Pre-delivery:
All the paperwork was complete. Company lease was availed through Kotak Mahindra Prime Limited and for the On Road price.
I availed insurance from my employer's approved vendor, premium amounted to 15k odd bucks (~9k cheaper than dealer provided insurance) with zero depreciation top up cover inclusive.
Here is a break-up for those interested:
Ex-Showroom Price - Rs. 554,620/-
Road Tax - Rs. 101,795/-
Regn. charges, incidental expenses (transportation cost from factory to showroom), Extended Warranty for 3rd and 4th year at Rs. 7933/-, basic accessories like foot mats, etc. costing Rs. 2672/-). These items amounted to Rs. 17,942/-.
VAT - Rs. 80,420/-
Payment made to the dealer was Rs. 754,777/- (sans the insurance premium)
Comprehensive insurance with zero dep. cost me Rs. 15,705/- whereas the dealer was charging Rs. 24,000/- for the same.
Availing company lease meant we had to buy the car for the full list price without making any down payment (the standard discounts offered by all dealers such as company discount of 3k and consumer offer of 20k applied though).
Since there was no discount i could avail in addition to the standard offerings mentioned above, I asked Mandovi for a discount on accessories and the GM kindly obliged.
I got the reverse parking sensors installed (with digital display and audio) and the underbody coat (3 yr warranty). The reverse parking sensors was costing 4k at the dealer and i paid 3.5k for it.
Some freebies I managed from the dealer:
1. Underbody anti-rust coat with 3 year warranty worth Rs. 2.5k/-
2. Basic accessory kit - mud flaps, floor mats, boot mat, etc. worth Rs. 2672/-
3. MGA Car cover worth Rs. 1,100/-
In total the car cost me around 7.63L inclusive of insurance, all discounts and accessories.
Armed with the team bhp PDI checklist i went to the warehouse on Friday morning.
Boy, did she look hot or what? And there she was, bathing in the sun after a nice cold shower, glistening and gleaming at me.
Closely inspected the car and checked the VIN # and it was indeed a Jan 2013 make.
Below are the first couple of pic's that i took when i went to inspect the car before she went to the RTO for regn.:
I was asked to come back at 4pm for delivery since the registration had to be completed. The reverse parking sensors and under body coat was already done.
That was quick.
Finally, the delivery:
The last 2 days before the D-Day was a pain since i could hardly sleep with the excitement of owning a new car.
I was speaking with Supriyo (schoudhury) for a while trying to decide on a bluetooth kit (between Parrot and Jabra Freeway) and mentioned that i was so excited that sleep had taken a back seat.
And he was like:
"You have a bloody Ninja at home man, and you're excited about a Ritz???"
LOL.
Yeah i was feeling like a kid in a candy store.
A little past 4pm, I reached the dealership with my parents, wife and son to take delivery of my new car. I was so excited she was finally going to be mine.
My dad with the new car:
Your's truly on the right. To the left is the sales exec, Mr. Kamlesh Borana:
When we had first taken a TD of the Ritz, the sales executive had mentioned that the boot was so spacious that my son could sit in it comfortably... and my son remembered that statement even after so many months and had to verify those tall claims:
Needless to say, after taking this pic, my son was seated safely in the back seat and not the boot
After all the formalities were completed, we proceeded to fill up the tank at IOCL, Bowring Institute, St. Marks Road. I had a 5 liter diesel coupon from the dealer and in addition it took another 35 liters to fill the tank to the auto cut off. (Tank capacity is 43 liters).
We then headed towards home where the customary pooja was performed at a Ganesh temple in our neighborhood.
Pooja done, the car was parked safely at home. I was craving for a ride but it had to wait till the next day.
Only area for improvement for the dealer was that the keyless security system was chirping intermittently when locked or unlocked. They did not check this before delivering the car.
Also the sales executive had not spent a few mins to explain the features and controls to me. I however read up on the manual when i got home.
So when i went back to the dealer on Sunday morning to collect the regn. plates, I got them to check the security system. Apparently the connector under the bonnet for this system was not secure and there was a loose connection. Got this fixed in under 5 mins.
I made this clear when the dealer's customer care team and Maruti Suzuki's corporate office called me for a feedback.
Rated the dealer 9/10. Rating scale was a 3 point system - 8, 9 and 10, with 8 considered as a complaint.