Team-BHP > Motorbikes
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 18th January 2015, 18:11   #1
Senior - BHPian

KTM RC 390 vs Kawasaki Ninja 300

This might be a totally odd thread because it really is very difficult for me to choose between these 2 bikes. First of all I have been into cars all my life and this is the first time I'm dipping my foot into the Motorbike world , not really sure why now (maybe it's just to overcome my mid life crisis).

So on one side I'm just beginning to learn how to ride my friends Pulsar 150 and on the other I'm trying really hard to decide on which bike I really want between the RC390 and Ninja 300. Obviously for most the choice is easy as, if you have the cash , just plonk it on the Ninja 300 , simple and end of story , but it isn't !

Here's what I'm looking for in a bike with my priorities stated first.

1) Good looks.
2) Very good power.
3) ABS and Exclusivity.
4) Comfort and good built quality.
5) A proper Exhaust.
6) Easy and cheaper to service.
7) ABS (since I'm a beginner).
8 ) Good resale( incase I decide to sell if this isn't my cup of tea )
9 ) Refinement.
10) Value for money.

Based on my requirements both bikes are a hit and a miss. The thing is the RC 390 costs 2.45 lakhs and to fit the Akrapovic Exhaust with the tune would bring the cost to 3.5 Lakhs close to the Ninja 300 which costs 4 lakhs (but would also make the RC390 more powerful).

The Ninja 300 then fits the bill for the best beginner bike but it doesn't , because it does not have one very important safety feature which is ABS and it isn't as powerful as the RC 390 even after spending more cash. Also I read on many forums that it's very difficult to get spare parts for the Ninja as parts are not available easily.

Both bikes look good but I like the Ninjas a little better and it's better built too.