Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 22nd May 2008, 06:47   #31

Mine looks exactly the same but its not painted just the greyish silver look of galvanised metal. And guess what my car is the exact same colour aswell!!
Old 22nd May 2008, 06:48   #32

Originally Posted by sanju.sreekumar View Post
Well well well....guess what !!!! i did the same to my Ikon 1.6 a couple of months back in Bangalore. I anyways had to replace my rear muffler as it was just leaking and making weird noises sometimes. And this mod just cost me 1000 bucks.

Check out some snaps.
Did you notice any difference in power delivery?
Old 22nd May 2008, 14:22   #33

Originally Posted by abhik View Post
Mine looks exactly the same but its not painted just the greyish silver look of galvanised metal. And guess what my car is the exact same colour aswell!!
Its not paint. Its just a coat of Red Oxide. And its just for the time being. Changing the headers soon, but keeping the same end can. So, then i might change the colour.

Not that much difference in power delivery. Though there is a noticeable gain after 2k RPM.

Sanju
Old 22nd May 2008, 22:38   #34

Ya even i was thinking of getting the entire exhaust set-up done.
Old 25th September 2008, 15:23   #35

Hey sanju.sreekumar,

Did you get the whole exhaust done? Any improvements...

Where do you get your work done...I know of "Shabeer" near Palace grounds, people in Bangalore call him "Muffler king"
He worked on my WagonR...but I wasn't happy with the job, I have my dad's 1.6 ZXI now...want to a good job done
Old 26th September 2008, 10:08   #36

@blackwagon
I got my car's exhaust (re)done. But just a cat-back and boy its far better than the above muffler, both in terms of performance and sound. The headers of the 1.6 do a good job on delivering the right amount of torque so better leave it untouched, a cat-back(mine is without the cat-con) will take care of removing all the restrictions in the exhaust.

Dont go in for intermediate pipe dia exceeding 2", else you will see a drop performance.
Old 26th September 2008, 16:38   #37

I got my car's exhaust (re)done.
This calls in for a review
Old 27th September 2008, 12:07   #38

Originally Posted by ankitahuja View Post
This calls in for a review
Ah! Caught me did'nt you!! Was shying away from the review but i guess you are due for one too since we got it done together!!!
Old 29th September 2008, 14:34   #39

@blackwagon
I got my car's exhaust (re)done. But just a cat-back and boy its far better than the above muffler, both in terms of performance and sound. The headers of the 1.6 do a good job on delivering the right amount of torque so better leave it untouched, a cat-back(mine is without the cat-con) will take care of removing all the restrictions in the exhaust.
very sorry..., I have a 2002 1.6 ZXI

would really appriciate a little explanation

If i get this right are you saying:
1. Remove the cat and replace with a straight pipe
2. Retain original header system.
3. Confused about the end muffler...make it FF??

What about the mid-muffler?
Old 20th October 2008, 16:54   #40

hey abhik can u give the nizamudin guy's phone number or where he is located
Old 20th October 2008, 17:31   #41

Originally Posted by crashoverride9x View Post
hey abhik can u give the nizamudin guy's phone number or where he is located
Sorry dont have any phone number because i realised the FF muffler he gave did not make too much of a difference. Infact i was embarrases at times when people started to say "Kya silencer phata hua hai?", because after about 1000kms it started to sound like the silencer was submerged in water...was really bad.

I would suggest get an FFE or an aftermarket muffler to get a sporty note plus a noticeable performance gain.

Last edited by abhik : 20th October 2008 at 17:45.
Old 20th October 2008, 17:38   #42

Originally Posted by BlackWagon View Post
very sorry..., I have a 2002 1.6 ZXI

would really appriciate a little explanation

If i get this right are you saying:
1. Remove the cat and replace with a straight pipe
Correct
2. Retain original header system.
This was only in refference to Ikon 1.6, but one might get a set of headers for optimum performance output from the exhaust provided it is designed correctly for your car.
3. Confused about the end muffler...make it FF??
Get an after market free-flow muffler and dump the existing stock one.
What about the mid-muffler?
The stock mid-muffler will be dumped to make way for a new one, this will actually regulate the loudness of the exhaust note. Some people also dump this.
I have answered your questions in the quote itself in bold.

Last edited by abhik : 20th October 2008 at 17:45.
Old 20th October 2008, 17:56   #43

I have answered your questions in the quote itself in bold.
Removing the cat and replacing it with the straight pipe, will create problems with pollution checking.
Old 20th October 2008, 18:02   #44

Good job Abhik,

As far as you are satisfied its value for money. I know what it makes you feel as I drive Palio 1.6 with custom header and FFE.
Old 20th October 2008, 19:30   #45

Originally Posted by naveen.kk View Post
Good job Abhik,

As far as you are satisfied its value for money. I know what it makes you feel as I drive Palio 1.6 with custom header and FFE.
I would have had the same car as yours, only if some one was willing to finance it when i bought the Ikon. The Palio 1.6 is a monster.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com