Old 8th September 2008, 11:16   #1

Honda City Vtec Vs Hyundai verna

I am looking to buy a sedan of around 9 lac. My heart is stuck on Hyundai Verna Crdi, but i saw that the honda city vtec is also good.

Can someone please advice me to which car is better. My preferences of feature are
1) Power
2) Interiors
3) FE

I have OHC and am pretty happy with the engine ,but they dont have enough service centers in pune.

Please feel free to suggest any other sedan in the same class. No preference of fuel type.

Gourav Sinha
Old 8th September 2008, 13:59   #2

1. Power : Hyundai Verna
2. Interiors - City vTec
3. Common FE bw a petrol and a deisel

a better comparo will be with the petrol version of hyundai verna
in that case all 3 factors to Honda City!
Old 8th September 2008, 14:03   #3

The toyota corolla is a great car too. The Skoda 1.8 petrol rider could also be considered if you want outright power

How about Mitsubishi Lancer Cedia..?
Old 8th September 2008, 14:21   #4

I have OHC and am pretty happy with the engine ,but they dont have enough service centers in pune.
If service centers are a prob why r you considering the Honda?

Anyway, u might wanna wait a bit and check out the new City, the power could be anywhere between 110-120bhp. And with the new i vtec engine, it's bound to be more refined than the present Vtec.

or

If you wanna keep the OHC, you can take it to Bbay and swap it with a VTEC head. Im sure the tuners from bbay will be able to help you out with it.

Shan2nu

Last edited by Shan2nu : 8th September 2008 at 14:25.
Old 8th September 2008, 14:31   #5

Both cars are different.

I feel Hyundai Verna CRDi is a better car today if compared to the Honda City - More Power & FE advantage ( Diesel being cheaper ).

I was in a similar situation 2 months back and I went ahead and bought the Hyundai Verna CRDi - Trust me, it was a good decision. The car costs less than 3rs a km for me to run. On the highways it is an absolute road rocket.

VTec is no doubt a very good car, Interiors are also very good. But the new Honda City is not far away. Should be launched this year sometime aroud Diwali.

If your heart is set for the City, I suggest wait for the new one to launch.
Old 8th September 2008, 14:31   #6

With the combination of power,FE, interiors and a budget of 9 L, it has to be Verna Crdi for you. The Honda City Vtec will be the other option, if you change your mind and insist on petrol. As for some of the other cars in that range
Ford Fiesta petrol - Decent power, but FE would be around 10 or max 11. But you can get the topend for less than 8.5 L OTR.
Verna Petrol - Adequate but not scorching.
Lancer Cedia - This is a good sedan. But do check out on dealer service at your location. Also resale value will be lower than normal.
Optra - Check this out. But, this may slightly stretch your budget
Aveo- Again, just adequate.
Old 8th September 2008, 14:37   #7

A Question
I heard no variant of fiesta and verna have airbags
Is that true?
Old 8th September 2008, 14:39   #8

Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
A Question
I heard no variant of fiesta and verna have airbags
Is that true?
Verna does not. Fiesta top end does.
Old 8th September 2008, 15:28   #9

Gourav- Kindly mention your monthly usage to suggest Petrol vs Diesel.
If your monthly running is nothing above 1000km go for the New City . If beyond that go for the Verna Diesel. My 2 cents wait for New City should be one heck of a buy!!
Old 8th September 2008, 16:13   #10

I think a wait for the new Honda City maybe worth while , but if you still harbour apprehensions about the service back up from Honda then why worry about the City at all ?

But fact is that the Petrol verna cannot even hold a candle to the performance level of the honda city VTEC, unlike its diesel siblling ...
Old 8th September 2008, 16:36   #11

Hiest evrsionof Fiesta Comes with the airbag ,Airbags are not available in any version of verna
Old 8th September 2008, 16:44   #12

Me too feel that you should wait for the new city.
Btw, the current city is 77bhp right? So, comparing it with verna does not make any justice in my opinion.
Old 8th September 2008, 16:50   #13

Well, mjothi, he is comparing with the Vtec City, which is like 100bhp or so, in which case, a comparo with Verna-P is makes sense.

With a new City expected anytime, it makes sense to wait for it and then make your choice.
Old 8th September 2008, 20:08   #14

having driven both the cars i would say refinement wise it got to be a Honda. The Verana was a beast though -- lot of power under the hood.
Old 8th September 2008, 20:36   #15

Originally Posted by nemo View Post
having driven both the cars i would say refinement wise it got to be a Honda. The Verana was a beast though -- lot of power under the hood.
I have also tried both and agree with nemo. Amongst the two, my final vote is for Verna. Also the fact that you have had service access issues with Honda which will not be the case with Hyundai.

You can also check out the Fiesta and SX4 in this range. If you are not specific about diesel, Cedia is a good bet where even the base model comes loaded with all safety features like airbags, ABS, EBD etc.

Good luck with your selection.