Old 7th October 2015, 07:49   #121

Re: Need assistance in planning a Rajasthan tour

Originally Posted by dsnaveen21 View Post
15 Nov - Jodhpur - Jaisalmer 285 kms
16 Nov - Jaisalmer - Jaipur 570 kms
Does the above quoted section make sense? Because on 15th you travel 300km to visit Jaisalmer and the very next day you again are off to Jaipur. No time to visit places around Jaisalmer?
Old 7th October 2015, 10:01   #122

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Does the above quoted section make sense?
Thanks for reply.. I was thinking the same, I will drop Jaisalmer in that case..
Old 7th October 2015, 11:12   #123

Request you guys to guide me on my planned road trip to Rajasthan coming up in Dec-2015,

A 14 Day Rajasthan + Agra, Road trip from Pune,

listed below is the itinerary, Need your feedback on the plan and Route,,Any other info, recommended stops for lunch, fuel - facilities en-route with decent restrooms,
We are 4 people - 2 couples, NO Kids, travelling in Rapid TDI.

PLAN:
Pune TO Ahmadabad :– START – 5th Dec Morning, 5 AM. TOUCH – 5th Dec Evening,

Ahmadabad TO Udaipur – START – 6th Dec Afternoon, TOUCH – 6th Dec Evening,

UDAIPUR: 3 days/3 nights. TOUCH – 6th Dec Evening/night.
local sightseeing - 7th Dec and 8th Dec,

9th – Day Trip to Eklinji and Nathdrawa temples, Haldighati, and Kumbhalgrah Fort, Back.
-- Is it possible to fit Rankapur temple also in this - or will that be stretching it???

Checkout – 10th Dec and Drive to Jaipur Via Chottorgrah.

JAIPUR : 3 Days / 3 Nights. TOUCH – 10th Dec Evening/Night.
Local sightseeing - 11th Dec and 12th Dec,
Checkout – 13th Dec and Drive to Agra via Fathepur sikri.

AGRA: 1 Day/1 Nights. TOUCH – 13th Dec Afternoon.
Local sightseeing - Fathepur Sikri and TAJ - 13th Dec,
Checkout – 14th Dec and Drive to Jodhpur via Ajmer/Pushkar. Both are must.

JODHPUR : 3 Days – 3 Nights. TOUCH – 14th Dec Night.
local sightseeing - 15th Dec and 16th Dec,
Checkout – 17th Dec and drive to Ahmadabad.
AHMADABAD: 1 Night TOUCH 17th Night,.
Drive back to PUNE – 18th Dec.

Planned ROUTES:
Pune – Thane / Godbunder – Dahisar – Vapi – Surat - Baroda – Ahmadabad

Ahmedabad-Himmatnagar-Shamlaji-Ratanpur-Rishabdeo-Udaipur

Udaipur – Chittorgrah – Bhilwara– Kishangarh - Jaipur

Jaipur - Agra and Back -- Ajmer/Pushkar - - - Jodhpur

Jodhpur - Mt Abu Road- Palanpur – Mehsana – Halol – Ahmedabad

Ahmadabad - Baroda– Surat – Vapi – Dahisar – Mumbai / Godbunder - Pune

Old 7th October 2015, 11:45   #124

@Hemant Joshi:
Try to include Mount Abu in your itinerary.
It's a nice place in RJ to visit with family in winters.
No less than a night's halt would do justice to the place.
Old 7th October 2015, 11:47   #125

I would suggest drop Agra from the plan. Just for that one day, it does not make sense. You may add a place closer in RJ than go all the way to Agra.
Old 11th October 2015, 21:00   #126

Originally Posted by revharder View Post
@Hemant Joshi:
Try to include Mount Abu in your itinerary.
It's a nice place in RJ to visit with family in winters.
No less than a night's halt would do justice to the place.
Thanks Revharder,
Let me check, not sure - as the basic idea is to experience the forts and palaces in Rajasthan, wife and other not keen on a hill station..

I would suggest drop Agra from the plan. Just for that one day, it does not make sense. You may add a place closer in RJ than go all the way to Agra.
Thanks Ampere,
Agra is high on priority list, A drive from Jaipur (starting early morning) and a night's stay wont do justice to Agra?

Also,
I would love some feedback on the routes, and current driving conditions from guys here, eagerly awaiting any updates on same,
Old 11th October 2015, 21:34   #127

Originally Posted by Hemant_Joshi View Post
Also,
I would love some feedback on the routes, and current driving conditions from guys here, eagerly awaiting any updates on same,
Jairpur-Agra is a brilliant 4-lane. So from route wise its not a problem. I just mentioned that because, I thought Agra was a bit out from the rest of your destination points. If its on the must list, then no questions asked!
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2015, 21:42   #128

Thanks Ampere,
Can you provide any feedback on the Road conditions and route I have in mind?

Jairpur-Agra is a brilliant 4-lane. So from route wise its not a problem. I just mentioned that because, I thought Agra was a bit out from the rest of your destination points. If its on the must list, then no questions asked!
Old 11th October 2015, 21:51   #129

Thanks Ampere,
Can you provide any feedback on the Road conditions and route I have in mind?
Planned ROUTES:
Pune – Thane / Godbunder – Dahisar – Vapi – Surat - Baroda – Ahmadabad
Ahmedabad-Himmatnagar-Shamlaji-Ratanpur-Rishabdeo-Udaipur
Udaipur – Chittorgrah – Bhilwara– Kishangarh - Jaipur
All good 4-lane. Nothing to worry

Jaipur - Agra and Back -- Ajmer/Pushkar - - - Jodhpur
Agra-Jaipur is a 4-lane. The only 2-lane being Beawar-Jodhpur

Jodhpur - Mt Abu Road- Palanpur – Mehsana – Halol – Ahmedabad
Not much aware about the current status of Pali-Sirohi road to Abu. But I think the road beyond is good.

Ahmadabad - Baroda– Surat – Vapi – Dahisar – Mumbai / Godbunder - Pune
Need I say anything on this one?
ampere is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 11th October 2015, 22:54   #130

I did chennai Rajasthan from 28th September till 8th October. Did cover Udaipur Jaisalmer and Jaipur.

You will find lot of truck traffic once you enter NH8 from Ghodbunder.

Further Narmada bridge on NH8 will have jams. HVK helped me with the alternate route of taking Golden Bridge. Otherwise would have struck for 10 hours on that bridge on that day.
I did take Halol bypass from Vadodara covering Godhra (bypass) and joined Shamalaji on NH8 to avoid Ahmedabad. Once you enter Rajasthan the roads are not great however you can manage.

Udaipur has very narrow roads and would suggest you enter those narrow lanes during day time. Please note these are really narrow lanes and would test your patience.

Jodhpur Beawar roads are 2 lane however you can easily maintain average speed of 80kmph as most of the roads are wide enough to accommodate 3 vehicles.

Especially in Rajasthan be mindful of cattle on National Highways and they will suddenly appear from nowhere.

You can do Jaipur -Agra-Jaipur in a single day with a 5am start
couswheels is offline   (1) Thanks
Old 12th October 2015, 10:43   #131

Thanks @Ampere for the feedback, Appreciate it,,

@Couswheels,
Thank you for the pointers, I think, Your is the most recent/current road trip to RJ in the forum,
I have also received similar feedback on the Post Thane/Ghodbunder to Vapi/Bharuch section, from other sources and many threads in TBHP,
be on lookout to avoid the bharuch/ankleshwar bypass,

The Udaipur info is something new to me, thanks again for the fore warning,

Would you suggest any specific hotels en-route - specifically with good rest rooms? You know, how horrible it would be for ladies while travelling...

We decided on a nights stay at Agra, Since, We would like to visit other landmarks also in/near Agra, and not the TAJ only..

Originally Posted by couswheels View Post
I did chennai Rajasthan from 28th September till 8th October. Did cover Udaipur Jaisalmer and Jaipur.

You will find lot of truck traffic once you enter NH8 from Ghodbunder.

Further Narmada bridge on NH8 will have jams. HVK helped me with the alternate route of taking Golden Bridge. Otherwise would have struck for 10 hours on that bridge on that day.
I did take Halol bypass from Vadodara covering Godhra (bypass) and joined Shamalaji on NH8 to avoid Ahmedabad. Once you enter Rajasthan the roads are not great however you can manage.

Udaipur has very narrow roads and would suggest you enter those narrow lanes during day time. Please note these are really narrow lanes and would test your patience.

Jodhpur Beawar roads are 2 lane however you can easily maintain average speed of 80kmph as most of the roads are wide enough to accommodate 3 vehicles.

Especially in Rajasthan be mindful of cattle on National Highways and they will suddenly appear from nowhere.

You can do Jaipur -Agra-Jaipur in a single day with a 5am start
Old 12th October 2015, 10:49   #132

We decided on a nights stay at Agra, Since, We would like to visit other landmarks also in/near Agra, and not the TAJ only..
Please note, Agra can be quite a discomforting city to go around. This is in context of the fact that you have Taj at one; end and Fatehpur Sikri, Sikandra etc at the other. The main reason being the horribly busy GT road which crosses through this point. (Sikandra - Bhagwan Theater - Waterworks - Rambagh). Its always jammed with trucks.

Also, if time permits do visit the temple at Dayalbagh.
Old 12th October 2015, 12:48   #133

Thanks @Ampere for the feedback, Appreciate it,,

The Udaipur info is something new to me, thanks again for the fore warning,

Would you suggest any specific hotels en-route - specifically with good rest rooms? You know, how horrible it would be for ladies while travelling...
You have Vithal Kamat in Palghar on NH8 to your left (towards Surat) and has decent rest rooms. Further had lunch at Sugar N Spice Vadava Gujarat which is also on NH8 on to your left.

If you are concerned about narrow roads in Udaipur, you may search for good hotels near fateh sagar lake which has very broad roads. To reach City Palace in Udaipur you have to go through the narrow lanes for which you can take an auto rickshaw. You also have a very good parking space in City Palace, Udaipur. To go upto boating behind City Palace, you can take an alternate route which will take you till the boating boarding area. This will avoid long walk from City Palace.

I took Halol - Godhra route and was sprinting to make up the lost time in NH8 due to truck traffic, hence not aware of any other hotels beyond Vadodara on NH8. From Shamalaji till Udaipur could not find any decent hotels in this stretch on NH8. Once you enter Rajasthan you will also find ghat roads as well as winding roads which will reduce your speed.
Old 13th October 2015, 10:01   #134

Thanks @Ampere, @Couswheels, for the valuable info/feedback, Shall be mindful of this,,

Below are Agra POI's, I hope a full day and couple of hours next, would be enough to cover these,,

Fathepur Sikhri
TAJ
Agra Fort
Sikandra Fort
Itmad-ud-Daulah's Tomb
Akbars Tomb
Dayalbagh temple
Rambagh

The hotel In Udaipur I reserved is "Jaiwana Haveli", which is supposed to be very near to City Palace on eastern bank of Pichola lake.
Need to park in a Govt. Parking lot nearby - hotel does not have parking..

Thanks again Guys,

Please note, Agra can be quite a discomforting city to go around. This is in context of the fact that you have Taj at one; end and Fatehpur Sikri, Sikandra etc at the other. The main reason being the horribly busy GT road which crosses through this point. (Sikandra - Bhagwan Theater - Waterworks - Rambagh). Its always jammed with trucks.

Also, if time permits do visit the temple at Dayalbagh.
Originally Posted by couswheels View Post
You have Vithal Kamat in Palghar on NH8 to your left (towards Surat) and has decent rest rooms. Further had lunch at Sugar N Spice Vadava Gujarat which is also on NH8 on to your left.

If you are concerned about narrow roads in Udaipur, you may search for good hotels near fateh sagar lake which has very broad roads. To reach City Palace in Udaipur you have to go through the narrow lanes for which you can take an auto rickshaw. You also have a very good parking space in City Palace, Udaipur. To go upto boating behind City Palace, you can take an alternate route which will take you till the boating boarding area. This will avoid long walk from City Palace.

I took Halol - Godhra route and was sprinting to make up the lost time in NH8 due to truck traffic, hence not aware of any other hotels beyond Vadodara on NH8. From Shamalaji till Udaipur could not find any decent hotels in this stretch on NH8. Once you enter Rajasthan you will also find ghat roads as well as winding roads which will reduce your speed.
Old 5th April 2016, 11:12   #135

One more request. I am planning for Rajasthan this December.

1. Dates are yet to be confirmed, tentative from 17th Dec onwards for a week to 10 days
2. Travelling from Bangalore, do not have a car. So driving is ruled out from Bangalore.
3. First time visit to Rajasthan.
4. Wife n kids (8 and 4 yrs)
5. Preferably want to cover Agra and Delhi.

Can you guys please help me in planning this trip so I can start booking the places by May 1st week.
Please suggest,
1. Mode of travel
2. Places to visit
3. Accommodation
4. Any suggested Car hire or person.

Anything else I have missed please include.