Old 17th June 2021, 20:40   #121

Re: Trend of ever brighter headlights is blinding other road users

One of the measures used to counter high beams is to look into the opposite side i.e. the road in front of the passenger side. Not sure if it safe, but it is commonly heard that we tend to drive into the direction we look, especially with two wheelers.

Originally Posted by amol4184 View Post
I was curious if there was anything else apart from yellow glasses.
OEM LED/HID headlights - Do they cause issues to other motorists?-anti-glare-winshield-visor.png
Image source: google images

Try looking up for anti-glare windshield visors. From what I have seen online they are useful during day time (sunlight) as well as night time (high beams). It is what they say the product is built for, however I have no experience with the same. Anyone who has used it kindly comment as it will be useful for the rest of us.

Meanwhile there are some measures that have been taken place around the world, especially China to take care of the high beam issue:

1. Cops forcing high beam misusers to look into high beam. Not sure if this is right from a human rights perspective, but sure will make folks think twice before misusing their high beams.

2. Posting scary ghosts/horror characters on the rear window. We might have to adopt our desi ghosts here, but the bigger fear should be getting fines for having stuck these stickers on the car rear windows
Old 17th June 2021, 20:53   #122

Read up the Creta 2020 review threads where you have so many people complaining about poor headlights (LED) and someone even calling them candles. Even if OEM provided LED headlamps are weak, they will still dissuade atleast a fraction of buyers from spending money on an aftermarket LED upgrade with no control on brightness and installation.

Bright lights and high beam usage should definitely be avoided in well lit roads. Respect oncoming vehicle drivers and lower your beam if you are on a high (pun intended).

Drivers should be more disciplined, that goes without saying but how do you spot and evade pedestrians & cyclists (not the urban elites with reflectors) walking/crossing the road at night. If you are going on high speeds, you need to have visibility slightly far ahead and in such situations, high beam will be your only option. I would err on the side of caution rather than spotting and acting too late.

And please dont add another legislation which is going to be thrown into dustbin or randomly enforced by bribe seeking cops.

Last edited by Totoro11 : 17th June 2021 at 20:55. Reason: typo
Totoro11 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th June 2021, 21:19   #123

The only way out of this is to use overwhelming force with discretion. We need not go on the offensive but we can ensure that we get to see the distance we will be covering in a few seconds ahead of us inspite of any level of lighting.
Old 17th June 2021, 21:50   #124

Originally Posted by RahulNagaraj View Post
According to a report, Shawn DeVries, a 48-year old resident of Iowa, USA stated that the oncoming traffic with the high-intensity headlamps forced him to habitually close his left eye
Source: NY Times
One unproved report, by a solitary person who has developed a weird method of driving, does not comprise a 'trend'. The NY Times report was probably sensationalizing the issue. The full article can be read here.

After-market LED bulbs put out too much scattered light, do not create a clear cut-off on low beam, and certainly dazzle. OTOH, there are millions of cars that come with LED projector headlamps fitted from the factory, which have a sharper cut-off on low beam than halogen bulbs, and are very comfortable to drive towards.

However, we in India love our headlights to be extra bright, extra-unfocussed, and in extra pairs. So those night buses that run 3 pairs of driving lamps apart from the main headlamps, which are incapable of being dipped, and those lethal LED bars that can make the blind see - and unless we have enforcement to stop these lights being used, we'll forever be blinded by oncoming beams.

And threads like these will give our incredibly foolish government policymakers ideas, and they will ban LED lights from being used in subsequent car models in India.
SS-Traveller is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th June 2021, 07:32   #125

In India we absolutely need high beams to drive at night. A few big issues in night driving would be: unmarked speed humps, diversions, potholes, trucks and tractors with zero tail lights, buffaloes on the roads, moped driving villagers with no tail lights, pedestrians crossing the highway wearing dark clothes, too many insect impact on the windscreen, muck raised by passing vehicles coated on your windscreen (during rains), etc
If you want to drive even at 70/80 kmph on the highway under these conditions, you can't drive using low beams alone.
The issue is, low beams don't give you a 100/200 meter vision patch, most end within 30/50 meters, were as a highbeam gives you about 200 meters or more of clear light to see.
AirbusCapt is offline   (1) Thanks