Old 21st April 2012, 15:26   #226

Re: Indian Two Wheelers that flopped

Originally Posted by powertwin View Post
Thanks Anjan Ji for your compliments!!
you asked>> Does it still have the self starter and battery?
Here you go...

and now
SPORTIF - YouTube
If i'm not mistaken, you have 2 Sportifs? one with a blue chassis and silver Exteriors, and the other one vice versa? I desperately need some spares for restoring my dad's Sportif. So if you have any spares handy, then please let me know.
Also, i need a few spares for my Suvega as well.

Cheers!!

Last edited by Micki9559 : 21st April 2012 at 15:52.
Old 21st April 2012, 15:55   #227

Originally Posted by yamdoot View Post
Powertwin Sir amazing immaculate SPORTIF there. I think it must be the only one left in India. I used to love it in my childhood days.. the self start, mag wheels the modern design..
Do you have the CADI 50 too?
You are Wrong here!! I Myself have two Sportifs, and soon to acquire another
two. Also, There was a cadi 50 In a mechanic's shop near my friend's house,
Let me see if i can find out more about it.
Old 22nd April 2012, 23:57   #228

Originally Posted by Micki9559 View Post
If i'm not mistaken, you have 2 Sportifs? one with a blue chassis and silver Exteriors, and the other one vice versa? I desperately need some spares for restoring my dad's Sportif. So if you have any spares handy, then please let me know.
Also, i need a few spares for my Suvega as well**.

Cheers!!
Not 2 , I had 4 sportifs, 3 Silver colored and a Blue colored !!!
While restoring my Sportif which is with & will be me for ever, all sorts of Parts shuffling was done and finally 3 of them was made to run...one Blue thing was missing few cosmetic parts & a self starter , whose papers yet to reach our hands .
2 silver color running condition Mopeds was passed on to our own Tbhpians ( two different owners...they are still working on the cosmetics till now)
The Blue one ,though in starting condition ( Kick start only) missing some vital parts was passed on to another local friend.it doesn't have papers as on date
AS those pics which you pointed out was clicked during my Sportif's restoration..if you observe it once again..you can see two different job is been carried in the respective pics.
About my Sportif The list documents I have are:-
1) Vehicle order form--
2) Copy of the Reminder letter to the dealer, asking the time of delivery.
3) Letter from the dealer to the buyer , informing the arrival of the moped & final price details
4) original Invoice
5) accessories fitment bill ( some utility box & stuff)
& 6) R.C book & Life time Insurance papers.
Now 'am the proud owner of this Sportif
** you asked about Suvega parts!!
Plz PM me your requirements..will try my best to source them
regards,
KMK
ps: One of the silver Karnataka registered Sportif, which was passed on to our tbhpian, was his family property which was sold way long before 2 decades..how is that??
Old 23rd April 2012, 00:03   #229

You are Wrong here!! I Myself have two Sportifs, and soon to acquire another
two. Also, There was a cadi 50 In a mechanic's shop near my friend's house,
Let me see if i can find out more about it.
Hi Micki,
Eagerly waiting to see your SPORTIF s here in the Forum!!
If Cadi50 is posted after you acquiring that.....i will be the happiest man along with our fellow bhpians
Cheers!!
KMK
ps: For sure if i come across any Sportif parts...will jet you know!!
Old 23rd April 2012, 00:04   #230

Not 2 , I had 4 sportifs, 3 Silver colored and a Blue colored !!!
While restoring my Sportif which is with & will be me for ever, all sorts of Parts shuffling was done and finally 3 of them was made to run...one Blue thing was missing few cosmetic parts & a self starter , whose papers yet to reach our hands .
That is Simply Awesome!! Do You Have a couple of Spare Indicators For my Sportif? And, i also need the Right side handle bar switch(My dad got it changed thanx to the suggestion of some local mechanic.) As for the Above Stuff Which you mentioned, Even i Have all Of that!! All thanx to My Dad's being a very careful and well organised Person!!

I need a Chain and Sprocket kit for my Suvega, and Also the Driven Pulley.
I used to use the Suvega Regularly until 2008, Then the chain and sprocket wore out,
So i was forced to stop using it.
Let me know if these are available.

Last edited by GTO : 24th April 2012 at 13:18. Reason: Please quote ONLY the relevant bits of a post. Quoting an entire long message inconveniences our mobile users
Old 23rd April 2012, 00:23   #231

Is the Blue Sportif by any chance Available for purchase without the papers??
i Need some cosmetic stuff like side covers, meter, etc. let me know.
Also, i would very much like to own a Blue Sportif, Since it is My Favourite Colour!!
Old 23rd April 2012, 00:39   #232

My Soon to be acquired Kinetic Spark DX And 1966 Jawa.
Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-20120422_110659_56.jpg  

Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-20120422_110721_961.jpg  

Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-20120422_110530_691.jpg  

Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-20120422_110558_381.jpg  

Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-20120422_110612_394.jpg  

Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-20120422_110638_288.jpg  

Old 23rd April 2012, 07:37   #233

Re: Mayuram Moped !!!

Do I see a hit of a expansion chamber on this little flea???
Old 23rd April 2012, 21:19   #234

That Kinetic sport looks good.

Doesn't look like there is too much involved. Are you going to start a build thread.
Old 25th April 2012, 01:14   #235

Originally Posted by allana13 View Post
That Kinetic sport looks good.

Doesn't look like there is too much involved. Are you going to start a build thread.
Yep!! Will start a thread as soon as i pick it up. currently waiting for the owner, since he is abroad. (what an irony! isn't it? )
Old 27th April 2012, 18:05   #236

Yep!! Will start a thread as soon as i pick it up. currently waiting for the owner, since he is abroad. (what an irony! isn't it? )
Man.. You have got a great collection going.. Kindly help out another fellow enthusiast..

Priyadarshan
Old 17th July 2012, 20:04   #237

When the two stepthroughs from Honda (Street) and Kinetci (K4 100) were simultaneously launched hoping they will be best sellers. The scooter market was dwindling then and it was all bikes and bikes with mopeds and scooterettes also having a slice of the market pie. So as an alternative to the scooter, the manufacturers thought that maybe these will repeat their success story of South East Asia. Indeed, such stepthroughs are very popular since the early 1960's in South East Asian countries.

This is a thread dedicated to the Honda Cub:-

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/motorb...years-old.html

Back to the topic, the picture below of the twosome launched in India belied all the expectations of the manufacturers and both these flopped.

Indian Two Wheelers that flopped-picture-119.jpg
Old 19th December 2013, 19:49   #238

Originally Posted by yamdoot View Post
does anyone remember the PEGEUOT SPORTIF and ARVIND BENELLI scooter?
Arvind Benelli scooter?
where is this manufacturer from?
can we have pictures
Old 20th December 2013, 11:53   #239

Originally Posted by antariksh View Post
Arvind Benelli scooter?
where is this manufacturer from?
can we have pictures
The Arvind Benelli scooter never made it to the market. It was launched with a lot of fan fair. It was a collaboration with Benelli of Italy and Lalbhai Group of India, the project never took off though the scooters were tested and lot of PR work was done at that point of time. The company was liquidated in 2005.

Its very unlikely that you will find any pictures on the net as it was before the Internet age, unless someone has brochure of the same lying around. If I recall correctly, there were 2 models on offer, one in metal body and the other in plastic body. It had one way clutch system and was suppose to make 10.5 bhp vs. the Kinetic Honda 7.7 bhp.
PratikPatel is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 20th December 2013, 17:54   #240

I think Bajaj XCD deserves to be on this list. Launched with huge expectations of replacing the Splendor, attempt number 1e100 from Bajaj, they stopped the bread winner CT100 (which replaced the workhorse Boxer) which again is a potential candidate for flop. Let us not get carried away by the sales in first few months. This XCD which came a million problems, the infamous false-gear problem, was hardly a decent bike and it was 4th 125cc bike from Bajaj after KB125, Wind125, and Discover 125. Bajaj wanted to make more profits by replacing CT100 with XCD. I am one of those victims who ended up buying XCD.
PNTLovesNano is offline   (1) Thanks