Team-BHP > What Car? > Luxury, Imports & Niche

View Poll Results: Which is the best luxury entry level SUV?
BMW X1 previous gen 32 21.48%
Audi Q3 previous gen 26 17.45%
Mercedes GLA previous gen 13 8.72%
New Car in the budget 78 52.35%
Voters: 149. You may not vote on this poll

Old 6th March 2023, 14:57   #31

re: Pre-owned BMW X1, Audi Q3, Mercedes GLA or a new car? Budget of 30 lakh rupees

Originally Posted by vredesbyrd View Post
Tucson, Tiguan and Kodiaq in that order.

Kodiaq is the best option here but you have Mahavir Skoda for service there in Hyderabad.
Better to set the car on fire than let them touch it.

That’s why I love team-bhp. You know exactly what is happening through member’s experiences and take a decision. Now, I would be vary of pre-owned Kodiaq too, which was in consideration.
Highflyer is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2023, 16:00   #32

re: Pre-owned BMW X1, Audi Q3, Mercedes GLA or a new car? Budget of 30 lakh rupees

Originally Posted by Highflyer View Post
I have heard of poor after sales experience on the forum itself. Otherwise, I have no bias as such.

Any thoughts on Tucson vs Compass? I have driven both but far apart. Compass was a little cramped in the rear while I couldn’t find anything bad with Tucson. Size wise, compass would be a little better city dweller though.
yes, the after sales support is a hit or miss. I know people who are relatively happy with the service support. I too have had a mix of good and bad experience. Tucson might be a good option. I have not test driven it and cant attest to the ride quality.

regarding inside space, I feel the Compass is not bad. A 2020 CRV in my family is more spacious than the Compass. If CRV were on offer today, I would strongly have suggested that for someone moving from a Civic. While you wont get a car that ticks all boxes, hope you are able to Zero in on a great choice
aayusht is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 6th March 2023, 16:22   #33

Originally Posted by aayusht View Post
yes, the after sales support is a hit or miss. I know people who are relatively happy with the service support. I too have had a mix of good and bad experience. Tucson might be a good option. I have not test driven it and cant attest to the ride quality.

regarding inside space, I feel the Compass is not bad. A 2020 CRV in my family is more spacious than the Compass. If CRV were on offer today, I would strongly have suggested that for someone moving from a Civic. While you wont get a car that ticks all boxes, hope you are able to Zero in on a great choice
CRV is one of the best selling cars in the world. For some reason, Indians didn’t find it good enough and Honda had to discontinue it. In today’s market, it is indeed a huge mistake by Honda, to not have anything in this segment. There is a talk of launch of a Creta rival by Honda, by the mid of this year.

It is indeed not possible to find something that ticks all the boxes. But, I am trying to get something that ticks boxes that are critical to my requirement. I have listed those in the first post above. Additional features if any, would be icing on the cake.

In the new cars, Tucson ticks most of them, while Q3 seems to be doing well, in pre-owned segment. There are quite a few sedans (Octavia being one strong candidate), but low seating has put them out of the fray. Kodiaq is out due to poor reports of Mahavir Auto in Hyderabad. Comapss isn’t out yet, and I would give it one more try. Others in the pack have few big omissions that make them unfavourable or they aren’t good value for money, like C5 Aircross.

Fingers crossed.

Last edited by Highflyer : 6th March 2023 at 16:33.
Old 6th March 2023, 16:31   #34

Originally Posted by inwester View Post
Test drive the IONIQ 5, seems like it checks all your boxes, except maybe a bit over budget at 47-48 OTR Hyderabad. Since you're usage is 99% city, it would work well.

I would pick it over Tuscon, if you don't need a highway diesel mile muncher or AWD. Same with Kodiaq.

The old luxury cars are nothing but trouble and the ones you're looking for are entry level with nothing to write home about apart from the badge.

There is a similar thread (First Car: Hyundai Ioniq 5 vs BMW X1). Maybe you'll find this helpful.
I came across this thread, that looks at various aspects of cost of ownership of ICE vs Hybrids vs Electric cars.

Good read.

https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/showt...errerid=127821 (Hybrids vs Diesel vs Electric Car | Total cost of ownership study)
Old 6th March 2023, 17:18   #35

Hi, my personal opinion about Tucson is to avoid.

Tucson track record has been very ordinary for Hyundai (not for segment). Tucson is never a hit product, not even semi hit. New Tucson is good, but 37 to 40 lacs on a Hyundai, well its your call. If you are considering last generation Tucson, then better avoid as look & feel wise it is Creta.

Your last car was a bullet proof reliable Civic and I am sure you would like to have a reliable car. Although I don't have prior experience of a luxury German brand, but my understanding about luxury German brands is that they start giving expensive maintenance after 30k kms. I am not saying they are not 'very reliable' but can be very expensive to maintain, if bought used (30k km or more). I drive a City and if I have 30-40 lacs to spend, I would preferably like to buy new and not a used German.

My earlier recommendation of Camry is way out of your budget and as you mentioned finding good used Camry is difficult.

Your annual drive is just 5-7k kms and within the city limits, if you can trust Mahindra, go for XUV7OO AX7 or AX7L diesel AT preferably or petrol AT. I know about over a year waiting period, but if you are serious, talk to a Bhpian (or a local Mahindra showroom) who have connects with showroom to get you XUV7OO for slight premium (NCR has 1.25 lac to 1.50 lac premium). As I understand from your last reply, you are not into badges and XUV700 will give you best possible ROI. You will be able to save a lot with XUV7OO and honestly speaking XUV7OO has very high perception amongst the people so when you take your car out and people stare at your XUV, you will get a feel which is difficult to explain.

I am repeating, if you are not on 'badge value', then XUV700 has all the bells & whistles available in one or two segments above and its road presence is excellent.
GoBabyGo is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2023, 18:08   #36

Originally Posted by GoBabyGo View Post
Hi, my personal opinion about Tucson is to avoid.

Tucson track record has been very ordinary for Hyundai (not for segment). Tucson is never a hit product, not even semi hit. New Tucson is good, but 37 to 40 lacs on a Hyundai, well its your call. If you are considering last generation Tucson, then better avoid as look & feel wise it is Creta.

Your last car was a bullet proof reliable Civic and I am sure you would like to have a reliable car. Although I don't have prior experience of a luxury German brand, but my understanding about luxury German brands is that they start giving expensive maintenance after 30k kms. I am not saying they are not 'very reliable' but can be very expensive to maintain, if bought used (30k km or more). I drive a City and if I have 30-40 lacs to spend, I would preferably like to buy new and not a used German.

My earlier recommendation of Camry is way out of your budget and as you mentioned finding good used Camry is difficult.

Your annual drive is just 5-7k kms and within the city limits, if you can trust Mahindra, go for XUV7OO AX7 or AX7L diesel AT preferably or petrol AT. I know about over a year waiting period, but if you are serious, talk to a Bhpian (or a local Mahindra showroom) who have connects with showroom to get you XUV7OO for slight premium (NCR has 1.25 lac to 1.50 lac premium). As I understand from your last reply, you are not into badges and XUV700 will give you best possible ROI. You will be able to save a lot with XUV7OO and honestly speaking XUV7OO has very high perception amongst the people so when you take your car out and people stare at your XUV, you will get a feel which is difficult to explain.

I am repeating, if you are not on 'badge value', then XUV700 has all the bells & whistles available in one or two segments above and its road presence is excellent.
I agree that Tucson hasn’t set the market on fire. But, we also need to accept that Indian market is a unique one, where success vs quality vs value, isn’t linked always. Good example is, now discontinued CRV. It is one of the 10 best selling cars in the world. But in India it failed miserably. We are extremely value conscious buyers and sometimes let go of things that matter.
Good example is, exemplary sales numbers of Maruti cars, inspite of dismal safety ratings, fit and finish of some of them.

Even automatic cars had a tough time to make inroads in India since people considered them a luxury rather than a necessity. We were way behind few other developing countries in this regard.
While Tucson may not have badge value and sale numbers, it is a very well put together car. I have taken test ride in most of the cars south of 25 Lacs and Tucson was miles ahead of anyone of them. Entry and exit in Tucson was better than that in XUV, which requires one to climb up to get in.

XUV700 definitely punches way above it’s class, but it didn’t give the feeling of fit and finish as Tucson. In various parameters of size etc it is close though. It also has many niggles and ergonomics issue w.r.t it’s features etc.

Expensive upkeep of German cars is duly noted. Will definitely consider this while making the final decision.

I would once again try out Compass and XUV700 and see how they come out.
Will keep everyone posted.

Last edited by Highflyer : 6th March 2023 at 18:25.
Highflyer is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 6th March 2023, 21:32   #37

I face this problem in my Civic and presume that most of these would pose the same issue. I also read that A4s suspension is a little firm at low speeds. Any inputs on this aspect?
The ingress and egress in the A4 might be marginally better. Do check it out once for yourself I found it good. And for the ride quality, again, please check for yourself via a test drive.
NarediAni7518 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th March 2023, 08:03   #38

My take would be Jeep Compass; you get a new car in your budget. As for after-sales support that is your concern, you may check as I guess things are improving both on product side and support side. Also, Compass is a nice car to drive that fits well into your criteria - easy ingress/egress, great suspension (on stiffer side), features, and 4x4. The group's portfolio now consists of both Citroen and Jeep brands.
car-go is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th March 2023, 12:31   #39

Re: Pre-owned BMW X1, Audi Q3, Mercedes GLA or a new car? Budget of 30 lakh rupees

Go for Jeep Compass.

1. It's built like a tank.

2. Driving Dynamics and Handling at high speed are great. I won many times on highways from luxury german cars.
The way it gives confidence to the driver to push it can never be matched.

3. Good suspension for both city speeds and highway speeds. It absorbs all the potholes.

4. Trusted 2.0 multijet Engines are fun to drive with a sweet turbo whistle. 110 power to weight ratio

5. Good mileage 14 kmpl in the city. 18 km on the highway.

6. Good service costs ~ 12 to 14k per 15000 km.

7. All parts are built to last. All parts are imported and made in the USA.

8. Jeep service center here in Gujarat is on a different level. Very luxurious and big. Do service very precisely and no complaints so far.

9. No rattles in the car.

Last edited by vattyboy : 7th March 2023 at 12:36.
vattyboy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th March 2023, 14:27   #40

Re: Pre-owned BMW X1, Audi Q3, Mercedes GLA or a new car? Budget of 30 lakh rupees

Originally Posted by car-go View Post
My take would be Jeep Compass; you get a new car in your budget. As for after-sales support that is your concern, you may check as I guess things are improving both on product side and support side. Also, Compass is a nice car to drive that fits well into your criteria - easy ingress/egress, great suspension (on stiffer side), features, and 4x4. The group's portfolio now consists of both Citroen and Jeep brands.
Stiffer suspension and low speed ride was my concern. But nonetheless, I would take a test ride again and try out Compass without any bias.

Originally Posted by vattyboy View Post
Go for Jeep Compass.

1. It's built like a tank.

2. Driving Dynamics and Handling at high speed are great. I won many times on highways from luxury german cars.
The way it gives confidence to the driver to push it can never be matched.

3. Good suspension for both city speeds and highway speeds. It absorbs all the potholes.

4. Trusted 2.0 multijet Engines are fun to drive with a sweet turbo whistle. 110 power to weight ratio

5. Good mileage 14 kmpl in the city. 18 km on the highway.

6. Good service costs ~ 12 to 14k per 15000 km.

7. All parts are built to last. All parts are imported and made in the USA.

8. Jeep service center here in Gujarat is on a different level. Very luxurious and big. Do service very precisely and no complaints so far.

9. No rattles in the car.
2. No plan to participate in a drag race.

9. My 2007 built Civic doesn’t have a single rattle till date.

As you would have guessed from few previous posts I am reconsidering both XUV700 and Compass, since I had removed them from contention, due to few reasons. What’s your take between the two? Not from racing PoV, but from sedate BHPian PoV, who jus wants to use it in the city over bad roads and in traffic.

Last edited by Highflyer : 7th March 2023 at 14:30.
Old 7th March 2023, 14:38   #41

BMW X1 has edged past Q3 (both previous gen) in the polls. The voters haven’t put their comments though.
It would be great, if they put a few words too, especially by those who have tried both of them.

X1’s ride is supposed to be a little firm that gives it good high speed dynamics. Q3 has better low speed ride and more sedate engine. Now, this isn’t from my personal experience but gleaned from various posts on this forum and YouTube videos.
Old 7th March 2023, 16:10   #42

Thankfully Mahavir is not the only Skoda service option any longer in Hyderabad. PPS Motors, which also represents Volkswagen, Renault and MG Motors, are now the Skoda dealers too. One good decision that Skoda has taken, albeit late by a few years!

Tucson, Tiguan and Kodiaq in that order.

Kodiaq is the best option here but you have Mahavir Skoda for service there in Hyderabad.
Better to set the car on fire than let them touch it.
TallBoy is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th March 2023, 16:39   #43

BMW X1 has edged past Q3 (both previous gen) in the polls.
If you are going this route then X1 is better than Q3. You are correct about the ride being stiff, it just leads to better handling than the Q3. Also, it will be more reliable and parts/service might be marginally cheaper and overall better to drive.

Do get the Xdrive20d AWD version as it is better than the FWD Sdrive20d.
vredesbyrd is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 7th March 2023, 16:52   #44

If you are going this route then X1 is better than Q3. You are correct about the ride being stiff, it just leads to better handling than the Q3. Also, it will be more reliable and parts/service might be marginally cheaper and overall better to drive.

Do get the Xdrive20d AWD version as it is better than the FWD Sdrive20d.
Better handling comes in play at higher speeds. That is likely only on highways, which would be minuscule in my case.

If X1 does get short listed, I would consider your input. Thanks.
Old 7th March 2023, 19:52   #45

Well here, the most important point is that you are coming from a no nonsense bullet proof happy and satisfied ownership experience, brand, and model - Honda Civic. Now in India, only 5 brands (non-premium) can give you the same experience. In no particular order it is HONDA, TOYOTA, MARUTI, HYUNDAI, KIA. Apart from these all the other brands are always a hit or miss.

Now, coming to your requirements, here is what I would say
1. Tucson ticks all your boxes. While the best choice in Tucson is the diesel, based in your usage (requirements), the petrol Tucson will 100% satisfy you. In fact, no diesel car is an option for you since you drive less.
2. I recently got my Tucson after getting rid of lemon Harrier. Tucson really surprised me in many areas. I had a hellish time with Tata. While Mahindra is definitely better than Tata, it is still a hit or miss.
3. Tiguan's ride is too hard in general as well as for your requirement. In fact, it is best enjoyed out on the highways than in the city.
4. C5 is a no go. Citroen is neither committed to India nor do they understand the Indian market. C5 and C3 are examples of how poor they understand India.
5. Meridian and Kodiaq are too big for your requirement, while Compass is too small. Again Jeeps ASS experience and reliability is worse than even Tata, M&M.
6. For the pre-owned route, in terms of reliability, BMW and Volvo tops the list. However, neither X1 nor the XC40 will give you the true premium experience. Additionally both GLA and Q3 will be too cramped at the rear. If you can extend your budget (for the pre-owned), you should look at the XC60, X3, Q5 in the same order. However, please note that premium brands command a premium for maintenance also. In fact, as the car ages, the cost "premiumness" increases.

PS - Regarding the snob value of 38L for a Hyundai, which car is worth its cost today? Today a Maruti costs 23L and Mahindra costs 31L. The Hycross costs 36L. Since the Tucson is a CKD, it will obviously command that extra cost and it shows in the quality, fit and finish and premiumness inside-out. Having said that, if it is the value that you are looking at, then nothing can beat Tata & Mahindra. With no petrol option in Harrier, your only choice will be the XUV700 petrol automatic which has all the bells and whistles except for ventilated seats. The XUV700 still is not a bad choice either.

Last edited by Livnletcarsliv : 7th March 2023 at 19:55.
Livnletcarsliv is offline   (1) Thanks

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com