Team-BHP - Volkswagen Virtus Review

-   Official New Car Reviews (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/)
-   -   Volkswagen Virtus Review (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/official-new-car-reviews/251477-volkswagen-virtus-review-179.html)

Cross posting this from the Slavia thread, like @drive_in_peace posted for the Skoda Rear-seatbelt campaign Recall.

This is the link to check if your VW car is impacted and selected for a Rear Seatbelt recall: https://www.volkswagenlabs.co.in/app...ear-seatbelts/

Volkswagen India (A Division of Škoda Auto Volkswagen India Pvt. Ltd.) has announced a voluntary recall action to check and if required, replace the rear seat belts on select Volkswagen models manufactured during a particular period. The Authorized Dealers of Volkswagen India will undertake a proactive campaign and will perform necessary repairs, free of cost. The process will take approximately 3 hours.
Details are mentioned on the link, and you can enter your VIN Number to check.

Volkswagen Virtus Review-image-2.png

My car is also in the list.

In view of the seatbelt related recall, is it safe to safe this is an instance of QC gaps during manufacturing? While recalls are a worldwide occurrence, it is an avoidable activity.

VW is renowned for their manufacturing prowess. I wonder how they're internally handling such gaps.

Hi Everyone,

6 months over and the Wiper blades are making noise and the driver side has got a cut.

Checked with VW Gurgaon and they outrightly refused to change it during the 2nd free check up

The market is filled with cheap confusing alternatives and i wanted to ask fellow BHPians which one should i get. Want only the best.

Do the Bosch Aero Twin wipers fit on the Virtus

Hello Everyone.

Posting after long time here.
My Virtus has just completed 2 years.

Back in Feb this year, I was facing an issue of 'dug dug' noise from rare suspension but it was not consistent.
I highlighted this to the SC during the second year service, they checked and at first denied to acknowledge the issue.
I then asked them to compare it to another Virtus. They did and acknowledged it, but were unable to find the cause of it and asked me the leave the car there for 2-3 days to diagnose further.
I couldn't leave the car there as this is my daily driver and I don't have another car (I asked for a loaner but they didn't have one to offer).
Anyway, I continued using the car (daily 45-50k city run on weekdays).
Coming to current day, problem seems to have worsened now.
Apart from this, another issue started to pop: When someone sits in the rear seat, I started hearing a creaking noise from the rear suspension.
This also happens when I try to hold the back seat and shake the car a bit.
Sometimes even when turning the steering fully to the left or right.

Anyone faced similar issue? got it resolved?
What could be the issue.

Few details:
ODO: 17380
15K service done in Feb 2025
Service Center: VW Pune, Hadapsar
Please note that I had the driver side door replaced due to a damage that happened in parking.

Hello Team!

Need to decide between the VW Virtus 1.0 ltr GT line and Honda City as my next car.

May get a test drive (Finally!) of the Virtus 1 ltr automatic, tomorrow!

Have been reading the Skoda and VW Slavia/Virtus/Kushaq thread on the forum.

On the Skoda Kushaq thread, I read about a lot of EPC failures that have troubled a lot of owners. There are multiple reports of many owners being stranded and the problem recurring on many "repaired" cars.

My question is, since the Kushaq 1ltr and the Virtus 1 ltr engines are the same, have any Slavia/Virtus 1 ltr owners faced any such issues?

Kindly share your experiences regarding the above issue and any other issues/niggles faced.

On a different note, I am also considering the Honda City. Any issues I need to be aware of with this car?

The Honda Prabhadevi dealership has not yet given me a quote saying they are yet to receive prices for May (very hard to believe!) and there is zero follow up from their side. I have been the one calling them every other day. This is such a put-off! The overall experience is turning out to be very under-whelming. Did not expect this from Honda specially when their sales are among the lowest!

Is there any other Honda dealer (South / Central Mumbai) I can approach?

I appreciate your inputs!

Thank you!

ASVA

Originally Posted by ASVA (Post 5968360)
Hello Team!

Need to decide between the VW Virtus 1.0 ltr GT line and Honda City as my next car.

ASVA

The EPC issues are things of the past. That happened just after launch which is now close to 4 years back. The 1 ltr engines are identical across the Virtus, Slavia, Kushaq & Taigun.

You have gone to Arya Honda which has the same owner as VW Downtown right next to it. Both are trusted and good dealerships. When they say yet to receive pricing for May it means the discounts. The price will follow anyway.

Make the experience good for yourself. Good luck

Originally Posted by ASVA (Post 5968360)
This is such a put-off! The overall experience is turning out to be very under-whelming. Did not expect this from Honda specially when their sales are among the lowest!

Is there any other Honda dealer (South / Central Mumbai) I can approach

Hi ASVA,
Here you go: 7 dealers in Mumbai proper. Including the Arya Prabhadevi dealership you’ve already mentioned.

Arya Honda -Prabhadevi, Sewri, Bhandup
Solitaire Honda-Andheri, Borivali
Viva Honda- Santacruz, Thane

Please permit me to offer some unsolicited advice. There is possibly a TBHP thread on this:

Don’t let the Sales Experience impact your final purchase decision.

Evaluate the car for what it is, take multiple TDs and then make an informed call.

Trust me the Sales Teams will eventually start pushing you for the order! If possible keep a separate (from your main) mobile no where you can selectively pick up calls once the transaction reaches maturity. Don’t shy from being aggressive for discounts. After all it’s your hard earned money.

In closing (as a Honda owner) you really can’t go wrong with a Honda. Even in 2025.

Is the headlight too low (height not intensity) in Virtus?
Have noticed lately in NICE Road that the lights at Low Beam hardly go above the bumper of say a Dzire at a good gap distance.
It does not even go upto mid of the boot door. I know it's a sedan and so the lights are placed low but was wondering if this is same with all or does it needs attention.

Originally Posted by OnePM (Post 5965761)
Hi Everyone,

6 months over and the Wiper blades are making noise and the driver side has got a cut.

Checked with VW Gurgaon and they outrightly refused to change it during the 2nd free check up

The market is filled with cheap confusing alternatives and i wanted to ask fellow BHPians which one should i get. Want only the best.

Do the Bosch Aero Twin wipers fit on the Virtus

Had the same issue with mine. Switched to these Hamaan wipers. They work and fit perfectly.

https://www.amazon.in/Performance-Gr...53&sr=8-3&th=1

Originally Posted by msri3here (Post 5967317)
Hello Everyone.

Posting after long time here.
My Virtus has just completed 2 years.

Back in Feb this year, I was facing an issue of 'dug dug' noise from rare suspension but it was not consistent.
I highlighted this to the SC during the second year service, they checked and at first denied to acknowledge the issue.
I then asked them to compare it to another Virtus. They did and acknowledged it, but were unable to find the cause of it and asked me the leave the car there for 2-3 days to diagnose further.
I couldn't leave the car there as this is my daily driver and I don't have another car (I asked for a loaner but they didn't have one to offer).
Anyway, I continued using the car (daily 45-50k city run on weekdays).
Coming to current day, problem seems to have worsened now.
Apart from this, another issue started to pop: When someone sits in the rear seat, I started hearing a creaking noise from the rear suspension.
This also happens when I try to hold the back seat and shake the car a bit.
Sometimes even when turning the steering fully to the left or right.

Anyone faced similar issue? got it resolved?
What could be the issue.

Few details:
ODO: 17380
15K service done in Feb 2025
Service Center: VW Pune, Hadapsar
Please note that I had the driver side door replaced due to a damage that happened in parking.

Yes I am . For your second noise very simple solution . Grease the coil spring at VW ASC.
For dag dag no solution yet and i have stopped following up . Given 4-5 times the car to diagnose this with no result . Can members who are facing this issue team up and report to VW collectively ?

Originally Posted by onedotsix (Post 5929449)
5. The 12v socket stays on all the time. My 3channel dashcam is going to make sure the battery is dead pretty soon.

Use USB type-C port in the front, with a USB type-C to type-A convertor. I am using this setup for 2 channel dashcam.

My brother got the Silver Virtus 1.0 Highline Plus manual yesterday late afternoon. To be honest, I'm pleasantly surprised with the vast equipment list that matches my Safari XZA & there are few more than the Safari. Plus in the manual is more exciting to drive IMO, though we both (him more so) are getting used to the engine. He also got a good deal on exchange of his 2014 i20 Magna (CNG-ed).

Got the bare-bones car from dealership & installed mud-flaps, door-visors, window curtains, 3d-foot & boot mats from outside at reasonable price. Leatherette seat-covers (compatible with seat airbags), rear window curtain, manual steering lock & dash cam are the pending accessories in our list.

In my opinion the air dam gaps are huge I will get some mesh installed on the same to protect the radiator from stones & flying debris.

Question for others : Does he need a full underbody protection metal plate installed to avoid bottom scraps?

Originally Posted by CARDEEP (Post 5970026)
My brother got the Silver Virtus 1.0 Highline Plus manual yesterday late afternoon. .

Question for others : Does he need a full underbody protection metal plate installed to avoid bottom scraps?

There is enough ground clearance available on the car, if he drives carefully over big speed bumps there is no need for anything.

Moreover there is no provision to mount anything on the underbody, anything done would be through jugaad which would result in difficulty during future repairs and maintenance. And it would provide a very good hiding place for the rats!

Subject: Request help for iPhone 14 IOS 18.4 CarPlay issues on Virtus Topline 1.0 At

My IPhone connnects flawlessly every time however it starts considering the head unit as WiFi for Internet and stops using mobile data. I have kept the Wi-Fi option off on head unit yet my phone starts searching for Internet from car head unit. Please suggest if someone else has encountered this and what is the solution

Originally Posted by steadfast (Post 5969383)
Yes I am . For your second noise very simple solution . Grease the coil spring at VW ASC.
For dag dag no solution yet and i have stopped following up . Given 4-5 times the car to diagnose this with no result . Can members who are facing this issue team up and report to VW collectively ?

I have finally got the dug dug problem solved. Both rear shocks were damaged and required replacing. However this took a few months to figure out... why? First just one shock was changed and the sound became very faint, over the course of a few months the noise returned and became very loud. Then the second shock was replaced and now the noise is totally gone.

Both repairs done under warranty. Just blindly change the shocks (They are 1800 each - which kind of tells you how well built they really are; and worth changing if warranty doesn't work).