Old 7th April 2006, 22:59   #16

http://www.petitiononline.com/quota/petition.html

this is a small effort that can make an impact.
Old 8th April 2006, 12:35   #17

These days, in almost all of the news magazines we can see of the "so called" India's growth (about 8%), 10K Sensex, reverse brain drain and India as the next world superpower after US & China. Do you really have faith in these figures ? Personally not, in my case.

If India has to move forward (in the real sense) it has to get out from the shackles of these imbecile politicians who use caste/creed to amass up the votes. All the parties in India are alike in playing the religion game.

I'm not a SC/ST/OBC guy and I'm not dirty rich to go abroad to complete my studies. I prefer to stay here in India and plans to earn my daily bread from here itself since I don't want to be a 4th grade citizen in an alien country and also because it's our own INDIA !!!

If India is in a desperate need for reservations, then why can the reservations be limited to the 1st generation only ? I know people who are SC/ST/OBCs and owns Octavias/Citys and still their offsprings are eligible for reservation !!! This is the ridiculous social scene in India.

And in the real life corporate working environment which is the better option, meritocracy or reservation-crazy ?

Gandhi wanted reservations only for the 10 years after the independence. It seems to be like the present Congress leaders are having dementia regarding what Gandhi has said.

In a nutshell, can we conclude that India is just a paper tiger ?
Old 8th April 2006, 13:00   #18

Mods can we add a poll to this thread with options of supporting the act or dislike the move. I simply hate this move made but there might be some people here who would support this.
Old 8th April 2006, 13:14   #19

i am for uplifting all sections of society ... SC/ST/OBC reservation ?? ok ... this much ?? no
this is not the way to go ... they need to focus more on primary/secondary education ... by provoding people who have no good schooling a walk-in entry into IIM/IIT/DU ... will they be 'uplifted' ?? no ... will they be compitant to work in the existing job market?? ... NO ... unless ofcourse even jobs are 'reserved' for them ...

i'm sure all the deserving ones among the SC/ST/OBC quota fellows do get in under the existing reservations , but increasing it by a further 27% is 'insane' to say the least.
Old 8th April 2006, 20:29   #20

Provide reservations in primary and secondary education, I say even till higher secondary, but draw the line there. This just about makes it a level playing field for everybody. Those who are going to grease their way into educational institutions will continue to do so anyway, whether Open category or otherwise.
Give free seats to deserving candidates who have it cut out for themselves even to put two meals a day on the table, and study in parks. Not for bimbos who wear Versace wardrobe and Isse Miyake perfumes at 9 in the morning only to step out of their chaffeur driven multi million Rupee cars, only to suffocate the rest of the not so extravagant general public.
Babus don't learn, nor do we revolt enough. Sigh....
Old 8th April 2006, 22:12   #21
SLK

Originally Posted by ported_head
Provide reservations in primary and secondary education, I say even till higher secondary, but draw the line there.
Very true... that was the first thought in my mind as well.

BUT you see this govt. wants everything RIGHT NOW.... they want to take a step and see the results before their term ends.
See the 5 lakh shops that are supposed to be ceiled in Delhi, would affect the lives of the owners and workers in a more permanent and damaging way. (they just want to ceil them right now to clean Delhi by erasing things)

Short-cut is the name of the game…. And our new PM (so called “learned”) seems to be no different.

Originally Posted by ported_head
nor do we revolt enough. Sigh....
Govt. isn't in a mood to listen to anything!... Words aren't enough for them.
But again.. I don't think one can have Govt.'s attention without giving his life...
But then try and imagine... 1 student dead.. ah.. nothing for the govt.!... Ah probably a couple of hundred dead would change something. (like it happened the last time) (but it pops up again)
Basically ..a hopeless scenario... no use students destroying their life for it.

Did anyone say india was progressing?... to a superpower?
Old 10th April 2006, 06:38   #22

This is a disastrous move by the Govt. OK. It is another matter to provide economic assistance to the needy. In my opinion, the very concept of reservation should be gotten rid of. There has to be some economic assistance to people of all castes who are in need of one. OK, let them get their books, accomodation, fees, extra tution classes if they need, everything covered, but reservation, a big NO. Either in the primary education front or in higher education. Provide them all the facilities and let them fight it out. That way they are better off than now. The Govt is spoon-feeding them now.
Old 10th April 2006, 13:07   #23

Right move by government!

So what if someone dies after being operated by an incompetent doctor, whose community was oppressed by higher castes for centuries together? Let that someone die and let his soul rest in peace, while we celebrate "social justice".
Old 10th April 2006, 13:42   #24

Its actually a step by step process
Goal, reservation in pvt companies. If such a thing happens all of a sudden then there is a lot of hue and cry, so govt will do this incrementally.
1. Reservation in premier institutions
2. Reservation for specialist PG courses
3. Reservation in pvt companies.

All this is being done for Votes. None of the govt officials care too hoots about downtrodden.
Old 10th April 2006, 13:42   #25

Originally Posted by RX135
Right move by government!

So what if someone dies after being operated by an incompetent doctor, whose community was oppressed by higher castes for centuries together? Let that someone die and let his soul rest in peace, while we celebrate "social justice".
The general concensus seems to be that economic aid is fine and reservations till secondary education is also fine. But 50% reservation in the top most institutes is going too far!
Old 10th April 2006, 13:50   #26

Reservation in politics was only meant to be around for 5 years and we still have it today. This whole thing gives us a two tier nation and violates the notion of equality as enshrined in the contitution. The politicans would sell their own mothers if it meant an increase in their vote bank. All that will happen is you will get sub standard people being accepted into institutions.

In most other countries they have other measures to help those who are finially weak I know from experience in the UK we used to have grants made to the child on the basis of his/her parents income. Those with lower income got a higher gant.

If India is to move forward thy need to get rid of this reservation mentality.

Reservation restricts freedom and has failed to do what it was set up for. If people do not make a stand we will soon have reservation for women in parliament, then maybe reservation for one eyed lesbians and midgets.
Old 10th April 2006, 14:25   #27

http://www.petitiononline.com/No_Quota/petition.html

Here is one link, which I received in e-mail. Vote there if you are against it.
Old 10th April 2006, 16:37   #28

Lets do something peeps! This thing sucks!
Old 11th April 2006, 06:16   #29

I've read that students are going to start a nationwide e-mail/SMS campaign against HRD minister's move and is going to petition President & PM.

Seems to be like a worth move...
Old 11th April 2006, 10:35   #30

This is a repeat of what I posted on my personal blog.. but wanted to provide an additional point of view:

http://us.rediff.com/money/2006/apr/...q=bp&file=.htm

When are we ever going to get over this madness?

If we are planning on letting it go to the dogs anyway, personally, my opinion is this:
Have all educational institutions operate on a pseudo merit/money basis.

Leave the seats open, but atleast make people pay for it. If these quotas are going to make a lot of money for the folks, let them shell out atleast 10 times/20 times the fee that merit based students pay.. Let there be institutions that fund them with loans.. but obviously, if you do not perform, you have the liability of repaying the bank (even if you drop out).

Also, we will possibly be creating funds that could be used to uptake other development/expansion programs.

And my personal request is this: On every one of the certificates issued to such folks, can the institutions hand out certificates printed on red stationery instead of the usual, so that potential employers are aware!?

The logic is simple: If you cant beat them, join them.. But, on your terms!

Blog is available at: http://kgc_cool.blogspot.com

I am not advertising anything/doing anything commercial, so, I hope it is OK to post the link..