Old 30th July 2012, 11:18   #31

Re: Honda CBR250 vs KTM 200 vs Pulsar 200NS

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
- After hearing even pathetic sales & support for 8L+ motorcycles; ever heard that? After all, with the availability of CBR & BMW, our country is not changed to Japan or Germany, we're still Indians & the ASC is still run by Indians!!!

Please, share the price of engine oil, filter & first paid service for P200NS. TIA
Hi aargee,

I agree that in India price does not translate to good service, and I am not anti-Honda or pro-Bajaj either. I have just based my views of Honda service based on the horror stories from all my friends who have a CBR and the customer feedbacks on blogs and forums. Maybe you have a better view of the picture since you're a CBR owner. It'll be great if they have actually improved their quality n service standards as you claim.

Coming to the P200NS, I dont work for Bajaj neither could I find the spare part prices online and its too early to get service costs for it anyway. Maybe in due time. Again, my claim that the Pulsar will be cheaper and easier to maintain than the Honda is based on precedence, my personal experience with both brands and feedback from peers.
narula123 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th July 2012, 11:29   #32

Originally Posted by narula123 View Post
It'll be great if they have actually improved their quality n service standards as you claim
Well...I don't claim that every ASC of Honda in this Nation has improved; what I was trying to say was 2 things...
1. The ASC issue is pretty common; like one might experience good while other's bad. Like Skoda issue in Mumbai does not relate that all Skoda ASC are bad (sry to have switched to cars, but trying to give a strong example). We have good ASC's too. Some cooperative, some eccentric, some have good attitude but know nothing. These are quite common in the country
2. With a motorcycle like BMW or Ducati, they require specialized mechanics & they're quite rare in this country; while the company sells such motorcycles to such people who've the potential to buy such expensive machines, the company, though provides training, our people (add some titbits to Govt role too) are lethargic to keep up the same standards on service as much as they do on sales. Its not related to the point of expensive motorcycle buyers are supposed to be taken care well, hope you got the point I'm trying to make.

its too early to get service costs for it anyway
You got the point; CBR's parts are way too affordable than its rivalries in this country; this is the point I was trying to make

Again, my claim that the Pulsar will be cheaper and easier to maintain than the Honda is based on precedence, my personal experience with both brands and feedback from peers.
Just like the TS, you're too a little confused I guess; let me clear the air; P200NS & CBR 250R are not fair comparison; as a matter of fact, P200NS & KTM makes a slightly fair comparison as both bikes share same engine, same type (naked styling), while comparing GT250R, Ninja 250R & CBR 250R also differs slightly as the engine types are different, but may be based on segments. But again, CBR 250R is different segment - Sports Touring segment instead of track bound, though there're no hard & fast rules.

IMHO, CBR 250R & P200NS are completely different machines; here in India, we compare them based on our affordability.

Apologies to rajpandey10 to have deviated from the essential topic

Last edited by aargee : 30th July 2012 at 11:33.
Old 30th July 2012, 19:49   #33

Hey Raj, We share the same age and the same requirements from a bike. Incidentally i bought the Duke in April this year. Don't get me wrong, duke is a brilliant bike. It has a neutral balance, supper rev happy engine and loaded with features. Not to mention turns head wherever (like it or not nothing else looks like the duke) you go. The upright riding position means (the reason I did not chose the CBR or R15) it is easier on your back. Aggressively pushed back pegs feel unusual, but once you're used to it are no big concern. Every time you'll whack that throttle it will leave a big smile on your face for sure.

Now that being said duke is a hard (read not un-refined) motorcycle, and can be a sensory overload for mature riders. Not to mention any ride over 0.5hrs will leave your bums numb.

Now that's where I think I made my motorcycle selection wrong. After a long week of getting pounded in office, I want a bike that I can ride relaxed on the weekend, with my wife riding pillion (she complains a lot on Duke as there is NO space for the pillion) at times.

If I was 22 (alas) I would have been jumping with joy with the duke. But I'm 32, and already making up mind for RE 500 classic.
Old 30th July 2012, 21:52   #34

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Well...I don't claim that every ASC of Honda in this Nation has improved; what I was trying to say was 2 things...
1. The ASC issue is pretty common; like one might experience good while other's bad. Like Skoda issue in Mumbai does not relate that all Skoda ASC are bad (sry to have switched to cars, but trying to give a strong example). We have good ASC's too. Some cooperative, some eccentric, some have good attitude but know nothing. These are quite common in the country
2. With a motorcycle like BMW or Ducati, they require specialized mechanics & they're quite rare in this country; while the company sells such motorcycles to such people who've the potential to buy such expensive machines, the company, though provides training, our people (add some titbits to Govt role too) are lethargic to keep up the same standards on service as much as they do on sales. Its not related to the point of expensive motorcycle buyers are supposed to be taken care well, hope you got the point I'm trying to make.
I have read in one of your post that you bought first lot of CBR250 and intially you face lots of issue and if i am not wrong then engine got replaces.. and looked into forums that the first lot of CBR has lots of issue.... My question for you is , does CBR had issue with only first lot or even the issues were there with the further lots too?

As you are owing CBR250 and has been in this forum for long can you please tell me tentatively from which lots on wards CBR has been improved, tentatively if you can tell from which month onwards. (Sorry for being more specific but ...No issues if you dont have answer).

Originally Posted by kaushal21fb View Post
Now that being said duke is a hard (read not un-refined) motorcycle, and can be a sensory overload for mature riders. Not to mention any ride over 0.5hrs will leave your bums numb.

Now that's where I think I made my motorcycle selection wrong. After a long week of getting pounded in office, I want a bike that I can ride relaxed on the weekend, with my wife riding pillion (she complains a lot on Duke as there is NO space for the pillion) at times.

If I was 22 (alas) I would have been jumping with joy with the duke. But I'm 32, and already making up mind for RE 500 classic.
Yes, When i did test drive i was not very comfortable in Duke, and pillon will be uncomfortable wither because of space and height.. But i somehow i liked the CBR250 seating, it was little comfortable, but i never rode long drive on any bike which has bending position so not sure how much it'll be comfortable...also i think the upright position make people more uncomfortable who has back pain (totally my opinion).

I heard that 200NS little comfortable seating position than duke, hence i didn't test drive it so i am not totally sure.. In gurgaon it'll be available on 2nd aug ..
Old 31st July 2012, 09:33   #35

Originally Posted by rajpandey10 View Post
does CBR had issue with only first lot or even the issues were there with the further lots too?
Hope you're aware that D200 also experienced engine seizure & BAL replaced the cylinder kit Words get around that there was 1 more engine seizure observed with KTM, since, there's no written proof, we can't take that into account. In my case, HMSI replace the entire engine block instead of just cylinder piston kit.

please tell me tentatively from which lots on wards CBR has been improved
I've addressed in the previous page - http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...ml#post2855689

Sorry for being more specific but ...No issues if you dont have answer
I don't mind answering new questions, but, somehow I get a feeling that you're not reading the posts properly.

Please...take some time to go through these posts below; these are much updated than the same posts available in TBhp as I can update them often
xBhp.com : The Global Indian Biking Community - View Single Post - [Ownership Thread]: Honda CBR 250R
Old 1st August 2012, 00:17   #36

But i somehow i liked the CBR250 seating, it was little comfortable, but i never rode long drive on any bike which has bending position so not sure how much it'll be comfortable...also i think the upright position make people more uncomfortable who has back pain (totally my opinion).
The best riding position for a tall guy like me is by setting my rear to almost the farthest end of the rider's seat and stretching forward a bit.
This biggest advantage of this posture was being able to operate the gears and rear brakes without any fuss at all- even while wearing sandals. Otherwise, if I sat in a forward position nearer the tank, my foot would occasionally miss the gear lever.

The only caveat is that my wrists start to hurt a bit after riding for an hour or so. However, I guess a pair of good gloves would fix that issue.
Coming back to the topic, the CBR is comfortable over long rides. Personally, I feel that the CBR is in its element over long tours. The roomy rider's seat along with the added heft and the full fairing gives the bike a substantial and a reassuring feel which I love. Highway rides are quite confidence inspiring and addictive.

The story's different for the pillion rider however. Almost everybody who rode pillion with me complained of the uncomfortable pillion seat and the amount of wind blast they were getting (they felt that I was going faster than I really was- 50 kmph felt more like 70-80 for them).

I heard that 200NS little comfortable seating position than duke, hence i didn't test drive it so i am not totally sure.. In gurgaon it'll be available on 2nd aug ..
Do try it out when it hits the showrooms. How tall are you? If you're taller than average, I think you would find the P200NS's posture comfortable- its saddle is set pretty high.

Last edited by evilmessiah : 1st August 2012 at 00:21.
Old 1st August 2012, 09:52   #37

Originally Posted by evilmessiah View Post
The best riding position for a tall guy like me is by setting my rear to almost the farthest end of the rider's seat and stretching forward a bit.
This biggest advantage of this posture was being able to operate the gears and rear brakes without any fuss at all- even while wearing sandals. Otherwise, if I sat in a forward position nearer the tank, my foot would occasionally miss the gear lever.

The only caveat is that my wrists start to hurt a bit after riding for an hour or so. However, I guess a pair of good gloves would fix that issue.
Coming back to the topic, the CBR is comfortable over long rides. Personally, I feel that the CBR is in its element over long tours. The roomy rider's seat along with the added heft and the full fairing gives the bike a substantial and a reassuring feel which I love. Highway rides are quite confidence inspiring and addictive.

The story's different for the pillion rider however. Almost everybody who rode pillion with me complained of the uncomfortable pillion seat and the amount of wind blast they were getting (they felt that I was going faster than I really was- 50 kmph felt more like 70-80 for them).

Do try it out when it hits the showrooms. How tall are you? If you're taller than average, I think you would find the P200NS's posture comfortable- its saddle is set pretty high.
Got a good height, I am 5.11 feet. So you mean say that leaning forward for a person like me will be comfortable
Old 1st August 2012, 12:08   #38

Originally Posted by evilmessiah View Post

I am 6' 2" tall and have absolutely no issues with the riding position of CBR. I found it a bit uncomfortable with the leg cramped (foot rest is backward) when I took the test ride. The trick is to sit at the farthest end of the rider's seat, as pointed out above.

I have had absolutely no issues with the bike. It is awesome for touring and good for city commuting. The best part of the bike is that parts/ service is quite cheap.
Old 1st August 2012, 14:23   #39

Got a good height, I am 5.11 feet. So you mean say that leaning forward for a person like me will be comfortable
That shouldn't be an issue. The CBR's riding posture isn't as aggressive as say, the R15. Though the footpegs are set more towards the back of the bike, this can be easily remedied by sitting in the posture I had been talking about. At your height, you shouldn't have too much problem with on the posture front at least. PatienceWins is taller than I am (I'm just 6') and he's comfortable with it.

Since topics relating to comfort and ergonomics involve a great deal of subjectivity, one has to decide for oneself. The best way to dispel all doubts would be to take test rides of all of the bikes- ideally on the same day. I did that- I had test ridden the RE Classics and the CBR250 back to back on a weekend. I used to get a RE Classic on weekends while I was in the waiting period. The next step was to go to the Honda showroom and test ride the CBR.

Originally Posted by PatienceWins View Post
The best part of the bike is that parts/ service is quite cheap.
That's quite true. I had read about the cost of spares of the CBR somewhere in this forum and had been surprised at how cheap the parts were.
I don't know about the service, but what I had gotten at the showroom in my native town where I had bought the bike hadn't been upto the mark. I had availed of the extended warranty and they kept on postponing giving me the receipt/proof of ext.warranty.
I cancelled it and decided to avail it from the showroom near my residence in Cochin. Even that extended warranty is a steal at Rs. 1200!
Old 2nd August 2012, 10:44   #40

Member Review: Deepak Dongre compares the 200NS, CBR250R and 200 Duke | Motoroids

Hope this helps !
Old 2nd August 2012, 22:04   #41

Well we are in a similar boat as I am also contemplating a bike and in late 20's. Have last driven Karizma till 2008 and now relocated to Pune and need for a bike has risen. Below are few cents from my resaerch as buying a bike for me has to do with passion and love for the 2 wheels. Pardon me as the list is different from what you mentioned-

Requirement in decreasing order-
  • Safety
  • Handling
  • Power
  • Comfort
  • After sales & reliability
  • styling
Contenders-

Apache RTR 180 ABS- Scores well on safety (ABS), handling and power and upto an extent on comfort. Have ridden Fiero so bike felt at home at once. Vibrations at mid and high RPM's and indifferent after sales from TVS might be an issue.

Pulsar 200 NS- Best VFM, at 94 Lacs OTR you get full 7 BHP more than Apache. Looks great and ride and handling are precise and accurate. What I don't like is the engine sound (improvement over previous gen pulsars, but pulsar none the less). Exclusion of ABS is also a detterent.

DUKE- A big toy, so you can have fun with it. Cannot be driven relaxed and bad pillion seat. No No for me.

CBR- Well not much difference in feel between Karizma and CBR, especially at low RPM. Nice and comfortable, but found bulky in traffic specially taking a U turn. Cost with ABS goes upto 1.94 lacs OTR in Pune is kind of a set back.

Yamaha R15 V2- Pillion seat was a floor apart with no test drive available on the D day. Moved on!

Yamaha FZ- Well for me bike has all but substance. Very low mid range torque was the biggest turn off. All in all there was not much in bike for me.

Ninja 250R- Well no comparison, but as I am planning to buy a bike for myself and not for an auto magzine comparison survey I am putting it here. No ABS- so what??. 250 CC at 3.20 Lac OTR Pune- so what?? It's a dual pot engine and is a NINJA so I am ready to compromise on my criteria (in comparison to ABS ). Test ride on an ill fated, unmaintained, rubbish bike was an eye opener. But I seriously felt that bikehas little to offer at low RPMs. I will be spending 95% of my time in city so not sure if it would have been a sane decision. Also the experience with Probiking was not up to the mark, below are the lowlights-

Ninja was the only bike in my mind and I called up Probiking Pune. Lady was corteous and and offered test ride at premises. I agreed, but nothing turned up for a week. Asked the concerned sales guy who in turn told that bike has gone for servicing. Waited for couple of days and went to the showroom. Salesperon seems to be the most disinterested to sell, chap I have ever seen. Bike was in patethic conditions and test drive was awful. Told them to call me when the bike is ready and I will do the booking, but here comes the boomerang- "Bike (servicing) is maintained by Bajaj folks so not sure when"?? Well it would have been better for that guy to not to offer the test ride citing showroom policy and I would have been riding Ninja by now. Wrote to bajaj (thought of asking Rahul Bajaj to get the servicing done). They responded that they will arrange for the ride but nothing happened. Got a call from an over agressive gentleman saying that company does not provide on the door test drive, to which I said-

But they do provide assurance of test drives at premises???

He said he will do something and closed my complain. I waited but nothing happened and later I also decided to move on as spending 3.20 lacs on a bike is bit too much as per my current financial state.

Well at present, I am still atleast 2 months away from the purchase and expectantly waiting for some more quarter liters to hit the roads. Suzuki 250R, FZ and FAZER in 250cc avtars are keeping the hopes alive.

Maddy
Old 3rd August 2012, 14:51   #42

Hey Raj, the CBR is the one for you. You have already ruled out the KTM, the Pulsar shares its underpinnings with the KTM, so there won't be too much of a difference between the two in terms of riding dyneamics, except the pulsar has a softer suspension and a better pillion seat. The KTM is race inspired and is brilliant at that. A tourer is probably what you are looking at and hence the CBR. BTW th CBR can give the KTM a run
for its money, but in a more laidback kind of a way while the KTM is more in your face. Don't even consider the pulsar if your budget allows you to choose in between the other two.

Originally Posted by revv_maniac;28TM54100
Its during those weekends, when you want to feel the man - machine magic, I take my RE Bullet out and keep thumping around aimlessly for a couple of hours and venture outside the city. No mad rush traffic handling is a left shifting non disc brake Bullets is all about. If that is what you are looking at then consider CBR 250. It's a mean task to haul the CBR around the traffic with its fairing.
Hey revv_maniac, on the contrary the CBR is quite nimble in traffic, it is just the case of getting used to the fairing extending in front. It is as bulky as riding a bullet through traffic, but nimbler. Can say this because have been riding a T-bird for the last 9 years before moving on to the CBR.

Nothing to beat the two-strokes though, had a shogun in my college days, but that's a different story. Nice idea for a new thread.
Old 3rd August 2012, 23:19   #43

This is an interesting thread. I'm in a similar situation myself. I sold my Pulsar and Bullet a little over a year ago because of back issues and been driving a car ever since. But the lure of things on 2 wheels keeps bringing me back to biking threads.

I'd recommend the CBR among the ones you are looking at since it's a tourer and would be more comfortable (most likely).

If comfort is one of your primary requirements, I'd also recommend checking out cruisers. Once I started riding a Bullet I couldn't go back to my Pulsar (for longer rides). I've found the Avenger to be a decent bike, although its not in the same category that you are looking at.

Last edited by navin : 21st January 2019 at 16:13. Reason: typos and formatting
Old 4th August 2012, 00:35   #44

Pulsar 200 NS! Fast, Stable & agile, Comfortable, Great blend of Fun & Practical! You can't have a better overall bike under 2 lakhs
Old 6th August 2012, 20:15   #45

Recently read an article about 30 as the proper age when one attain serious maturity in all walks of life. Myself approaching 30, I too feel the same sometimes. This is the age when you serious think about quality (read Honda). May be early twenties can go take the naked street bikes like Duke or NS moreso bcoz one isnt too worried about money as such and just wants to rush around the city with lots of eye grabbing maneuvers and hep styling.

Duke as such i dont personally like the looks. NS, i donno still the Bajaj brand comes into mind having owned Bajaj bikes for almost 12-15 yrs yrs incl. 4S Champion, P150, P150 DTSi and P220 DTSi. So I just cant take it for granted at this point of time.

So based on the fact that you are 32 yrs old, budget not being an issue, I would strongly recommend CBR250 as a mature decision.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com