Team-BHP > Modifications & Accessories

Old 15th December 2005, 21:56   #1

Lancer Diesel

I need some help in getting my Lancer Diesel perform better. I contacted Dreams Auto and they told me that K & N Air filter can not be fitted to my car as I have the cylindrical air filter which K & N does not manufacture. He suggested that I fit the Air filter case of a Land cruiser or a Toyota Qualis and then fit the K & N Air filter. I am not confident of this.. It will be great if you can guide me in finding a suitable solution to boost the car power. I am also exploring options of fitting a turbo for my car. Please let me know if that is a good idea.

Arvind
Old 16th December 2005, 01:52   #2

never seen any modifications for power on a diesel.

I guess I read somewhere that turbo cannot be fitted on a lancer but you can surely try.

I dunno if this would help but try getting free flow manifolds and mufflers.
Old 16th December 2005, 02:05   #3

if a free flow is fitted on a deisel lancer wont the noise be too loud and annoying at times ? as it is desiel engines are loud.

Rev
Old 16th December 2005, 03:40   #4

I dont think so. though I am not an mastermind in Diesels.

Lancer diesel is supposed to be the most silent diesel in the country. I guess a bit of noise wont harm this guy if he gets the desired performance.

I sure think there are many performance mods possible. Its just that I dont know much about it.

I guess Autopsyche can be a better person to ask this question.
Old 16th December 2005, 04:17   #5

k&n

hey man if you cant get the replacement filter get the k&n universal filter which includes the intake pipe!!! other than that you could get a freeflow but keep your current muffler it will keep the sound under control but will definately increase a little bit!! also the power difference won't be as good but as long as there is considerable change its worht it!! check out if its possible to get a piggy back device like the pete's tuning box for your engine !!! if you find that nothing like it ! so a k&n , a free flow and a piggy back device if possible !! im sure youll be able to pull off the free flow n k&n!! cheers!!
Old 23rd December 2005, 18:34   #6

Thanks Guys

I will try the Piggy back and get the universal K & N airfilter and the free flow done.. I contacted the local dealer and he told that the free flow can not be fit to a diesel lancer. I will probably try it out at Bangalore and check it out.. I will probably buy the K&N there.

Thanks once again.... Eddie
Old 24th December 2005, 05:44   #7

let us know what you did and what was the result. May help other people out here.
Old 24th December 2005, 09:45   #8

Originally Posted by revtech
if a free flow is fitted on a deisel lancer wont the noise be too loud and annoying at times ? as it is desiel engines are loud.

Rev
Drifter's crdi has freeflwo right?

and did you contact methodsonline.com regarding the K&N? mail them if not.

and what abt Pete's? Is it available for lancer?

Last edited by jkdas : 24th December 2005 at 09:50.
Old 24th December 2005, 18:01   #9

Suggestion == Lancer diesel...Keep the car as it is as K & N filters would be the right choice for your car.
You would end compromising on the car's performance. I know very few or none..who have a good idea on Lancer Diesel...So if i was you.....i would take it a little slow on peformance modifications on the Lancer Diesel
Old 13th January 2006, 20:50   #10

For now, I am
Old 13th January 2006, 20:52   #11

For now I am still exploring my options on getting the engine performance up. Well I have sent a message to psycho asking him about the possibilities and I will get back to you once I get some solid action plan. I understand that Diesel engines are very touchy about mods. I will post once again after I get some updates...
Old 13th January 2006, 22:08   #12

sure you can get turbo's fitted on a lancer... best example was JD's car at the previous track event in Sriperambudur.... wot u say v1p3r?

so eddie... finally took my advice and posted on the forum huh... good for you... i'm sure you'll find more help than you need....

and yes we do get the Pete's digital diesel tuning kit here... saw it at Dreams auto... 35k for the kit+installation charges....

all the best...
Old 14th January 2006, 01:26   #13

Ok Arvind, a few points to note.

1. The Lancer is an old IDI diesel. There are no major electronics. Therefore Pete's box or a piggyback are USELESS.

2. There is no turbo, so a free flow will make noise. An Accent CRDi has a turbo, which acts as a natural silencer.

3. A turbo can always be fitted. Psycho will guide you on that.

4. JD Madan's car is running an imported Evo 6 engine, complete kit with intercooler. If you want to give up mileage and spend over 4 lakhs, then it's your call. Also, that's a petrol car.

Last edited by v1p3r : 14th January 2006 at 01:27.
Old 14th January 2006, 01:52   #14

Originally Posted by v1p3r
Ok Arvind, a few points to note.

4. JD Madan's car is running an imported Evo 6 engine, complete kit with intercooler. If you want to give up mileage and spend over 4 lakhs, then it's your call. Also, that's a petrol car.
I thought the brakes and rims cost that much!!!
Old 14th January 2006, 02:28   #15

I hear a figure of 4 lakhs for the Evo upgrade kit. Doesn't include rims, I think. Maybe this cost is excluding customs and duties etc...

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com