Team-BHP > Travelogues > Route / Travel Queries

Old 29th August 2011, 15:59   #16

Mumbai to Rajasthan (Mumbai - Mount Abu - Udaipur - Jaisalmer - Mumbai) - Road Trip

Friends,
I am planning a 5 day road trip (from 31st Aug to 4th Sep`11) from Mumbai to Rajasthan & thinking of covering Mount Abu, Udaipur & Jaisalmer.

Need Suggestion in following points:

a. Do I need to exclude/include more locations?
b. Pls suggest me must see places in & around Mount Abu, Udaipur & Jaisalmer.
c. Any recommendation on affordable hotel, We usually like to stay in some off beat place & like to be close to nature (tents, jungle resort, cottages, tree house etc are ideal).

Thanks!!!
Old 29th August 2011, 17:54   #17

Re: Mumbai to Rajasthan (Mumbai - Mount Abu - Udaipur - Jaisalmer - Mumbai) - Road Tr

Originally Posted by manishvaid View Post
Near Udaipur, you can visit Shilpgram (highlights the cultural aspects of Rajasthan). At 120km from Udaipur is Chittorgarh, I would strongly suggest you visit it. You'd need 3-4 hours to see it. If you're a temple person, you can visit Nathdwara and Eklingji Mandir.

Do visit Haldighati too (where the famous battle took place).

In Udaipur, there are the lakes, the royal palace, some temples and a memorial for Maharana Pratap.

For the above mentioned places, you'd need about 2 days if you rush it.
libranof1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 20:01   #18

Re: Mumbai to Rajasthan (Mumbai - Mount Abu - Udaipur - Jaisalmer - Mumbai) - Road Tr

Friends,
I am planning a 5 day road trip (from 31st Aug to 4th Sep`11) from Mumbai to Rajasthan & thinking of covering Mount Abu, Udaipur & Jaisalmer.

Need Suggestion in following points:

a. Do I need to exclude/include more locations?
c. Any recommendation on affordable hotel, We usually like to stay in some off beat place & like to be close to nature (tents, jungle resort, cottages, tree house etc are ideal).

Thanks!!!
Quite impractical imho,because the distances are too much and would leave you with no time to see anything or experience anything.I would suggest that you drop Jaisalmer from your itinerary and just do Mumbai-Udaipur-Abu-Mumbai.

31aug Mumbai-Udp: 14hour drive.
1st sep:udaipur
2nd sep:udaipur/nathdwara/kumbalgarh/ranakpur(choose between ranakpur and kumbalgarh,doing both might not be possible)
3rd sep:udaipur-abu
4th sep:abu-mumbai.
ranjitp1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 20:19   #19

What Ranjit says makes sense.
That would be too much of driving in those 5 days.

It would become touch and go in true sense!
In fact in my opinion, even Udaipur/Abu is quite heavy for 5 days which would
include travel/drive. Because we are talking about ~900-950 km one way drive.
Knock off 2 days for the drive itself. So we are talking 2 days at Udaipur and 1 for Abu.
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 20:37   #20

Wanted to say this earlier itself; as ampere and ranjit have said, 5 days is going to be extremely hectic for the itinerary you have mentioned.

By the way, do check with locals in Udaipur about the monsoons. When we'd gone there at the end of July a few years ago, rains had just started a week ago and we got to see some water in the lakes.

Since you're going all the way to Udaipur, Chittorgarh is a must. Either you'll have to skip on Mt. Abu/Jaisalmer or extend the duration of the trip
libranof1987 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 29th August 2011, 23:58   #21

Hi Manish, try to go through this travelogue of mine.

You will get a fair idea of what to see/ expect.

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...ml#post1689856

We left out most of the temples. So include those in your itinerary. You must leave out Jaisalmer. Travelling is going to eat up almost three days. So you may need to extend your stay, if you really want to enjoy the true essence of Rajasthan.

Btw, which car will you be driving? You will have to leave Mumbai at least by 4 am, if you want to reach Udaipur for dinner.
Chevy_lover is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 30th August 2011, 00:03   #22

Thanks a lot for insight, I'm skipping Jaisalmer now & also starting on 30th evening, will take some rest in Surat & Baroda & move on with the journey.

Was thinking of doing Mount Abu first, would that be alright?

Also, any recommendation on any nice hotel or jungle resort?
Old 30th August 2011, 11:51   #23

Thanks a lot for insight, I'm skipping Jaisalmer now & also starting on 30th evening, will take some rest in Surat & Baroda & move on with the journey.

Was thinking of doing Mount Abu first, would that be alright?

Also, any recommendation on any nice hotel or jungle resort?
The main attraction at Mt.Abu are the Dilwara temples and for non-Jains the entry times are between 12noon & 6pm.You could drive straight to Abu which is a good idea and considering that you would be starting from Baroda or Surat it makes perfect sense.Leave early to reach around 12.Stay the night at Abu and then proceed to Udaipur.
ranjitp1 is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 16th September 2011, 19:08   #24

Mumbai to Rajasthan by Road

Hi Everybody

Planning a road trip to Rajasthan during October last week, therefore, request you to guide me. Planning to drive myself alone or can hire a driver (want to avoid). This would be a first long drive of this sort.

Here is the plan.

Duration: October 21-29, 2011.

October 21, 2011 – Mumbai to Udaipur
Please suggest driving direction.

October 22, 2011 – Udaipur City tour
Please suggest sightseeing.

October 23, 2011 – After Kumbhalgarh and Ranakpur either night halt here or move to Jodhpur for night halt.

October 24, 2011 – Kumbhalgarh/Jodhpur to Jaisalmer and stay at Sam Dhani of Rajasthan Tourism’s Desert resort. Relax and Evening Desert Safari to Sudashri (10 k.m. from Sam).

October 25, 2011 – Desert National Park Safari @ Sudashri again in the morning. Evening Sam Sand Dunes (What time we need to start for this).

October 26, 2011 - Back to resort. Checked out and then Tanot and BP 609 and start for Jaisalmer. Jaisalmer checked in to a hotel.

October 27, 2011 – Jaisalmer to Jodhpur

October 28, 2011: Jodhpur to Ahmedabad

October 29, 2011: Ahmedabad to Mumbai

Need suggestions. Can be altered the plan.

Subrat

Last edited by Subrat Seet : 16th September 2011 at 19:11.
Old 16th September 2011, 19:39   #25

Re: Mumbai to Rajasthan by Road

Originally Posted by Subrat Seet View Post
Hi Everybody

Planning a road trip to Rajasthan during October last week, therefore, request you to guide me. Planning to drive myself alone or can hire a driver (want to avoid). This would be a first long drive of this sort.

Here is the plan.

October 23, 2011 – After Kumbhalgarh and Ranakpur either night halt here or move to Jodhpur for night halt.

October 24, 2011 – Kumbhalgarh/Jodhpur to Jaisalmer and stay at Sam Dhani of Rajasthan Tourism’s Desert resort. Relax and Evening Desert Safari to Sudashri (10 k.m. from Sam).

October 25, 2011 – Desert National Park Safari @ Sudashri again in the morning. Evening Sam Sand Dunes (What time we need to start for this).

October 26, 2011 - Back to resort. Checked out and then Tanot and BP 609 and start for Jaisalmer. Jaisalmer checked in to a hotel.

Subrat
Well we did a similar circuit last year,details are on this tlogue:

http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/travel...than-m800.html
Old 17th September 2011, 12:08   #26

Re: Mumbai to Rajasthan by Road

My response to your queries below:

Originally Posted by Subrat Seet View Post
Hi Everybody

Here is the plan.

Mumbai - Thane (ghorbunder Road), Daman, Surat, Bharuch, Vadodara, Ahmedabad & Udaipur

RTDC's Hotel Kajri conducts sightseeing tours by bus with a guide. Tel: 0294 2410501

3:30 pm

Subrat
Old 27th November 2011, 12:14   #27

Need Suggestions For Panvel-Rajasthan-Panvel Trip in Mid-December

** Doing this for a friend of mine.

Planning to do Panvel-Gujrat-Rajasthan-Panvel trip this December

Start Date: 17th Dec 2011
Duration: 13 Days
Car: Ritz VDi
Travellers: My Friend, His Wife, 5 Year Old Kid (Driving will be done by my friend alone)

So guys here is the complete plan:

Road trip : Mumbai to Rajasthan-mumrajmum.jpg

I am attaching the Excel Sheet as well:

Gujrat&Rajasthan.xlsx

1. Planning to have stay mostly at RTDC. However, if better options considering "Budget Stay", then please let me know.
2. Road Conditions considering the route.
3. Suggestions for sight seeing
4. Possible Good Fuel Refills
5. Famous Shopping/Eatery suggestions at stay locations

Map is as follow:

LINK: Panvel, Maharashtra to Panvel, Maharashtra - Google Maps

Road trip : Mumbai to Rajasthan-mumrajmum-map.jpg

Thanks in advance for your oncoming suggestions.
Old 2nd December 2011, 09:15   #28

Re: Road trip : Mumbai to Rajasthan

Can anyone provide information on night stay @ Kumbhalgarh
Old 2nd December 2011, 10:37   #29

Originally Posted by nomadabhi View Post
Can anyone provide information on night stay @ Kumbhalgarh
There are some good places in Kumbhalgarh. We stayed in Club Mahindra. Good location, Spacious rooms and excellent food.
Old 26th November 2012, 12:14   #30

Hello Friends

Me and my wife are planning to visit Udaipur and Ranthambore 1st week december. As per my bookings i am staying 3 nights in Udaipur , 2nights in Ranthambore. My plan is

day 1
drive mumbai -udaipur stay at udaipur at night

day2,3,4
stay at udaipur so local and nearby sightseeings like haldi ghati etc

day 4
drive to ranthambore

day 5
ranthambore

day 6 & 7
back to mumbai

I have a safari gx

My queries as follows

1>can i bypass ahmedabad city, which route to take
2>This is important query?. The google map shows 3 route to Ranthambore from Udaipur
a>via tonk
b>via chittoragarh and bundi
c>via kota

which route to take, I do not mind bit extra km if i can get good roads. The main issue is safety. On my last trip to south india i had a bad experience when i took an arterial road with locals [one guy banged into my stationary car and i had to pay up , wasting valuable time in police station ]

I am leaving on 2nd December. Any help regarding above laong with some inputs are most welcomed

Best Regards

Last edited by lodhra : 26th November 2012 at 12:16.