Team-BHP > Road Safety

Old 16th August 2010, 12:21   #6631

Originally Posted by SumitBahl View Post
Yes, there is, it's 50%.

Wrong! Glass, paint, metal(only for this depends on the age of the car/salvage etc.) and labor gets reimbursed at 100%, Plastic parts 50%.

Pramod
Old 16th August 2010, 12:40   #6632

Originally Posted by pramodkumar View Post
Wrong!
RIGHT!!!!

Glass would depreciate, depending on how old your car is.

You will have to pay 50% of the cost of sealant and rubber beading + the Rs. 500 the usual claim charges (salvage charges i think).
Labor is covered 100%.
Old 16th August 2010, 13:04   #6633

Broken glass in UK, with a comprehensive insurance policy is something you don't even think about. No payment; no effect on NCB. The insurers will have approved glass specialists: you call them and they do it.
Old 16th August 2010, 14:38   #6634

Originally Posted by aroop View Post

I did't want to claim insurance since I would be losing my NCB and transporter had promised to pay. Just a question on this, is there any depreciation on the glass parts in case of insurance? (windshield, rear glass, windows)
No there is no depreciation on glass you will get 100% claim you have pay for sealant only
i have a uncle whos a wholesaler in north india, i got to know from him

Last edited by manikjeet : 16th August 2010 at 14:40.
Old 17th August 2010, 15:06   #6635

yeah, for glass there is 100% claim, you may have to pay 50% for rubber beading, labor costs = 0.

Got my front windshield & front bonnet changed recently.

Bonnet - 50% depreciation.
Old 18th August 2010, 10:21   #6636

This happened last night @ 7:30PM opposite Chandigarh Club.

4 school going 17 year old drunk girls were doing a drag race opposite Chandigarh club.
2 of them were in an accord and 2 in swift.
Girls in accord did not notice the oncoming biker while she was overtaking the swift and hit them, spinning them a few feet in the air.

There were 2 cousins riding the bike, one of them was 7 years old and the elder one was 21. Both of them couldn't survive the impact.

The road where these girls were racing is a single road and is one of the posh areas of Chandigarh. Many ministers have their residences there. Police patrol cars are there 24/7.

Yet, after the incident, the girls abandoned the Accord and drove away in the swift.

The accord is registered in the name of a retd. colonel.

The girls are still absconding.
Accidents in India | Pics & Videos-3.png  

Old 18th August 2010, 10:32   #6637

Originally Posted by SumitBahl View Post
one of them was 7 years old
Aarrh!!! I'm going to have a bad day!!! I cannot digest reading such small kids getting involved in an accident for no fault of theirs.

Look at the wordings "In a haste to beat a Maruti Swift, a Honda accord"; even a moron knows an accord could beat a Swift, so why test it on street, do all these on a closed circuit in track. Spineless coward girls to fight out such things on track!!!

I wish the col being punished so that the girls know that their mistake is affecting someone else's life

I'm feeling depressed about the fate of 7 year old kid!!!
Old 18th August 2010, 10:39   #6638

i wish those 2 girls spend the rest of their life in prison with no parole.

And the other 2, sentence them to ten years in prison with no bail.
Old 18th August 2010, 10:45   #6639

>>>

Nothing has changed, and it won't till Indians develop civic sense and behave like civilised people -which it seems by our behaviour on public roads -that we are not.

The criminals ( I think it is a crime to drive rashly, cause an accident, kill/injure others and run away, combined) will be shielded by their powerful families with the help of the submissive and corrupt police and the all powerful netas.

The poor, innocents will suffer.

The Delhi BMW case, the Bandra cases are all instances that show us what we actually are, inspite of our five thousand year old civilisation.

Last edited by Rehaan : 2nd September 2010 at 14:00. Reason: Removing last line of your post as it has been reported as unnecessary/political etc. Cheers.
Old 18th August 2010, 10:45   #6640

Originally Posted by aargee View Post
Aarrh!!! I'm going to have a bad day!!! I cannot digest reading such small kids getting involved in an accident for no fault of theirs.

Look at the wordings "In a haste to beat a Maruti Swift, a Honda accord"; even a moron knows an accord could beat a Swift, so why test it on street, do all these on a closed circuit in track. Spineless coward girls to fight out such things on track!!!

I wish the col being punished so that the girls know that their mistake is affecting someone else's life

I'm feeling depressed about the fate of 7 year old kid!!!

yeah, i dont understand.
but i think they were already beyond the realm of being a moron to race each other in such disparate cars, and that to after downing a few!!

as for the colonel being punished, well, he should be, for handing over his keys to a bunch of underage children.
Frankly i dont think it would make any difference to these girls to know that their acts may bring misery on anybody else.
poor kid yaar!
and his bro.
senseless!!
i'm sure they'll weasel out after paying compensation.
why?
appropriate should be more-than-adequate compensation(though i feel no amount can be adequate) AND the maximum term of jail possible.
Old 18th August 2010, 10:55   #6641

@Mayank - the point is, if I do the mistake & I land up in prison, its only a guilt that I should repent for what I did. But if any of your family member is affected? The thought kills you everyday.

Point being here that, the owner of the car is col, he should be responsible enough to know to whom he's handing over the keys. This attitude of handing over the keys to under aged children is unacceptable.

Punishing the kids is one of the side; but the children should also see that their parents are also suffering due to their mistake, which will cause the pain.

PS - Just think about the parents of both Harpreet & Sukhwinder; I simply cannot digest the fate of innocent Harpreet; I'm having tough time to settle!!!
Old 18th August 2010, 11:11   #6642

What crap!

Rich kids in fast cars. Incarcerate them.

Feeling so angry right now, that its hard to put down in words.
Old 18th August 2010, 11:13   #6643

What a disaster this accident by drunk girls is. I feel the fault lies with the upbringing of these girls by their respective families. Being a minor and drinking itself is unacceptable. Access to drinks and access to cars without holding a license spells disasters aanywhere in the country. I really pity the bikers for no fault of theirs.

As usual. The story would take a turn. Some olf driver will be lured with a bag full of money to turn into the police stating he was at the wheel.

Last edited by funkykar : 18th August 2010 at 11:16.
Old 18th August 2010, 11:24   #6644

Drunk Driving destroys lives

Its high time the govt. gets really serious with drunk driving issues. The Col's family must be responsible for the entire expenses of the deceased childrens family till their lifetime. How on earth can they live with this guilt. No use punishing the school girls, they are also just minor's who went gaga over a few drinks. An awareness should be created on the dangers of drunk driving right from school levels. Thats the only way around this problem in India now.
Old 18th August 2010, 11:26   #6645

Something I observed from a news channel.
Almost all cars involved in hit and run cases of the metros are either the BMW or Honda. They are driver's cars for sure but they can be the bad driver's car too.