Old 21st August 2016, 09:20   #46

Re: Ford Mustang 5.0 V8 GT : Official Review

For all those complaining about how the Mustang is 20 lacs overpriced, consider the iPhone. It's just plastic, tin and glass,made in China and yet people happily pay some 20k over a similarly specced smartphone. Same logic here. A Mustang is a Mustang is a Mustang! Can't compare it with a diesel saloon can we?
Also consider the v8. With a real world economy of 4kmpl it's very expensive to run. In about 3 years a used Mustang should be available for 35 lacs or so..a steal then.
apachelongbow is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2016, 02:33   #47

Originally Posted by apachelongbow View Post
For all those complaining about how the Mustang is 20 lacs overpriced, consider the iPhone. It's just plastic, tin and glass,made in China and yet people happily pay some 20k over a similarly specced smartphone. Same logic here. A Mustang is a Mustang is a Mustang! Can't compare it with a diesel saloon can we?
Also consider the v8. With a real world economy of 4kmpl it's very expensive to run. In about 3 years a used Mustang should be available for 35 lacs or so..a steal then.
Well said! Don't know what all the fuss about Mustang being too pricey is. Lot of other cars are. Not just Mustang.

Excellent review. A welcome change from boring Germans which have become too common over the years. But personally, I like Camaro more. Wish GM could consider bringing that one here. Not that I have moolah to pick one up. Still. That's the thing with super cars. Even if you don't own, you still feel good watching them roar by. And this fun is free.
pgsagar is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 22nd August 2016, 13:27   #48

End of the day its between mind and heart. Any one with deep pockets, who has a liking for a true Americal muscle available here will go for it, and the one who things that it is not logical will step away. Its a pleasure Vs comfort game that the mind plays with the prospect buyer. Neverthless, its certain that where ever this goes will make the heads turn and people would love to see as to who is driving it.
RAPTOR-XUV is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th August 2016, 11:46   #49

You buy a Mustang cos you want a Mustang. Not cos you want a/any fast/sports car.

Not seen one on the roads yet. But I know for a fact that I am going to get goose-flesh the first time or in fact, the first few times I see it on the road.

On a different note, will these cars be serviced by the same dealers who do the other Ford cars? Can the cars be dropped off at any Ford dealer in the country for service? Are all of these guys equipped to handle the Mustang? Hard to believe!
rkris is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 24th August 2016, 11:55   #50

Originally Posted by amansanc View Post
You can say that again! The first lot is already sold out. There are a lot of people around who wish to own something exclusive. Until the Mustang becomes common, this category of people will continue buying it.
Thanks for the info

Any idea on how many Mustangs is Ford planning to bring to India every month ?

Considering the demand for RHD variants in other countries like UK & Australia is high as well.

Last edited by karan561 : 24th August 2016 at 12:09.
Old 24th August 2016, 20:27   #51

Anyone know the crank configuration?

Sutripta
Old 24th August 2016, 20:29   #52

Originally Posted by Sutripta View Post
Anyone know the crank configuration?

Sutripta
This is the coyote engine which has a conventional crank configuration. It doesn't have the flat plane crank setup. That is there in the 5.2L Voodoo.
reignofchaos is offline   (2) Thanks
Old 24th August 2016, 22:24   #53

Originally Posted by Aditya View Post
What you won't:

• Exorbitant CBU pricing. 80 lakhs OTR is too much money for a Mustang

• No manual gearbox for India. 6-speed AT can get slow & confused

• Missing navigation, sunroof, full electric seats & steering adjustment, front parking sensors
Lovely detailed review, Addy!

Definitely agree. Rs. 80 lakhs isn't just too much money, it's a ridiculous price. Not worth it at all.

An AT muscle car works in the US where the majority population doesn't know how to change gears but in a country like India where the manual is still loved it doesn't make sense.
Especially, since, this isn't a Euro luxo barge to lug around an industrialist. This car will probably be a birthday or graduation present to the industrialist's son.

Plus, the missing navigation, parking sensors is just cheating.

I wouldn't waste money on this thing.

Looks like Ford is only banking on the Mustang label and a V8 engine to sell the car.
aah78 is offline   (3) Thanks
Old 25th August 2016, 12:17   #54

Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
This car will probably be a birthday or graduation present to the industrialist's son.
Which defeats the very purpose of this car !!! It is not VFM anymore.
I have seen one on road. The rear does not grab attention. But those tail lights do tell that this is a different car. Only once you overtake it and look in the rear view mirror you catch that super awesome front of this car. That grille. That iconic galloping horse. The car though is not a very long one. Normal sized. And the glossy red paint is something to be seen in real life. Any other color simply does not do justice to this machine.

In case you are wondering, yes you can overtake it in a Corolla. Traffic is a great leveller.
download2live is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th August 2016, 13:29   #55

Be certain that Corolla will be overtaken by an Auto. Bangalore traffic is unpredictable, still it commands few certainties, this is one of them

Originally Posted by download2live View Post
In case you are wondering, yes you can overtake it in a Corolla. Traffic is a great leveller.
p.s. apologies for off topic post, couldn't control it.
Old 25th August 2016, 13:44   #56

Not sure if you know, the iPhone IS overpriced in all markets vis-a-vis its competition. Its (considered) a premium product everywhere. In India, an already overpriced iPhone is priced at an even higher price which is just ridiculous.

However you might want to believe; the fact is, the Mustang is NOT a premium car anywhere. Its a VFM Muscle car. So for god sake, don't bring the iPhone comparison here. There's a separate thread for iPhone bashing.

If we go by "Market determines the price" then yes, Ford has all the rights to sell it for 80L. Because there's NO muscle car sold in India and some people are ready to pay for it. But don't give ridiculous comparisons and justifications. End of the day, even after 110% duty a Mustang (In the current trim) shouldn't cost 80L in India.
Old 25th August 2016, 14:30   #57

Originally Posted by kiku007 View Post
End of the day, even after 110% duty a Mustang (In the current trim) shouldn't cost 80L in India.
The 5.0L version starts at $32500 for the base manual transmission in USA. The auto transmission should cost more and add-on features should easily push the price beyond $40000. Lets take $40000 , add 110% duty and we are looking at $85000-90000.Taking today's dollar price at 67 rupees, the price translates to 60 lacs! The overhead of transportation, Rupee-dollar fluctuation has to be taken into account. Add all these and you see a figure close to 65 lac, which is the ex-showroom price. Another 15 lacs which you pay goes to Govt,insurance companies. Do you still think Ford has priced it wrong?
Now you can blame Ford for bringing it in CBU route. But lets assume Ford brings it as CKD, assembles here and price it at say 55-60 lac on-road. Now how many would buy a 2 seater Mustang, delivering 3-4 KM/L ? To break even,I feel Ford should sell at least 200 units a month and clearly there isn't a big market for such niche products in India. Hence CKD is not a viable option.
As I said earlier, Mustang is not a car to be compared with family sedans, compare it with likes of SL/6 series and Mustang does look VFM even in India.
PrideRed is offline   (4) Thanks
Old 25th August 2016, 14:43   #58

Originally Posted by aah78 View Post
I wouldn't waste money on this thing.

Looks like Ford is only banking on the Mustang label and a V8 engine to sell the car.
Unfortunately this is the case with almost all niche models in India. Think of the something like the Jeep Grand Cherokee, which is expected to cost in the vicinity of 75 lakhs for the V6 diesel! At least this got the Mustang label and the V8 engine
Old 25th August 2016, 15:50   #59

Originally Posted by PrideRed View Post
The 5.0L version starts at $32500 for the base manual transmission in USA. The auto transmission should cost more and add-on features should easily push the price beyond $40000. Lets take $40000 , add 110% duty and we are looking at $85000-90000.Taking today's dollar price at 67 rupees, the price translates to 60 lacs!
As per Ford USA website, the Detroit MSRP for a Mustang 5.0L GT Fastback 6 Speed Auto is USD 34,740. This even includes the USD 900 transportation charge to the dealer. Add 110% duty to this figure and its USD 71,400 or INR 47,83,800. Ex-showroom price in India is INR 65,00,000.

Pray tell me what options and transportation cost justifies the additional INR 17,16,200 or USD 25,614?

Note: The Auto transmission is a USD 1,195 or INR 80,000 option in USA.
Ford Mustang 5.0 V8 GT : Official Review-1.png  

Last edited by kiku007 : 25th August 2016 at 15:53.
kiku007 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 25th August 2016, 17:01   #60

Originally Posted by kiku007 View Post
As per Ford USA website, the Detroit MSRP for a Mustang 5.0L GT Fastback 6 Speed Auto is USD 34,740. This even includes the USD 900 transportation charge to the dealer. Add 110% duty to this figure and its USD 71,400 or INR 47,83,800. Ex-showroom price in India is INR 65,00,000.

Pray tell me what options and transportation cost justifies the additional INR 17,16,200 or USD 25,614?

Note: The Auto transmission is a USD 1,195 or INR 80,000 option in USA.
The one we get in India is GT fastback premium version which costs $4000 more than the one you mentioned. What about the Ford India margin,transport charges,Rupee-dollar conversions, Indian dealer margins?

Last edited by PrideRed : 25th August 2016 at 17:07.
PrideRed is offline   (2) Thanks