Old 7th June 2005, 10:13   #31

Octavia gives 10K discount. Elantra it is 90K. So for same trim it works out to about 3.5lac cheaper than octavia. Over that the maintainace costs are much lower with a paid service including oil change at about 2.5-3k while for skoda it is around 8K.
Old 7th June 2005, 10:14   #32

Petra D would be an option if fial after sales was good. But at 63bhp it is underpowered compared to indigo which pumps out 70BHp. Now if fiat improves its after sales and comes out with the 70BHp JTD then definately its the best value.
Old 7th June 2005, 10:45   #33

63bhp
Who said its underpowered.. if indigo is 70bhp then reme,ber its 1400cc wheras the Petra is 1900cc
Old 7th June 2005, 10:47   #34

The petra may be 5000cc for all i care. What matters is torque and power and the rpm at which power is produced. At extremely low revs petra has an edge but above 1500-2000rpm the indigo will leave it behind.
Old 7th June 2005, 10:48   #35

One reason fiat ASS. In delhi they have redifined customer care to customer beware
Old 7th June 2005, 10:55   #36

Well i agree that the Indigo is better at 2000RPM but i think if you friend waits then he can get a lower proce on the Indigo cause i feel that the price is gonna reduced after the swift being launched people prefer going for safe hatches rather then plain sedans..
Old 7th June 2005, 10:58   #37

Indigo comes in a different segment. Economy diesel. So unless swift diesel is introduced indigo wont be hit much. People who commute around 2000-3000kms a month and have a 5lac budget will still go fir indica/indigo as the petrol costs for them will be a major issue.
Old 7th June 2005, 12:45   #38

I was just wondering.
Won't the tata Indigo give problems after 40K?
My brother plans to buy one and use it for 5 - 7 years (and we MAY get another one for company use).
Tsk,
i would hate to do this but i think your friend should go for an Elantra CRDi.
It shouldn't give any problems after 50K if it is well maintained.
Old 7th June 2005, 13:39   #39

Well my cousin owns two indigos already. One has done 29K, the second one which he intends to replace has done 65K in less then two years. The total maintainance expenses its taken apart from regular stuff is bearing replace and new tyres. There have been no breakdowns and the bearings get replaced in most vehicles around 50K. It is recommended in service interval. He would happily go for indigo but its becoming monotonous. So he is thinking of elantra.
Old 7th June 2005, 16:33   #40

Originally Posted by Steeroid
I'm almost weeping with gratitude. Thanks RX.
You're right. (More tears)
BOTFT (bawling on the floor with tears, in case you didnt get it)...
Let me know if and when you run out of hankies
ROFLHOLCBF (Rolling On the Floor Laughing Hysterically Out Loud Collecting Bird Feathers)

Last edited by RX135 : 7th June 2005 at 16:37.
Old 8th June 2005, 11:53   #41

guys.
on similar lines.
i do have to buy a disel car.
but i do not want to spend 10lakhs i also read the Accent CRDI review.
wonder whether i should wait for Fortuner,
regret selling off my palio
Old 8th June 2005, 11:57   #42

Fortuner will be above 10lacs. So you have Accent Crdi and Elantra Crdi if you dont want more than 10 on road.
Old 8th June 2005, 12:12   #43

And the Safari CRDi too, hopefully...
Old 8th June 2005, 12:21   #44

U R right.

Originally Posted by tsk1979
Fortuner will be above 10lacs. So you have Accent Crdi and Elantra Crdi if you dont want more than 10 on road.
U R right.
but the thought of Toyoto and a SUv. Means more Loan from ICICI
Old 8th June 2005, 12:25   #45

okie

Originally Posted by Steeroid
And the Safari CRDi too, hopefully...
it is so huge.
I am thinking of buying around Sep/Oct.
I drive from West Kk nagar to Perungudi.
hence the disel thoughts.
plus, do not want to overload the Fusion+