Old 17th December 2020, 09:09   #16

re: What should I do with my Yamaha RX135?

If it can be stored for long periods of time after taking due precautions, like draining the fluids and covering in a dry place, then please hold on to it. 2 strokes are getting a revival of interest now a days and as @AP mentioned , RX135 is top of the list. I am not sure if it is a 4 gear or 5 gear version. 5 Gear versions are a big time favorites in KA and KL and would easily find a buyer. Besides a running , stock RX135 with all OEM parts go well beyond 35K. if finance is not that much of a problem , then i would advise you to just store it for a while.

350CC thumpers provide no thrill like the good old 2S pocket rockets like RX100/135.
srini1785 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 17th December 2020, 12:01   #17

Re: What should I do with my Yamaha RX135?

Take it from someone who was in the same boat wrt to a college-use Shogun. I loved that bike and it was my life for 10 years. But after riding the newer bikes, I realized that it's time has passed ('real' bikers, please excuse- for you guys I know the 'legendary' 25+ year old Indian 2-strokes are better than even modern superbikes! ).

Sadly I kept the bike instead of selling it with the vague hope of 'restoring' it 'someday'...and it's still rotting away at home under sheets! Still getting inquiries, but since they are mainly from kids who I'm am sure will not bother to transfer the registration and I really don't have the time to do that myself, am just keeping it. (An old friend says he'll take it up, so will probably give it to him for free, since he's someone I can trust.)

So my suggestion is since there are several 'real bikers' or smart operators (who will buy the bike off you and sell it to a 'real biker') who are willing to pay a lot for the legendary 2-strokes, sell it.

If you do decide to keep it, run it at least once a week. However carefully you try to keep it under covers or sheets, it will degrade over time.

Last edited by am1m : 17th December 2020 at 12:02.
Old 17th December 2020, 12:06   #18

If I were you, I wouldnt have sold the bike and would have bought the 350cc bike anyways.

35 K will be 20% percent of your new bike price. You anyway have to put in a lot if money from pocket.

Even if you are not an enthusiast, this bike is on its way to be a vintage bike and with clear papers they value could be great.

I have a similar First Gen CBZ, but I have somehow managed to lose my papers.

I am never selling or scrapping that bike. Just loved the riding position of that bike, no other bike even came close. EVER!
2000rpm is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2020, 19:27   #19

Thank you genial gents for writing a reply to my morbid dilemma. I'm afraid I'm still in two minds. I will chew on each of your inputs tonight. Then, a clearer picture could emerge!
Old 17th December 2020, 20:44   #20

Originally Posted by Dressellian View Post
Thank you genial gents for writing a reply to my morbid dilemma. I'm afraid I'm still in two minds. I will chew on each of your inputs tonight. Then, a clearer picture could emerge!
Yep, take your time.

Even I own a RX135. In my case, I don't use my bike much at all.. Hardly few kms a month. And this is the perfect bike for such occasional usage. No need of regular oil change service. All you have to do is fill fuel/oil and make sure tyre pressure is correct. Even if you come back to it after a month, just few kicks all it takes for it to come back to life![and it starts in very first kick if i've ridden it in that week]. It's been almost 3+ years that my bike has been to a mechanic. Again my usage is very limited and mostly within the city. Hence I find it perfect for my use case.

Other day I got to ride my cousin's Apache [160 i guess]. I found the engine really peppy and the bike light and easy to use + great headlight compared to candle light of RX. I felt I could get used to modern machines pretty easily and I know I'll like it if I have to use them regularly.

So if I were in your position where I need to use bike more often and for commute - my suggestion would be to get a new bike. And keep the RX135 for those fun rides - only if you like the the charm of 2 strokes, petite, light weight bikes [as every other bike out there is heavy/tall].
somspaple is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2020, 21:27   #21

I'm afraid I'm still in two minds. I will chew on each of your inputs tonight. Then, a clearer picture could emerge!
We are here to add more fuel to your confusion

Ok, let me sum up all the previous suggestions

1) Keep aside the RX and purchase another motorbike of your choice, IF
- Space and money is not a constraint
- You have sentimental attachments or soft corner towards the bike
- Fear of regretting later
- Prefer to have cheap thrills later
- You could spend time with this bike (not just riding, regular maintenance as well. Believe me, unused bike requires more TLC than a frequently used one. Speaking from my own experience)

You may decide to go for a full restoration or only necessary repairs to keep it running.

2) Retain, but Handover
- Give the bike to someone who is reliable and willing to take care of it
- By this, bike is still retained and put on regular use also you can get it back whenever required

3) Sell it
- If by all means you decided to sell the bike, sell it to the one who will own & use it and not make a business out of it
- Few people see RX only as a profit making commodity and because of this crowd genuine bikers couldn't get the bike or spares at right price
- RX has much better market in KL & KA, but make sure you get a genuine buyer who will transfer the ownership immediately (you should spend some time and money to get NOC) Believe me, within close circle we faced worst experience in selling a bike outside TN, buyer lost the RC (or he claims so) and the bike without papers and without ownership transfer is doing rounds for years
- Once the bike is sold, never ever think of it (I know it's hard) otherwise you will end up with sleepless nights
Mr.Boss is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2020, 22:03   #22

From personal experience:

SELL IT!

My first bike was and remains my RC390 which I bought in the beginning of 2016 just after I had learnt how to ride a bike. Riding became such a joy for me that I began getting the itch for a 2-stroke, bought a Shogun in average condition. I rode the bike twice. It is collecting dust and a neighbor is asking if he can buy it for 30k. Chassis, tyres, brakes and damn nearly the whole way a bike rides has changed and it has changed for the better. The Shogun felt like a poorly made children's toy (this coming from the owner of a pre-facelift RC390).

Sell it quickly and buy a Duke390 (or atleast something of that nature)
IshaanIan is online now   (1) Thanks
Old 17th December 2020, 23:50   #23

What do you think? Should I renovate my mo-bike and keep it or sell it and buy a new 350cc?
Sell it and sell it to me at 36k .. 1k more than what is quoted to you!!!

It really is a difficult decision to take. Had I been in your shoes (premise is that I have been deprived of riding bikes for more than a decade now), I would hold on to it with my dear life!!
A small expense now will mean many miles of happiness. These two strokes breed die hard.

Logically speaking, sell it to me and you enjoy the the more modern breed, while I will survive with a not so new bike.
ObsessedByFIAT is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th December 2020, 00:08   #24

My advice is to keep the RX135 if the space/finance permits. Even superbikes cannot match the fun of two stroke bike in city use. After riding a high capacity bike, RX will feel like a bicycle. So, you can use its full potential. Further, it won't need service like the new generation bikes.
Vmax1200 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 18th December 2020, 12:31   #25

Originally Posted by Mr.Boss View Post
We are here to add more fuel to your confusion

Ok, let me sum up all the previous suggestions

1) Keep aside the RX and purchase another motorbike of your choice, IF
- Space and money is not a constraint
- You have sentimental attachments or soft corner towards the bike
- Fear of regretting later
- Prefer to have cheap thrills later
- You could spend time with this bike (not just riding, regular maintenance as well. Believe me, unused bike requires more TLC than a frequently used one. Speaking from my own experience)

You may decide to go for a full restoration or only necessary repairs to keep it running.

2) Retain, but Handover
- Give the bike to someone who is reliable and willing to take care of it
- By this, bike is still retained and put on regular use also you can get it back whenever required

3) Sell it
- If by all means you decided to sell the bike, sell it to the one who will own & use it and not make a business out of it
- Few people see RX only as a profit making commodity and because of this crowd genuine bikers couldn't get the bike or spares at right price
- RX has much better market in KL & KA, but make sure you get a genuine buyer who will transfer the ownership immediately (you should spend some time and money to get NOC) Believe me, within close circle we faced worst experience in selling a bike outside TN, buyer lost the RC (or he claims so) and the bike without papers and without ownership transfer is doing rounds for years
- Once the bike is sold, never ever think of it (I know it's hard) otherwise you will end up with sleepless nights

I'm sorry to hear about the bad experience you had while selling a motorcycle.
The harder it becomes to make a decision, clearer it is that both choices are more significant than they seem. So, I may not regret making either of the two decisions after all!
I'm leaning strongly toward keeping my mo-bike. For two reasons.
1. There's no space at home to park a new motorcycle.
2. Spending a fraction of a new motorcycle's cost, I can give my ride all the repairs he needs. After a couple of years, I can come back to this question.
Old 18th December 2020, 13:37   #26

2. Spending a fraction of a new motorcycle's cost, I can give my ride all the repairs he needs. After a couple of years, I can come back to this question.
Remember that whatever you spend to bring your RX135 in shape for the next few years will be totally offset by how much more expensive a new bike will become by then. I feel you should borrow modern 300cc+ bikes from friends or do a few extended test rides. You might realise that the RX135 simply isn't special enough to keep (sentimental value aside). Infact I would say even the MT-15 would feel like a justifiable choice.
IshaanIan is online now   (2) Thanks
Old 19th December 2020, 10:47   #27

. The mechanic is willing to buy the motorcycle for around 35K.

?
Firstly, he is offering you peanuts. Here in Kerala, a restored Yamaha, preferably RX 100 but RX 135 also works, sells for 1 lac+ if it has proper papers.
You can get your vehicl restored and in mint condition in approx 25-30k. So if you decide to sell, aim for atleast 50k in the current condition of the vehicle.

We have one at home and have kept it as a vintage specimen. Will never sell it as we do have the space to park it in my parents house in my hometown.

Having said that, recently I started riding it as I'm working from hometown now, and I was heartbroken. That instant acceleration about which I had fond memories was nothing in front of new gen motorbikes. I still like the nimbleness and agility of the bike while riding in city roads. Otherwise, older motorbikes are best to be kept as a vintage specimen which you occassionally ride.

PS: The best part was that I kick started it after nearly 2 years and in 5-6 kicks it just started and business as usual. No new gen bike will do that.

Last edited by Lambydude : 19th December 2020 at 10:51.
Lambydude is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 19th December 2020, 11:15   #28

If you can afford to keep it, I would recommend not to sell it for a mere 35k!

From what you have said, your bike seems to be in running condition anyhow. You can hold it for few more months and better restore only once it's required. Otherwise just get the mechanicals sorted out (if any) and use it for errands. Or for a Sunday morning ride!

It will be so easy for you to sell a 2 stroke at 35k in this day and age. But if in case you wish to buy one later you will have to shell out at least a lakh rupee or more to get a good one. So think twice before you sell it off. My recommendation would be get a H'ness 350 and keep this beauty alongside.
kamilharis is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2020, 11:40   #29

I have been riding a Yamaha RX135 for close to fifteen years now. It is as peppy as ever.

My mechanic is a Yamaha specialist, and he has done everything he can to enliven the spirit of the ride.

I am torn between a half hearted desire to spend a small fortune renovating and keeping my mo-bike and a rather practical decision to sell it and buy a new 350cc. Practical because I have become bigger (body size) over the last decade, and also because a 350cc will be a more ideal motorcycle to tour with.
It is very clear you need a bigger bike for your daily running from what you have stated !

However if you have space (could also be in your hometown/ parental property) and money is not a factor, retain it. You could occasional take a ride on it whenever the nostalgia kicks in.

The fact that you created this thread means you don't want to sell it and that your in a confused state of mind over it.
TrackDay is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 19th December 2020, 11:54   #30

What do you think? Should I renovate my mo-bike and keep it or sell it and buy a new 350cc?
I would like to go with the general sentiment on the thread and advise you to keep the RX 135, unless you have parking space issues or you're in dire need of cash. Upkeep of the motorcycle is not going to be expensive at all. Depending on your need, you may decide to go for a 300+ cc motorcycle for touring.

Off topic: Noticed that you're a fellow BHPian from Vellore. Tried PMing you, but looks like the feature is not operational as you're a new member. Would love to catch up in person and discuss your dilemma!

Last edited by Geo_Ipe : 19th December 2020 at 12:23.
Geo_Ipe is offline   (1) Thanks