Old 11th October 2008, 11:46   #3346

Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
So, I got one of my dream cars today. And, to be honest, i havent been happier in a long long time!! Better pictures to come soon. I hope these few are enough for a while though. Also, is this the first Dodge Daytona on the forum??
Awesome Bro ..Whats the scale and model ??

Last edited by Rehaan : 12th October 2008 at 18:53. Reason: quote fixed.
Old 11th October 2008, 12:44   #3347

Originally Posted by im_srini View Post
Hi Akshladha, you could have issues if you try for 1:18 for commercial jets. For example, a small-medium airliner, like the A320, in 1:18 scale would be close to 5' 8" long, 2' 3" tall, & have a wingspan of 6' 3" ! Besides, any diorama with such a big model (hence highly detailed) will dominate any cars you might place underneath.

For airport dioramas, I would suggest relatively small period airliners like the DC-3 to showcase vintage 1:18 scale (post 1935), & smaller aircraft from Lear or Cessna for more contemporary 1:18 cars.

Besides, 1:18 isn't a common scale for kit aircraft - the common scales are 1:32, 1:48, 1:72, & 1:144. If you prefer die-cast, the common airliner scales are (as you'd mentioned) 1:200, 1:250, 1:350, & 1:400.

If you're planning an airport scene, replicating in scale a small private airport would be more suitable (as against a large commercial terminal) for the purposes of showcasing scaled cars. Even the DC-3 in 1:18 scale (if you can get it) will be quite large (L - 3' 6", H -11", W - 5' 3"), detailed, & expensive ! A better bet would be the single-engined aircraft from Cessna, Beech, or Mooney.
Hey Sirin, thats a really nice idea. Yes, even i did realise that massive the commercial planes would be in 1:18 ratio and i guess you don't even get them?? rite??? Are there any 1:18 commercial liners available?

We would really try out the private airport's idea. As it would suit well the small town setup we are doing.

Right now we are evaluating the scale compatibilities and then the area that we would be looking forward for. Its a long term hobby project so would take years to come through, but the early the start is the better it is.

I would keep harrowing you for your inputs.

Old 11th October 2008, 12:52   #3348

Originally Posted by MNAKASH View Post

Awesome Bro ..Whats the scale and model ??
Its a ERTL 1:18. And it royally puts other 1:18s to shame!! Its HUGEEE!!
Old 11th October 2008, 13:01   #3349

You may get lucky and I may get jealous! :-)

I havent bought anything major in the last three months or so. And to be very honest, there are a very few cars that really exite me as of now. I have this lingering and nagging voice in the back of my head begging me to venture into Aeronautical kits and Aeromodelling. I have a friend who goes to the turf club to fly his model airsrafts every sunday and every time i meet him he asks me when i am going to get one of my own? But, in a recent trip to gift centre, i noticed a F-14 Hornet kit lying smugly in a corner and now i really want that!!

Watch this space..I may just get lucky!!
Hey Cyrus. Was it a scale model or a R/c flying kit? And if a scale model what scale was it?

Can you even guide me where is Gift Center? As the only place we use to buy models from was at Model Art in Inorbit, which was closed down. Shoppers do not have much variety.

Yeah, one more thing, if you wanna trigger you adrenaline with some aircraft diecasts then check Hobby Master, Forces of Valor, 21st Century Toys, Century Wings, Bad Cat Toys.
Old 11th October 2008, 18:59   #3350

Originally Posted by akshladha View Post
Hey Cyrus. Was it a scale model or a R/c flying kit? And if a scale model what scale was it?

Can you even guide me where is Gift Center? As the only place we use to buy models from was at Model Art in Inorbit, which was closed down. Shoppers do not have much variety.

Yeah, one more thing, if you wanna trigger you adrenaline with some aircraft diecasts then check Hobby Master, Forces of Valor, 21st Century Toys, Century Wings, Bad Cat Toys.

Gift Center is right next to Akbarallys at Flora Fountain. They have a huge collection of AutoArts and a few Kyoshos too. I think they are the only AA stockists left.
Old 11th October 2008, 19:04   #3351

Ferrari F430 Spider

My FerrariF430 Spider. I had posted another bad picture of the same few months back, but I thought of posting this better picture too.

The Scale Model Thread-ferrarif430.jpg

This is taken with my new DSLR and of course photoshopped little bit.
Old 11th October 2008, 23:50   #3352

So, I got one of my dream cars today. And, to be honest, i havent been happier in a long long time!! Better pictures to come soon. I hope these few are enough for a while though. Also, is this the first Dodge Daytona on the forum??
a really good car. does the gas lid open?? what about the glove box??
Old 12th October 2008, 00:33   #3353

Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
My FerrariF430 Spider. I had posted another bad picture of the same few months back, but I thought of posting this better picture too.

Attachment 58485

This is taken with my new DSLR and of course photoshopped little bit.
I have seen this picture here before.

Originally Posted by amit V8 View Post
a really good car. does the gas lid open?? what about the glove box??
Its not that good!! What i like most though is the super well detailed HEMI 426 engine. Also, the block and tranny are painted red so that looks really cool. Another thing is the Suspension brace below the car!! Simply amazing!
Old 12th October 2008, 00:59   #3354

Originally Posted by amit V8 View Post
for the fiat guys....
source SCALEMODELCARZ.COM
Arre Amit, this scale model of the fiat 1100 special is simply awesome, God knows how many times I've ogled at her on google !!
Guys, anybody has any clue at all, where and how to source her ? She's made by Starline Models..
Old 12th October 2008, 01:41   #3355

I asked the Gift centre fellow. He said it is almost impossible to find one here. I believe Ram has one though!
Old 12th October 2008, 02:30   #3356

Wow, so much muscle! If you spot a popular tuner car Evos, Supras and the likes in 1:18 please lemme know.
Old 12th October 2008, 11:45   #3357

Originally Posted by salilpawar1 View Post
Wow, so much muscle! If you spot a popular tuner car Evos, Supras and the likes in 1:18 please lemme know.
What about a Nismo 350Z?? Does that count??
Old 12th October 2008, 15:03   #3358

here is my 1:6 MERCEDES BENZ 540K ROADSTER. its massive, its huge, its heavy and its awesome. its a r/c model. will post more photos later. it has opening doors, boot, hood. it has all pedals, gears etc. it has a proper door lock. it has all working lights but one of the lights are not working so i have removed the headlights.
p.s. just see how big it is compared to my 1:18 Merc Gullwing.
The Scale Model Thread-111008_111050.jpg  

The Scale Model Thread-111008_111148.jpg  

Last edited by amit V8 : 12th October 2008 at 15:07.
Old 12th October 2008, 16:32   #3359

WOW!! Thats a beauty!! But, is it plastic or Diecast??
Old 12th October 2008, 19:29   #3360

What about a Nismo 350Z?? Does that count??
Yes ! Yes ! Yes !
Where? How much?