with influence actually read that? ;-)
You bet! Best thing now is that you dont have to go and procure those Koni's and Bilsteins. One will simply rally his car and at the end of the rally take it to the Tata workshop where a nice smiling receptionist will greet you and ask you if you had enough fun.

However I want the Fiat Palio as a Rally car as well.

Last edited by 1100D : 21st December 2007 at 04:45.
Old 21st December 2007, 08:38   #30

The indica - as much as people trash it as a taxi et al, you still have to give it to TATA for having designed and brought it out. Over the past 8 years they have learnt a lot from their V1 to V2 designs. So atleast they are making an effort.
IMHO - the rally cars will be made to order - like the gypsy, but then its really cool that they are getting into this.
another shot in the arm for Motorsports in india.