Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 12th December 2013, 15:16   #1
Senior - BHPian

Remapped Fiat Linea. With switchable maps

Review: Wolfmoto Switchable Remaps

I have been driving a Linea MJD since three years now. Have done lots of DIYs and permutation combinations of oils and have taken utmost care of my car.
Fiat India has always helped me smile with the amazing service they have given me over the period of ownership.
I mostly drive in the city with a daily commute of 60 kms. I have always loved the linea in stock form too , but the city drivability is the questionable area for many when it comes to Fiat Multijets, Punto and the Linea.

True – The 1st and 2nd gears are short, before the exhaust gases build up enough to give a full spool to the turbo we are forced to change gear or sometimes hit the brake again and back to square one. This gives a feeling of lag, even if the engine revs nothing revolutionary happens and this is kind of irritating when you are on the boil to reach your destination as soon as possible.
Over the period I tested few tuning boxes – I wont name any, please, I don’t want controversies, to overcome the above problem. I got good power and push in the upper ends of the revs, but to be frank I hated the car more with tuning boxes. Reason – drivability was hampered totally and secondly my 10% of the so called knowledge in the automobiles and technical areas were ringing alarms in my mind and heart too that the working of tuning boxes is not even 1% correct.

Tuning boxes just drop the voltages across the common rail sensor to fool ECU to supply more fuel. The second type of tuning boxes fool both Rail pressure sensor as well as MAP sensor.
The whole idea of tuning boxes is to fool and fool. But these manufacturers rob our money to build cheap resistors and cheap IC based boxes which cost peanuts to manufacture, but they cost us a bomb.