Team-BHP - Mahindra XUV700 Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Mahindra XUV700 Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/240680-mahindra-xuv700-review-305.html)

Zeus completed the first service. First service cost is Rs 235/- They charged only for the consumables.

AMPL Mahindra Guindy had my vehicle for two full days to do the software updates. In my entire car owning experience for the last two decades this is the first time I have left my car in workshop for 2 days. The answer I got from the service guys is they were overwhelmed with many XUV 700's and unable to manage delivery in a day.

It costed me Rs 944/- to paint both the ORVM's matching the body color of my Ax5. Why would manufacturers behave such miserly? I cannot fathom such practices.

Looks like most of the infotainment issues have been sorted out. Yet, the radio playing in loud volume is not sorted at Ignition on. It still persists. Upon checking with the guy who did the software updates he told me that he could come to my place and do the update again or I should come to workshop again. :Frustrati

Checked with the Service guys about the Android / Apple car play. They said by end of February or 1st week of March the update is expected and its almost confirmed it seems. Any news on this from rest of India? Kindly share.

I have also ordered for the rear parcel tray (Mine is a 5 seater) at the time of taking delivery of the vehicle. This is yet to get delivered to me. Upon following up multiple times, I am told that Mahindra is to deliver this by end of February.

I was told only the 4th year warranty is applicable when i took delivery of the XUV but I observed in the "With you Hamesha" app that they have 4&5th year warranty together. I am working with the Sales guys to get this done. They are cancelling the 4th year warranty taken and then will do it for both 4th and 5th year.

Noted few quirks in the vehicle.

1. The central locking can be opened while the vehicle is in motion and the speed sensitive lock will activate once the vehicle reduces to speeds less than 10 Km/h. In such a safety rich vehicle like XUV 700 I think this is a bummer. I have noticed in Creta you cannot open the central locking when the vehicle is in motion.

2. Instrument cluster doesn't have the radio option display as claimed in the owner's manual. At least in AX5. Other owners can chime in.

3. The drive time (time elapsed) is not constantly shown in the Instrument cluster in the drive info. Other vehicles like Creta displays the drive time/AFE/fuel range in a single screen. Mahindra can think about this and update the software with a fix.

Posting a pic of Zeus

Originally Posted by D_Security_Guy (Post 5253919)
An AWD owner shared this pic.
The MID displays the Torque Distribution.
Quite a thoughtful integration for this variant IMO! clap:

Good thing, Mahindra made something unique to the AWD variant

So I had the opportunity to drive the new XUV 700 in the P AT for a couple of airport runs in Hyderabad. I am not sure which variant it was but it had the 360 degree camera.

My impressions:

Overall, it seems like a great car and Mahindra has really stepped up it's game from the times of Bolero and Scorpio. If the service centre are as competent as the car, I think this should be the most value for money car out in the market as of now. With respect to the wait times, I now understand why there is such a huge demand! It absolutely makes sense, and worth the wait.

Originally Posted by zeus_700 (Post 5254110)
Zeus completed the first service. First service cost is Rs 235/- They charged only for the consumables.

Checked with the Service guys about the Android / Apple car play. They said by end of February or 1st week of March the update is expected and its almost confirmed it seems. Any news on this from rest of India? Kindly share.

Posting a pic of Zeus

The car looks super cool after the paint work 👍

They charged me around 400 for the first service in MM Motors,Iyappanthaangal. The work was good. They’ve updated the AdrenoX software and they’ve also done the flashing. It didn’t take 2 days though. Hardly 5,6 hours. Left the vehicle at 10 am and the vehicle was ready by 3.30 pm.

When I checked with the service personnel,he said the Android Auto,Apple CarPlay would be available by the end of this month. When I asked him how the demo vehicles managed to get Android Auto but not the sold XUVs,he said there were plenty of glitches in the previous AdrenoX versions with Android Auto and CarPlay and hence they had to wait for the bugs to be removed.

Originally Posted by Enthusiast81 (Post 5254250)
The car looks super cool after the paint work 👍

They charged me around 400 for the first service in MM Motors,Iyappanthaangal.

What have they charged you for?

The first service is absolutely free. I got my first service done in Mumbai where they re-torqued all nuts, did a full inspection of the vehicle, updated the software, and flashed the silver box and I had nothing to pay for the entire service including washing and interior vacuuming.

I have booked an xuv 700 ax7 L AWD diesel. After a long wait, I just did the PDI today! everything seemed ok and I am really excited to take delivery. The only thing is - I couldnt find the awd badging anywhere outside or inside the car. Is there an awd badge on the awd cars? Since the dealer didnt allow me to drive the car, I couldnt figure out how to tell the car is an awd car. Could some one please guide me how to tell the car is an awd or not?

Originally Posted by umberjogh (Post 5254409)
Could some one please guide me how to tell the car is an awd or not?

Congratulations on your car delivery clap:

The car doesn't have an AWD badge as confirmed by some of the BHPians who took the delivery.

As for the confirmation, all AWD XUVs have an AWD lock button beside the headlight leveler switch.

Also refer to this post. The car shows AWD torque distribution information even when the car is in Park mode.

Originally Posted by D_Security_Guy (Post 5253919)
An AWD owner shared this pic.
The MID displays the Torque Distribution.
Quite a thoughtful integration for this variant IMO! clap:

I am getting my XUV 700 AX5 delivered next week which has no 360 degree camera and no recording option. I want to buy dashcam recorder for both front and rear and have shortlisted few (around 7k). However, I read in this forum that in future Mahindra will provide option to install 360 degree camera to other variants. Now, I am in dilemma whether should I install now or wait little longer for Mahindra and look for that option. Not sure how expensive it would be or whether it will do the job of a dashcam recorder which can record even after vehicle is turned off. Any thoughts?

I have booked an xuv 700 ax7 L AWD diesel

Congratulations!! AWD badge is not coming with the car, so outside it's not distinguishable. You can put aftermarket badge. AWD button is available right side of the steering panel. You can refer bhpian Raghunath Singh post

Originally Posted by Raghunath Singh (Post 5250717)
I completed the PDI today for my XUV 7OO AX7L Diesel AT AWD. Everything looked in place and the dealer PPS

Originally Posted by UltraViolence (Post 5254439)
Congratulations on your car delivery clap:

The car doesn't have an AWD badge as confirmed by some of the BHPians who took the delivery.

As for the confirmation, all AWD XUVs have an AWD lock button beside the headlight leveler switch.

Also refer to this post. The car shows AWD torque distribution information even when the car is in Park mode.

Thanks! I had completed my pdi before seeing this post so didnt get a chance to put the car in park mode and fiddle around. Kinda sucks that there is no awd badge.

Originally Posted by Piyush_DT (Post 5254443)
I am getting my XUV 700 AX5 delivered next week which has no 360 degree camera and no recording option. I want to buy dashcam recorder for both front and rear and have shortlisted few (around 7k). However, I read in this forum that in future Mahindra will provide option to install 360 degree camera to other variants. Now, I am in dilemma whether should I install now or wait little longer for Mahindra and look for that option. Not sure how expensive it would be or whether it will do the job of a dashcam recorder which can record even after vehicle is turned off. Any thoughts?

Congratulations for the new car
I think the Mahindra option of 360° camera would be a much costlier affair as it'll possibly need replacement of orvms. Moreover we don't know for sure when and if it'll be available. A dashcam seems like a sensible choice under current condition:thumbs up
There's a separate thread for dashcam in team BHP

Originally Posted by MobilisAdvento (Post 5254444)
AWD button is available right side of the steering panel. You can refer bhpian Raghunath Singh post

Saw this a bit late. Will lookout for it during delivery thanks!

I have booked an xuv 700 ax7 L AWD diesel. Could some one please guide me how to tell the car is an awd or not?

Congrats.
Go and peep under the car. If you see a differential and drive shafts at the rear it definitely an AWD!
Btw please post what tyre size & brand the car is coming with.

Originally Posted by bill1182 (Post 5254300)
What have they charged you for?

The first service is absolutely free. I got my first service done in Mumbai where they re-torqued all nuts, did a full inspection of the vehicle, updated the software, and flashed the silver box and I had nothing to pay for the entire service including washing and interior vacuuming.

I am enclosing the invoice

Originally Posted by Enthusiast81 (Post 5254537)
I am enclosing the invoice

The First 1000km service is absolutely free and the service center must not charge you for labour.

From the invoice, it is evident that they have charged you for disposable covers and windshield washer fluid. This is a common con these service centers use to rip off the customers. In any case, they should have not charged you for the labour. Suggest, you must confront the service center for adding the labour charges to the invoice.

Since the vehicle is under warranty for 3 years, the customer is not supposed to pay for any labour charges for any repair which occurs due to any technical fault. If you have purchased the extended warranty, this condition would extend to the extended warranty period as well.

If you do not get a satisfactory response and refund of the amount charged towards labour, please write to Mahindra customer care and they will help you with this.