Old 4th June 2014, 13:27   #406

Re: Fish me out of this 15 lac soup!

Ah! I need a car with good handling dynamics, that completes rules out the Honda. Not too long ago, I had lost some money in buying a Jazz and selling it off in less than an year as I started to hate it so bad. The car was bought for my wife, then things changed a little and the Jazz became my car. I decided never to buy an ill-handling car :(

Originally Posted by ampere View Post
How about Honda? City would be good. but I think beige overdose. But yet get some good piece of mind.
Also is sedan an absolute must? Else, you want look at Jazz/Mobilio?
Old 10th June 2014, 13:16   #407

Replace XUV with what?

Hello Folks,

I am driving a brand new XUV W6 from Feb 2013. It has run 20,000 Kms now in the past 17 months.

It has been brilliant on the Highways and decent the city interms of ease of driving.

Considering the fact that, my previous car was a Fiesta 1.6 Zxi Petrol, which was a bomb, driving XUV has made me a "Volvo Bus Driver" literally.
The Fun factor is missing. The Rear suspension bounces all over the place.
And ofcourse the infamous niggles of the XUV (which I am not bothered much about).

So, I started thinking, if the idea of selling this year and half old XUV and probably pick up a good diesel sedan (used also absolutely fine), which has brilliant driving characteristics and decent FE. I request my friends on this forum to suggest good options.

* I want a decent sized engine, since I am so used to 2.2L mHawk now.
* I want a good sized interior as we are so very used to the big space between the front 2 seats, the arm rest etc.
* I am on a loan for XUV and I don't intend to spend much above the selling price of the XUV.

Pramod
Old 10th June 2014, 13:39   #408

Replace XUV with what?

Hey Pramod,

We also have one of the first XUV's in the country. But the ownership joy was soon lost. The car had done around 60k and we plan to sell it off now. Also we had to go through a lot of headache and spend a lot to maintain it. Now coming to sedans that are absolutely fun to drive, first considering the cost you get for XUV will be around 10laks?( correct me if I am wrong )

With that budget, 2 cars that are absolute fun to drive are the VENTO and the RAPID. The Ecosport would be satisfying as we'll but the wait time might put you off. May be you can also have a look at the new Linea. Incase you change your mind and plan to go for a D segment then again their German brother are a absolute hoot to drive.

Suggesting the above stressing on the fun to drive factor and the fuel being diesel. Sadly there are no cars that are fun to drive from reliable brands. Hope this was useful.

Last edited by Amarendranath : 10th June 2014 at 13:42.
Old 10th June 2014, 13:44   #409

Re: Replace XUV with what?

Well the new City fits the bill in all except the engine, considering the fact that it is not fast and refined enough on the highways for competing with your XUV. Then you have the Verna seating is not very comfortable visibility is hampered by low seating position at the front and it is on the wrong side of 10 lakhs. The Fiat Linea is again a big car, small interior problem and the diesel is too small and slow for you (petrol's another matter though ). The Volkswagen Vento I think is your best bet, but the ergonomics are slightly messed up and engine not as refined as the XUV but it is the best car suited to your requirement.
Old 10th June 2014, 13:44   #410

Originally Posted by pramod View Post

* I want a decent sized engine, since I am so used to 2.2L mHawk now.
* I want a good sized interior as we are so very used to the big space between the front 2 seats, the arm rest etc.
* I am on a loan for XUV and I don't intend to spend much above the selling price of the XUV.
You are in quite a predicament.

Ford's Sedan's especially Fiesta was in a class of it's own when it comes to driving and stability. Similarly Ikon too was fun to drive around.

In recent times, the only car which comes to my mind (ofcourse after driving it) is Skoda Octavia (New). This car has amazing heart under its skin, supported by great stable suspensions. It's a car in its own league.

But, with your above conditions, I know it won't fit the bill of your limited budget you have mentioned.

I think, the only good car which comes within your planned pricelist, would be Honda City (Petrol). Why not Diesel? It isn't FUN to drive around with Diesel engine. My cousin owns one, so not too happy about it.

Hence Petrol is really worth it's penny.

Diesel cars? I would vouch for VW sedan's (be it Vento/Jetta) anyday for it's outstanding Highway behaviors, which actually suits Ford Fiesta Owners perfectly. It has a great stability during high speeds, reliable body, sturdy, built quality is good. Mostly fits your requirements.

The only disappointment which I see in it is the sound of the engine.

Fun to drive within city is Verna, but doesn't match Fiesta's stability during high speeds/highways. High Speeds in the sense go beyond 120-140kmph, you get really scared, as Hyundai's suspensions are too soft for maneuverability.

I forgot to mention, another splendid car and that would be New Fiat Linea. Good driving pleasure and the car has been refreshed with new quality interiors in 2014 models. Check that out too.

Last edited by kicksperliter : 10th June 2014 at 13:48. Reason: Added few more points and formatting
Old 10th June 2014, 13:46   #411

How much do you think you can spend?

Here are my suggestions on what sedan to buy in both the C2 segment and the D1 segment based on a requirement for something that is both fun to drive and sensible:

Volkwagen Vento- Facelift ought to come out soon might have the updated 1.5 liter diesel and a DSG box.

Maruti Suzuki Ciaz- If their sedans are any indication; Baleno, SX4, Kizashi, this will be a dynamically capable car. The fact that it will be the largest in its segment and loaded with features, only makes it a more sensible buy.

Renault Fluence- Fairly fun to drive, extremely tractable motor, loaded with features, loads of space.

Now if you want nothing but driving pleasure, go for a Petrol
You could choose to fall in love with the Linea T-Jet. Take a look at the 1.4tsi Jetta as well
Old 10th June 2014, 14:10   #412

Considering I get 11L for the 2013 Feb XUV.

Isnt the Petrol Civics at a much lower price an option. If not, any solid reasons?

Laura 2.0 -- heavy maintenance and servicing?
Old 10th June 2014, 14:28   #413

Petrol Honda City for the sheer no nonsense car it is. However, if you want the fun factor even above a petrol City then a diesel Vento/Rapid would make more sense.

I personally found Vento a little too cramped inside so not sure how you would feel after having driven the XUV.

Skoda Octavia could also be looked at (cautiously!) but not sure whether it would fit in your budget.
Old 10th June 2014, 15:20   #414

Considering I get 11L for the 2013 Feb XUV.

Isnt the Petrol Civics at a much lower price an option. If not, any solid reasons?

Laura 2.0 -- heavy maintenance and servicing?
Now we're talking If you don't mind a used car, then sure, a well maintained, post-2009 Civic, would make a brilliant choice. The money you save on buying one, will more than compensate for the higher cost of petrol.

A used Cruze should also fit your budget well. It will require a tyre upgrade though, and will still not be a brilliant dynamic package, but the excellent NVH levels (for a diesel), slick gearshifts and the kick in your pants when you drive it sure makes it fun to drive
Old 10th June 2014, 15:39   #415

Get a used Laura 1.8TSI. Will be within 10lakhs and you get a premium sedan with a stonker of an engine. Space at the front is more than enough. Only gripe is that is petrol and will burn a hole in your pocket with fuel bills and maintenance. Nothing comes close to the fun factor though.
Old 10th June 2014, 15:50   #416

I like the idea of a used Cruze a lot. It is a very competent car and you can easily get a less used car for around 9-10L. The other idea of a petrol Civic also sounds really promising and the money saved can easily cover for the extra expense of petrol and still leave you enough to spend on something else. Anyways in the current scenario the gap between diesel and petrol prices is definitely narrowing down.
Old 10th June 2014, 16:22   #417

I would recommend new Honda city petrol. Stonker of an engine. Does 0-100 in ~ 9.5 sec and still manages a double digit mileage in city conditions. The only real negative for the car is the relatively rough ride.
Old 10th June 2014, 16:47   #418

Check out Chevy Cruze. In used market you will get it for cheap, and the handling/engine are top notch.
Old 13th June 2014, 13:57   #419

Re: Fish me out of this 15 lac soup!

If open to pre-owned cars, explore the possibility of :

Chevrolet Cruze
Honda Civic
Skoda Laura TSI or TDI

If you want a new car, you can go for :

Honda City iVtec (petrol)
Fiat Linea T-Jet
Vento TSI (if you dont mind it being an automatic petrol)
Vento / Rapid TDI

Among pre-owned options, Cruze makes the most sense since it offers the most bang for the buck and you won't be spending as much on maintenance as you would with an ageing Laura. That said, the Laura TSI is an amazing car and if you wouldn't mind the extra running cost of a turbo petrol, that's the car you should go hunting for. Good luck finding one in the used car market though. From what I know via interactions with some used car dealers, owners of this car do NOT want to part with it . A pre-owned Cruze is more easily available, comparatively. Civics are easy to find nowadays.

If you're looking for a new diesel sedan, it would have to be the Vento or Rapid TDI in that price range. Want an automatic petrol sedan? Choose between the City Auto and Vento TSI (TSI is more fun to drive). Note that the Vento TSI is currently having long waiting queues.

If a new manual petrol sedan is what you're looking for, the Linea T-Jet should be your obvious choice for the FTD factor, or else the manual Honda City if no-nonsense ownership is your primary concern. A few test drives of these cars should help you decide and narrow down on which one satisfies your requirements the most. Good luck with your purchase!

Last edited by KarthikK : 13th June 2014 at 13:58.
Old 7th July 2014, 08:12   #420

Considering the fact that, my previous car was a Fiesta 1.6 Zxi Petrol, which was a bomb, driving XUV has made me a "Volvo Bus Driver" literally.
The Fun factor is missing. The Rear suspension bounces all over the place.
And ofcourse the infamous niggles of the XUV (which I am not bothered much about).
The Fiesta of yours reminded on that old Munnar TL that you had penned.

I want a good sized interior as we are so very used to the big space between the front 2 seats, the arm rest etc.
This is what stopped me from shouting.... Get the new Fiesta back to your garage.

Mobilio? Barring the looks of an MUV, it gives you everything you need. (I know you asked for sedan) But do consider. Because if monthly outflow on the car including fuel and maintenance are to be considered, D-segment can get pricey on that front. You may want look into that aspect. Space wise the only C-segement coming close to what you ask are the Vento and Rapid. If they are not on your options list, then from a sedan point of view you have no option but to look into D-Segment. And there; all driver friendly cars may be high on maintenance.

Last edited by ampere : 7th July 2014 at 08:16.

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com