Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

Old 6th March 2006, 05:25   #16

go for laura,it has all the features tat comes in mercs.well i think as u gonna drive yrself u should go for the dsg box.its amazing .i test drove both manual and auto. i just fell in love with the auto.it is infact faster than the manual.just test drive the auto u will fall in love with it.
Old 6th March 2006, 11:02   #17

Go for Laura, it will be much more economical compared to CRV.
More comfortable and more creature comforts...
Better with DSG
Old 6th March 2006, 14:46   #18

Skoda's plans

http://www.skoda-auto.co.in/48pr.html

Plan to add 10 more dealers by the end of the year and sell 13,500 cars this year (sold 8953 units last year - 25% growth over 2004 - 7202 units). Plan to make India the manufacturing hub for south asia. Claims 25% of market share in the luxury car segment!

On the topic: - CRV was supposed to be 30K more post budget. Anyone knows the impact of the budget on the Laura?

Last edited by rangaraj : 6th March 2006 at 14:48.
Old 6th March 2006, 20:31   #19

Why not the RS? Its an all-out drivers car and 2-3 lacs cheaper than the Laura. Makes sense if you dont usually have rear seat passengers. I get a FE of 10km/l, in traffic, with AC, if I don't blat it. And occasionally, road conditions permitting, it will outrun almost anything. The RS in red/yellow color may perhaps have the best presence in Indian cars.
Old 6th March 2006, 20:37   #20

CRV .... a Honda is a Honda is a Honda! Laura - Well...enough has been said!
Old 6th March 2006, 22:45   #21

I'd take the Laura. I have driven both and found the CRV a pain to drive in Mumbai. besides all the controls are in the wrong place for me.
Old 9th March 2006, 16:19   #22

There are a lot talking about expensive post warranty maintenance and poor service by Skoda etc in the site, check all that before you make your decision
Old 9th March 2006, 23:07   #23

i say the laura it is. has better features , greater comfort , better ride quality, better FE and more economical than the Crv, more than adequate power, much better interiors , maintence is higher than the CRV(not too sure how much though) but then if someone can afford a 18 lac car this shud not be a problem for anyone , what else ??

i have never liked Honda as manufacturers in India. Always tend to short change the buyers.

Last edited by normally_crazy : 9th March 2006 at 23:09.
Old 9th March 2006, 23:21   #24

I would say the Laura as the CRV is overpriced and recently PC gave it 33k increase in price due to high import content.
Old 11th March 2006, 16:37   #25

and to add to that laura prices r not changed. so is the right choice.
Old 16th March 2006, 21:18   #26

i would prefer laura as it has got the luxury feel in it as compared to CRV... but CRV has got the honda hologram on it... as i know skoda accessories are too expensive as compared to any other car maker especially honda which has very affordable spare parts and service... laura also have looks like a sedan while the CRV doesnt have that luxurious look...
Old 22nd March 2006, 12:09   #27

CRV is a fuel guzzler - you will get <6 km/ltr of petrol... that is about Rs.8.3 per km just on fuel.

In Laura you will easily get 13km/ltr of diesel.. that is about Rs. 2.7 per km on fuel.
Difference of Rs. 5.65 per km.

If you do 60-70 km a day, that is about 2000 km a month & 24k km a year.
Simple Fuel saving in a year = Rs. 1.35 lakhs per year

3 year savings = 4 lakhs just on fuel + saving on depreciation as compared to the CRV

Please note: Honda is going to launch an upgraded CRV, which will further increase your depreciation...
Old 22nd March 2006, 12:58   #28

go for the laura. its a bombshell. tops out at around 210 kmph and gets you around 15 kmpl on an average.
Old 22nd March 2006, 13:08   #29

Originally Posted by rangaraj
Plan to make India the manufacturing hub for south asia.
It would be nice if Skoda could first make India the manufacturing hub for India.
Old 22nd March 2006, 13:19   #30

Originally Posted by ST7677
CRV is a fuel guzzler - you will get <6 km/ltr of petrol... that is about Rs.8.3 per km just on fuel.

In Laura you will easily get 13km/ltr of diesel.. that is about Rs. 2.7 per km on fuel.
Difference of Rs. 5.65 per km.

If you do 60-70 km a day, that is about 2000 km a month & 24k km a year.
Simple Fuel saving in a year = Rs. 1.35 lakhs per year

3 year savings = 4 lakhs just on fuel + saving on depreciation as compared to the CRV

Please note: Honda is going to launch an upgraded CRV, which will further increase your depreciation...
24K in an year is very optimistic i guess. Will ground clearance play some role if he uses the vehicle mostly for long trips. CRV will score in that aspect i guess...