About a month back, when I was returning from Pune, my GTX started acting funny. Initially, the "battery not charging" light was on for about 10 min, and then it went off all by itself. By the time I reached Chembur, the wiper being very slow, the ICE shut down, the A/c blower gave up and the speedo stopped working and occasionally the rpm would shoot up all by itself .
I drove the car to a friend's place and called the EXIDE Batmobile Service. They arrived within 30 min and jump started the car. The Voltage across terminals with the car running was about 10.xx and descending. He gave a clean chit to the battery and said that the alternator is the culprit. So left the car there and a couple of days later, my workshop sent a person to Chembur with a spare battery, managed to start the car and took it to the garage in Powai. He confirmed that the alternator is shorting and might need replacement.
Kava Auto @ Opera House confirmed that they have an alternator that was taken off a new-ish 1.6 (maybe the car was totalled in an accident). He quoted 7k for the unit.
After scanning through some
threads in this site, I got the contact details of Mr. Shekhar from Best Auto Electric Works in Opera House and he confirmed that he would be able to repair the alternator.
My mechanic had the alternator dismantled (a painful process which involved dismantling a lot of stuff and which took about 3 hours) and had it sent to Opera House for repair. Mr. Shekhar confirmed that the rotor, voltage regulator and a couple of bearings need replacement. The cost of repairs was Rs. 4850/- (Rs. 2500/- for the rotor, Rs. 1700/- for regulator, Rs. 300/- for the bearing and overhauling charges of Rs. 350/-).
After the alternator was fitted, I took the car back to Mr. Shekhar for a clean chit. The voltage across terminals at idle speed with no load was about 13.8-13.9. He confirmed that it is normal though I remember having read that it should be 14.1 or thereabouts. Can someone confirm?
Besides the alternator, since the car had racked up more than 5000km in a couple of months, the car was serviced as well. The total cost of the service came up to approx Rs. 6000/-. The break up is as follows.
Complete overall Service - 750
Alternator O/H - 550
Engine Oil (4 Litres) - 811
Oil Filter - 140
Coolant (1 Litre) - 235
Gear Oil (1 Litre) - 220
Fan Belt (2 Nos) - 900
Tensioner Bearing - 2150
Axle Boot - 375
Grease - 70
The car is a lot more smoother after the service and begs to be revved. Went for a early morning drive to lonavala thereafter and chucked the expressway for the NH4 which is a smoother drive due to the tar roads and more involving as compared to the Mumbai-Pune Expressway where the driver feels like a zombie clutching the steering. On the return leg of the journey, the infamous injector light came on again for a few seconds and the engine gasped for breath. The light appeared intermittently for a few seconds and went off. The car then was back to behaving as if nothing has happened.
Some call it character and other call it niggling issues with FIAT. I don't want to call it anything and just wanted to know
why it comes on.
So took it to the new entrant FIAT Dealer in Mumbai i.e. Galaxy Motors and hooked the scanner on to the ECU. It showed up 2 errors which were promptly deleted from memory. The engineer deleted the errors before I could click a picture.
1) Battery voltage and some code. (probably caused due to the alternator giving up the ghost)
2) Ignition Coil 2.
As usual, the spares department threw up their hands and said parts were not available. So now am trying to source the ignition coil for the vehicle. Since it has not been a problem which has occurred with alarming frequency, have decided to wait a bit before going in for replacement.
Galaxy Motors were kind enough to allow me to be present in the servicing area (though had to argue with the workshop manager). All customary courtesies were provided including a detailed printout of the earlier service history of the car (more on that later). The only niggle was that I spent a staggering 4 hours at the workshop for a simple ECU examiner job card. But being Dussehra/Saraswati pooja day, the staff were a bit hard-pressed handling the workload. So I guess that can be overlooked.
A couple of pics from the Galaxy Motors Workshop
@ Mods: Kindly amend the title of the thread to reflect the update. Thanks!