Team-BHP > Road Safety
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 17th February 2010, 16:25   #4846
BHPian

Calicut private bus drivers are a reckless lot. I used to hang onto my life every time i took a Calicut - Mukkam bus via Mavoor. Then they have those jam-packed jeeps for competition.

-- Torqy
Old 17th February 2010, 16:44   #4847
Senior - BHPian

I studied from Calicut REC, and being a keralite I was never surprised with the speeds at which buses used to ply. The students who came from other parts of India were the ones who were left speechless at what crazy driving and speeds the bus drivers manage to do. Surprisingly they avoided accidents, at least not as many as could happen owing to sheer speed.
Old 17th February 2010, 17:23   #4848
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torqy View Post
Calicut private bus drivers are a reckless lot. I used to hang onto my life every time i took a Calicut - Mukkam bus via Mavoor. Then they have those jam-packed jeeps for competition.

-- Torqy
That Bus is a TN Government Bus. Do they also drive as rash as the Other buses in Kerala? I generally find these TN buses too slow. Not that they are law abiding.
Old 17th February 2010, 19:53   #4849
BHPian

Quote:
Originally Posted by manishasrani View Post
Guess he got fed up of searching for a U turn.
This is a very common sight on the NICE road. People try all sorts of things to jump over to the other lane. Once, I missed the Mysore road exit. A cab driver infront of me also missed the exit and he drove in the opposite direction on the same lane till he reached the exit. My wife asked me why I could not do the same and I told her I'm never going to drive towards oncoming traffic. I had to go to Magadi road exit and turn back.
Old 17th February 2010, 20:39   #4850
BHPian

This happened in Chennai (Pallavaram). Read that, the three friends were on this car and one the guys was actually learning driving from his friend.