Old 8th January 2011, 23:04   #346

re: Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)

Originally Posted by kuttapan View Post
I have been closely following all things related to Thar on t-Bhp ever since it started, 'cause I am really interested in getting one, when the time comes. The Thar is still underdone, for me, but for different reasons, not the fit an finish.
Kuttappan's do check out the vehicle. Knowing you, you will definitely add fit and finish also to the list.

On a serious note, we were casually checking out Robi's invader today. Interiors seemed much better compared to Thar. Is it Robi or is it M&M? Even the plastic texture/quality, though the glove box issue was still there. But invi comes with a lockable dash!
Old 8th January 2011, 23:58   #347

Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
On a serious note, we were casually checking out Robi's invader today. Interiors seemed much better compared to Thar.
Launching the Invader with the same heart as that of the Thar would have been a much better proposition for M&M. Not sure why they did not do it.
Old 9th January 2011, 01:23   #348

Originally Posted by greatmana2000 View Post
Hell no , i did not miss anything . I am talking with respect to the Thar for usage as an offroad vehicle and a car which is used for on road .

For double the price .. dont you get a wholesome product ? In terms of build quality , features ? I do not think any other manufacturer has a ladder on wheels for the sake of cutting costs .
You answered your own question.

Originally Posted by speedy View Post
I have seen the Thar perform for the review conducted by Tejas and KhanSultan. I believe you had gotten stuck with the Thar also for an event.
Ahh yes. But then he was new to the car so...

Sir,

This is what i wanted to read. It is possible.

Sir, i do not intend to make it a show car only. This car would also perform as good as she looks.

Thank you Sir,

You have the will nothing is immpossible.

I did not have a frown in the first place brother . I find it in the same league as buying a new gypsy, not epensive atall. A new Gypsy also comes to 6 something on road Bombay. The added bonus i get with the Thar is more interior space and a diesel engine. I never expected it to be a Rolls Royce in the first place. So i am happy with my purchase.
Thats the way to go bhai!! Mahindra could have very well made ot more expensive and given it ugly brown interiors etc if they wnated to make a "normal version" of the thar. For once, I can live with the Thar's Fit and finish too. Who cares if the car goes like stink and does everything you want it to do off road as well!!!

Originally Posted by eagle888 View Post
I have a fairly good shot of the Hard top....well made...was priced at R8000 and then suddenly went to R12000 when I had to sign for it !!!

Well made...very professional finish etc...but WOW....what a let down from the fools who attempted to install it...as I said...drilling diamenter 8mm frigging HOLES right through my THAR body....
Wish I had money I would fight them for a NEW VEHICLE because they have damaged it permanently...the holes and others from the 'R6000 Cargo Cover' are rusting ...I mean my baby is 9 months old man !!

And the other pic, used in the official Thar launch in India....shows miserable cargo cover...all R6000 worth!! It leaked so badly my baby was drentched...water entered the glove compartment damaging my original THAR Manual...rain socked through the entire dashboard...the seats and carpets etc...I don't want to think about it...makes me MAD!

I have no issue with MAHINDRA....I love this Vehicle...but shooooo. I am so so so sad about how these LOCAL fools STUFFED my baby up. SAD

For double the price I get a very smart polished vehicle that I would be scared to scratch....and through around off-road. I have seen this on a recent Umgeni river valley run we did...the expensive Toys stood and watched...what fun is that...They were too scared to knock/scrtach or bump. They also know how expensive the parts are afterwards if damage is done

Me in my THAR!!...we go anywhere and everywhere...we make roads where there seems no road...

Parts and servicing are affordable...

Included I get the BEST DIESEL ENGINE available...and the best 5 speed 4x4 gearbox...and a 2nd World War Military vehicle....pressed off the 1950's press tools that were used under agreement from JEEP.

I am a happy customer...just a few small 'UNPROFESSIONAL PEOPLE' who bug me locally

My point exactly!! Would you take a nice shiny SUV which is your primary car and take it off raoding as extremely as you normally would.

This is to All those "prospective" buyers for the "prospective" jimny. Would you take your brand new car and go extreme offroading with it? Really?? And still not be worried about it getting Scratch/dented/bumped/grinded etc etc etc
Old 9th January 2011, 01:36   #349

I tried my best to stay away from this thread, but then some one teased me to atleast go through it.

a very good job done by Khan Saab and Tejas Bhai on taking on the THAR. they did what was expected out of them and in a manner they specialise in. they passed their test with flying colours, but cant say the same about the Thar.

going through all the 24 pages was a slow process and i had to read each and every post. it was slow but did read a lot of agony, frustration, anger, happiness, succes, failure, joy, sadness. in total its like a love-hate relationship.

what people wrote here makes me feel like Thar is an 'unwanted gift'. you know when its your birthday and you want a gift, when you get it, its not the gift you wanted, but you still got a gift! yeah its confusing!

so its like, i want the Thar but its not the Thar i wanted!

anyway, i see Thar CRDe becoming a bling bling macho machine for people who want to be seen driving a JEEP but never go offroad.

Dabwali/Mayapuri jeeps are bling bling vehicles which are used for show off etc, but are not for offroad. they are only for namesake or machoism!

people who go offroad will end up on Thar DI's camp (cheap and cheerful).

i think the initial production batch of 50 or 100 Thar CRDe will define the term succes or failure.

i m holding back my deposit of 6.5 Lakhs which i had saved for the Thar, just to see how the initial production batch gets sold!

the advertisment below sells the image, but not the 4x4!
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-702525_f520.jpg  

Last edited by Parm : 9th January 2011 at 01:47.
Old 9th January 2011, 02:07   #350

Thorough and interesting review of a grossly ugly vehicle that belongs in a showroom in 1985. Another 'Soviet era contraption' from the house of very ugly automobiles.If i want to go offroad i'll rebuild a CJ instead for less money and any fabricator in the business will do a better job on the interior than M & M.
Old 9th January 2011, 02:28   #351

Originally Posted by nickatnite View Post
Thorough and interesting review of a grossly ugly vehicle that belongs in a showroom in 1985.
If you meant ugly in terms in fit and finish, then yes, otherwise it's a no-nonsense, butch Jeep. So 'grossly ugly' is quite unfair (unless a Jeep's styling is not to your liking).

Another 'Soviet era contraption' from the house of very ugly automobiles.
I think the Thar is the best looking product in their range, with the Scorpio and Bolero being over-ornamented (the original versions were the best) and the less said about the Xylo the better.
Strangely, contraption is the word that came to my mind as well, once the reviewers pointed out the general lack of finesse. On the other hand, the drivetrain is definitely not soviet era, neither is the dynamics. That's where there is credit due.

any fabricator in the business will do a better job on the interior than M & M.
Unfortunately true.

Last edited by Amartya : 9th January 2011 at 02:35.
Old 9th January 2011, 02:30   #352

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
This is to All those "prospective" buyers for the "prospective" jimny. Would you take your brand new car and go extreme offroading with it? Really?? And still not be worried about it getting Scratch/dented/bumped/grinded etc etc etc
I know of two who would and atleast 3 scorpios which participate already. More than the number of people whom i know have signed up for ......

Endeavor, GV and Fortuners also do participate as far as i know. Biggest problem that these vehicle face in Indian terrain is their size and wheel base which is not a problem in Jimny.

Many of us are very careful with our vehicles, irrespective it is a jeep or other expensive models. Scratches are to an extent unavoidable, but then restoration is not that difficult. More over we prep our vehicle, to the extent that we try to save even an el cheapo tail light in a jeep.

I have even found sources for products which can provide realistic solution that can save paint jobs, ie if I. BUT it is yet to be seen what price Jimny would be launched, IF it is launched. So am not really bothered about Jimny in Indian context at this point of time.

Hope Thar offers some more creature comforts and come out with a better interior package at a reasonable price soon.

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
what people wrote here makes me feel like Thar is an 'unwanted gift'. you know when its your birthday and you want a gift, when you get it, its not the gift you wanted, but you still got a gift! yeah its confusing!
Nice one!
Old 9th January 2011, 03:44   #353

Note from the Team-BHP Support Staff : Team-BHP is a collaborative community and each member is a valuable part of the Team-BHP family. Any discriminating or derogatory comment is uncalled for, and only upsets the balance. Please avoid making personal comments.

Last edited by .anshuman : 9th January 2011 at 18:13. Reason: See note in the post.
Old 9th January 2011, 05:59   #354

i couldnt agree more. looks like the M&M designers have had a surfeit of bling dreams - making such miserably ugly cosmetic changes on what were essentially simple, clean-lined vehicles in their original form.
wish M&M would concentrate on high quality functional changes and variants and pay greater attention to quality of fit and finish rather than fiddle about with cosmetics. their designers taste is truly appalling - as manifested in the new Scorpios and Boleros in comparison to the old (2005 and pre-2005 versions.)

Originally Posted by Amartya View Post
... the Scorpio and Bolero being over-ornamented (the original versions were the best)

Last edited by khan_sultan : 9th January 2011 at 08:09.
Old 9th January 2011, 07:27   #355

Originally Posted by Amartya View Post
I think the Thar is the best looking product in their range, with the Scorpio and Bolero being over-ornamented (the original versions were the best).
I couldn't agree more. What they've done to both the Scorpio and Bolero is very sad and I hope they never do anything like that to the Thar.

On page 15 of this thread, I had asked a doubt in regard to the accessories for the Thar. I would be very obliged if someone can shed some light on the same, thanks in advance.
Old 9th January 2011, 08:16   #356

Originally Posted by Thar View Post
On page 15 of this thread, I had asked a doubt in regard to the accessories for the Thar. I would be very obliged if someone can shed some light on the same, thanks in advance.
In regard to the accessory kit:

Will this be sold as a complete package or can one buy ONLY the following:
1. Insect mesh
2. Headlight/ taillight grill
3. Roll cage
4. Alloy wheels??

Also, are there front indicator grills available for the Thar?
The information we got is the following:
  • You can "pick-n-choose" from the accessory list --as per M&M. However, we have heard reports of dealers saying that one would need to buy the whole package
  • It seems that buying the whole package will come out to be more cost effective compared to individual pieces.
  • The price list for the accessory package had not been made available to the dealers when we did the Test Drive
Originally Posted by eagle888 View Post
...the expensive Toys stood and watched...what fun is that...They were too scared to knock/scrtach or bump. They also know how expensive the parts are afterwards if damage is done...
Very true & realistic perspective. But this could happen to the Thar in an Indian context as almost all of the off-roading, in India, is done with vehicles costing 1/3 - 1/2 the price of the Thar.

For a lot of people, the Thar would be an equivalent of an expensive toy.

We have seen how expensive parts and how the owners get frustrated, after damages, with expensive toys in Indian trails.

...Included I get the BEST DIESEL ENGINE available...and the best 5 speed 4x4 gearbox...and a 2nd World War Military vehicle....pressed off the 1950's press tools that were used under agreement from JEEP.
So true. That engine is a gem and combined with the gearbox-t-case is unarguably the best part of the Thar. Combine it with the retro styling looks of the Jeep and you have a deadly combination.

Last edited by khan_sultan : 9th January 2011 at 08:31.
Old 9th January 2011, 09:53   #357

Originally Posted by khan_sultan View Post
The information we got is the following:
  • You can "pick-n-choose" from the accessory list --as per M&M. However, we have heard reports of dealers saying that one would need to buy the whole package
  • It seems that buying the whole package will come out to be more cost effective compared to individual pieces.
  • The price list for the accessory package had not been made available to the dealers when we did the Test Drive

So true. That engine is a gem and combined with the gearbox-t-case is unarguably the best part of the Thar. Combine it with the retro styling looks of the Jeep and you have a deadly combination.
Thank you very much for the information on the accessories, Janab Khan.

The deadly combination you've mentioned above and the poor fit and finish are such a mixed bag of extremes. Further confusing are two thoughts that come to my mind:
1. Buy the Thar now! What if things go the Classic way and they stop production?
2. Wait for a V2 if that ever happens and what if it takes a minimum of two years for that to happen?
Old 9th January 2011, 10:21   #358
NIP

2. Wait for a V2 if that ever happens and what if it takes a minimum of two years for that to happen?
I definitely hope not. I sincerely hope they just revert to the old MM540 style instrument cluster on a metal plate (?) like the old days. Not only will this add more 'classic' feel, it will be nice to customize it (GPS, ICE, Phone holders, meters etc etc.). Not to mention the front windscreen can also be opened. I really think this can be rolled out even in the next batch, and they can cut the cost a few thousand rupees for that currently grotesque plastic dash. It can be simple yet classy...attaching a couple of pics to show what I mean:
Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-154_0605_10_z1985_jeep_cj_7interior.jpg.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-154_0805_08_z1978_jeep_cj7_yj_tj_crossbred_jeepinterior_view.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-dash-topper-parts-002.jpg  

Review: 1st-gen Mahindra Thar (2011 - 2019)-2520980005_large.jpg  

Old 9th January 2011, 10:41   #359

Originally Posted by Parm View Post
so its like, i want the Thar but its not the Thar i wanted!
This is the best quote in this thread!!!!
Everything is summarised in this one line.
Old 9th January 2011, 10:57   #360

Originally Posted by NIP View Post
I definitely hope not. I sincerely hope they just revert to the old MM540 style instrument cluster on a metal plate (?) like the old days.
Dunno about that. It might not protect the all important Iron "Test Ball" from injuring itself. Might be OK for humans though.

Please Forgive me. Could not help myself.

P.S. Excellent mod ideas nonetheless.

Last edited by gthang : 9th January 2011 at 10:58.