![]() | #691 | |||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
The second part where you talk about "The corruption has to be eradicated from the mindset first" and "changing the mindset", can you please elaborate how this should be done? Quote:
Another aspect of mindset v/s systems. Have you noticed the same people who roll down the glass and toss out water bottles from the car in India won't even throw a bus-ticket on a road in Singapore? Does the 'mindset' change during the flight to Singapore? Nope... only systems and how strictly they are implemented changes. For people with weak morals, system and stick are the only things that work. Quote:
Last edited by SDP : 15th November 2016 at 09:31. | |||
![]() |
|
![]() | #692 | |
BHPian Join Date: Sep 2015 Location: Pune
| ![]() Quote:
http://www.ceib.nic.in/toc_1.htm | |
![]() |
![]() | #693 |
BANNED Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Pune - Now in Munich, Germany
| ![]() Yesterday my dad visited Deenenath Mangeshkar Hospital and try to pay the bill with 500 Ru note but they refused to accept it. News says All the hospitals should accept old 1000 and 500 Ru note. What can be done for such cases ? It is one of the biggest hospital in Pune. |
![]() |
![]() | #694 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Dec 2006 Location: KL-01/KL-08
| ![]() Quote:
| |
![]() |
![]() | #695 |
BHPian Join Date: Nov 2009 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() ^ Yesteday GOI allowed private hospitals also to accept old notes. Try to meet the hospital manager/administrator with today's newspaper. Basically raise stink, create a scene. Last edited by WindRide : 15th November 2016 at 09:58. |
![]() |
![]() | #696 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Sep 2007 Location: Pune
| ![]() Quote:
The facts are simple. I know that this move (demonetization) is not the only solution. I also know that this will eradicate black money but not really curb corruption. But this is a move in the right direction. You have given a strong message that corruption and money hoarding will not be tolerated. That message is a fantastic start. The problem is that we have learnt to accept and live in an environment which loves maintaining status quo. The general term used is "Arre, yahan kuch nahi ho sakta". (Nothing can change here). But here is a major change unfolding in front of our eyes. And instead of accepting this as a start of the change, there are bunch of people who are trying to convince everyone on why status quo was better. (No offence to anyone here) To me the change starts at home:
I think its time to be part of the revolution than to watch the revolution from the fence. | |
![]() |
![]() | #697 | ||
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jun 2014 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
| ||
![]() |
![]() | #698 |
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Nov 2006 Location: Bengaluru
| ![]() I think lots of people are going to be in trouble after Dec 30 if the Govt tightens the audit of bank accounts. Lots of people are a either brave/stupid for considering that depositing 2.5 lakhs in accounts is just ok in all circumstances for everyone. Lots of trade is still happening in old notes and people are dismissive of any repercussions. They are just like "lets see later". Small factories buy raw materials, produce goods and sell them with every step being in cash and outside the system. I think its not the system but people who need to be replaced totally :( |
![]() |
|
![]() | #699 | ||
BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
I also read of the many cell phone purchases being made for resale later. All this could have been avoided if there were a forced amnesty scheme at about 55-60% penalty imho... | ||
![]() |
![]() | #700 | |||||
BHPian Join Date: May 2012 Location: UK-07
| ![]() A well written article by Jayati Ghosh, in the Hindu. Some interesting tidbits, Quote:
| |||||
![]() |
![]() | #701 | |
Senior - BHPian Join Date: Jul 2009 Location: Pune
| ![]() Quote:
The really revolutionary things to do would be the things that are necessary for things to change, but very hard for me to do. Like - not paying again any bribe to anyone, ever again, regardless of the consequences. Another example - observing every traffic rule and road manners even when there is no police presence to enforce these. Or to be willing to buy things, all the way to flats, for a higher price because there is tax that has to then be paid on a higher value than before, leaving a bigger hole in my pocket than now. I could add to the list, but the point doesn't need to be made further, I think. Asking others to participate in the revolution of doing things that are now convenient for me to do doesn't cut it, I'm afraid. People will do all of those things with little help from me. | |
![]() |
![]() | #702 | |
BHPian ![]() Join Date: Mar 2006 Location: Hyderabad
| ![]() Quote:
I have personally deposited 2 cheques that need to be cleared. Post that I have to make another transfer for registration which needs to be done within this week. Other party is travelling to US. Who will bear the cost if these are delayed? I have been running to banks/ atm's since morning to activate a beneficiary for online transfer. But this is not happening as banks suspended services. Now i am forced to go to the bank multiple times to do RTGS Services are affected big time. | |
![]() |
![]() | #703 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() Join Date: Aug 2006 Location: Bangalore
| ![]() Quote:
PS: PM's Jan Dhan Yojana is more than 2 years old and hardly any bank is interested in promoting this scheme, due to high maintenance and low value. | ||
![]() |
![]() | #704 | ||
Senior - BHPian ![]() | ![]() Quote:
Current solution is clearly a strong step, seems to have been taken with a leap of faith, with the hope that it will have a positive spill over effect despite the short term pain. Quote:
Already government seems to be on the back foot, earlier only government hospitals were allowed, from today even private hospitals are expected to accept old notes. This should have been allowed in the beginning itself. Has anyone got 2000s from the ATMs yet? Last edited by SilentEngine : 15th November 2016 at 12:23. | ||
![]() |
![]() | #705 | ||
Team-BHP Support ![]() ![]() Join Date: Jan 2010 Location: Mumbai
| ![]() Quote:
![]() So if the Govt ignores the pain of the common people, its anti-common-people and if they take steps to make the process a bit less painful, they are on the back foot? ![]() Quote:
Last edited by SDP : 15th November 2016 at 12:38. | ||
![]() |