Team-BHP > What Car? > Sedans
Register New Topics New Posts Top Thanked Team-BHP FAQ

Search this Thread
Old 10th June 2008, 19:40   #1
BHPian

Need help to upgrade from Santro to a Sedan

Hi Guys,
This is my first post in Team-BHP. Currently i own a Hyundai Santro 1999 Top model. I bought it 2 years back as a second hand vehicle. Before that i had Omni. While owning omni i faced lot of problems like starting trouble(happens every day in spite of having a new battery...blame the carburreted Engine),car tries to lose the steering grip in highways especially when trucks passby in the opposite direction.Since i was a beginner i got used to it. Then i thought of upgrading to santro without discussing with anyone and my santro never let me down.Though i bought it as a second hand i took risk by taking it to Kodaikanal from chennai the very next week of its purchase. I was never let down and when i returned to chennai i decided to keep this car for life time..as it not only let me down but believe me it gave me 23 kmpl mileage!
Things have changed now especially after the launch of Xing i began to feel my car's looks were not appealing.
Please Note...
1. My monthly income is just Rs.17000 and apart from this santro i can pay the downpayment Rs.3,50,000(Thanks to my mom and Dad)
2. If i can manage to sell my santro for about Rs.1,30,000(Well maintained,Leather Seats,DVD player with USB playback and TFT Monitor with Sony subwoofer system with Amp.....Do you guys think i can sell it to that amount?i am a second owner for this car!)
Totally i can manage Rs.5,00,000 and the loan amount i can get is Rs.300,000 making the total to be Rs.800,000
Now,i am stuck with this.....Should i go for the New SX4,Fiesta,Verna...etc...or should i go in for a second hand Honda civic which i can get by Rs.850,000