Old 29th January 2016, 10:41   #991

re: BMW 320d & 328i (F30) : Official Review

Sometimes there is a creaking noise from the steering at very slow speeds

Also I feel that the engine noise has grown louder almost raspy

Irritating to face this within 2500km & 3 months of ownership
My car has run 1,100 kms, and I haven't faced both theses problems yet. Will keep any eye out.
Old 29th January 2016, 10:52   #992

Originally Posted by ramb View Post
Thanks for the information. Will keep this in mind when negotiating.
The sales representatives do not give any hint of discounts when i enquire about the 3 series.
Originally Posted by reignofchaos View Post
~11lac was the figure on the sportsline/luxury line. Around 7lac on the prestige.
These discounts are now gone and were only for the month of Nov-Dec as BMW was supporting dealers in discounting. Since most stock is cleared, there is very little support from BMW hence last I checked in Jan first week the discounts were barely 5 lakhs.
However, if you do find a dealer offering 10-11 lakhs even now, do let me know. That's the only way I will consider buying this car, I find it very overpriced otherwise.

But in all probability, I might opt for the upcoming new X1. It seems like it will deliver great value for a better price. Most international reviews have suggested that it is a better package than the 3 series. However, if driving dynamics is priority then the 3 series wins hands down.
Sahil is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th January 2016, 12:56   #993

But in all probability, I might opt for the upcoming new X1. It seems like it will deliver great value for a better price. Most international reviews have suggested that it is a better package than the 3 series. However, if driving dynamics is priority then the 3 series wins hands down.
I heard from the BMW rep that the new X1 will only be offered in front wheel drive configuration, but will come fully loaded with features.

Also there will not be much of a increase in price since they save costs by offering front-wheel drive config.

Strategy is similar to current MB GLA class in India.
Old 29th January 2016, 13:05   #994

Originally Posted by bharatbs View Post
I heard from the BMW rep that the new X1 will only be offered in front wheel drive configuration, but will come fully loaded with features.

Also there will not be much of a increase in price since they save costs by offering front-wheel drive config.

Strategy is similar to current MB GLA class in India.
X1 which will come will be X-Drive. But it will be on demand, and otherwise a FWD until detects power needs to be transferred to the rear wheels.
Old 29th January 2016, 22:59   #995

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
However, if you do find a dealer offering 10-11 lakhs even now, do let me know. That's the only way I will consider buying this car, I find it very overpriced otherwise.
A friend was looking for the same. Around 15 days back, he was being offered a luxury line for ~32 lakhs IIRC. This was from a Gurgaon Dealer. If possible do check it out once if you are looking for offers.
Old 29th January 2016, 23:24   #996

Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
These discounts are now gone and were only for the month of Nov-Dec as BMW was supporting dealers in discounting. Since most stock is cleared, there is very little support from BMW hence last I checked in Jan first week the discounts were barely 5 lakhs.

Yep not sure what the discount now is. Those figures were for 2015 models at the end of dec when I was shopping. I was offered 10.5 from Navnit personally without bargaining. However I was not interested in the 3 in the end.
Old 18th February 2016, 09:53   #997

Hello. My car is completing its first year and its time to renew the insurance and secure. My running is quite less-around 8000 km a year. I have taken the bsi of course. Which insurance company is preferable-ICICI or Bajaj alliance? i am planning to take the baseline secure.
Old 28th February 2016, 09:05   #998

Dear All

I am being offered a demo(TD) car 320d LL for 32 OTR . The car is a Aug'15 regd model with <10k on the ODO.
The car has original warranty till Aug'17. I am planning to purchase extended (2+) 4 year warranty for ~2.05 Lacs which will cover the car till Aug'21.
I intend to keep the car for 6-7 years and am keen to take the 5 or 6 year BSI pack but the Used Car Head has advised me not to plonk the additional money upfront stating the following:
- Routine expenses would be 25-30 K per year , while major services (incl brake pad changes etc.) will be 85-80k. (maybe 2-3 times in 5 years)
- A 5 year/100kms plan comes at ~ 4.4 Lacs , which works out to 90k per year (without considering interest /returns on upfront investment.).
- Major components will get anyway covered under the Repair inclusive plan (2+4) that I plan to take.

This will be my 1st pre-owned/luxury car - Please advise on whether the car/deal makes sense and also on whether I should still consider the BSI pack.
Plan to close the deal in a day or two so any urgent advice will be greatly appreciated.
Old 28th February 2016, 12:17   #999

Originally Posted by FAIAAA View Post
Dear All

I am being offered a demo(TD) car 320d LL for 32 OTR . The car is a Aug'15 regd model with <10k on the ODO.
The car has original warranty till Aug'17. I am planning to purchase extended (2+) 4 year warranty for ~2.05 Lacs which will cover the car till Aug'21.
I intend to keep the car for 6-7 years and am keen to take the 5 or 6 year BSI pack but the Used Car Head has advised me not to plonk the additional money upfront stating the following:
- Routine expenses would be 25-30 K per year , while major services (incl brake pad changes etc.) will be 85-80k. (maybe 2-3 times in 5 years)
- A 5 year/100kms plan comes at ~ 4.4 Lacs , which works out to 90k per year (without considering interest /returns on upfront investment.).
- Major components will get anyway covered under the Repair inclusive plan (2+4) that I plan to take.

This will be my 1st pre-owned/luxury car - Please advise on whether the car/deal makes sense and also on whether I should still consider the BSI pack.
Plan to close the deal in a day or two so any urgent advice will be greatly appreciated.
Not a good deal !

There are preowned F30 320d's available for 25-30L Price range.

Its better to pick a used car with 20k+ kms on the clock driven by 1or2 drivers than to pick up a demo/TD car with <10k kms which has been probably driven by at least a 100 people & driven pedal to metal & tested for ride quality by prospective buyers over bad surfaces or the odd pot hole.

All the best

Last edited by karan561 : 28th February 2016 at 12:23.
karan561 is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 28th February 2016, 15:01   #1000

As others said, stay away from used demo cars. They are abused a lot. Look for something like these-

Option 1

Option 2

Do get a used car inspected before making a deal. All the best!

Shreyak

Last edited by shreyak_ss : 28th February 2016 at 15:02.
Old 14th March 2016, 12:15   #1001

Originally Posted by sinhsha View Post
I am facing a strange issue. Whenever i am doing high beam and then dip right side xenon stays in high. Then if i honk it is coming down. Took to osl kolkata. They reinstalled the complete software. Now the problem reduced 50%. Meaning that 50% times both lights dipping ok but 50% time right side stays at high. They offered to change right headliggt assembly under bsi. But i am sure problem is somewhere else. Anybody faced similar issue?

Hey what's ur say about OSL prestige service centre, a friend says that their service centre is not up to the mark and are a ripoff, pls shed some light as am considering to buy a used one and worried about the service centre services.
Old 16th March 2016, 01:54   #1002

Osl prestige service is a hit or miss. Some visit were awesome and some were horrible. If you are considering buying used PM me. I can give you some independent garages in kolkata who can take care of your driving machine
Old 10th May 2016, 16:45   #1003
CGB

http://www.autocarindia.com/auto-new...ol-401811.aspx Petrol BMW's are back!

320i - 2.0-litre TwinPower Turbo four-cylinder petrol motor that pumps out 184hp and 270Nm of torque

520i- powered by the same 184hp 2.0-litre TwinPower turbo-petrol motor as on 320i
Old 14th May 2016, 11:49   #1004

Need your advice, I am based in Bangalore and looking at a friend's 320d prestige 2012 manufacturing and 13 Feb registered silver car, it has done 48k kms he is the second owner. Recently changed to tubeless Michelin p3st and all 4 brake pads changed.

Will the maintainanace costs be too high on a 48k run car? My driving style is aggressive and I cover 12k a year, approx 40% in the city and rest highway. No extended warranty or BSI has been taken.

Chetan
Old 14th May 2016, 12:38   #1005

Hi guys !
So I was in a bit of a BMW dilemma so posting it on here. I was actually looking at the new X1 but it is coming out to be at 42 on road here for the xline fwd. I got offered a 320d 2015 luxury line stock car (new car) for 41. The dealer I feel would go down to 38-39 on the same but probably wont budge on the X1. I have no preference on a SUV/sedan. I am not a quick driver either. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.