View Poll Results: How much do you commute every day?
Use public transport or simply walk 5 2.43%
Less than 10 km each way 32 15.53%
10 - 20 km each way 56 27.18%
21 - 50 km each way 78 37.86%
51 - 100 km each way 29 14.08%
Over 100 km each way 3 1.46%
Less than 1 Km each way 3 1.46%
Voters: 206. You may not vote on this poll

Old 21st December 2017, 19:42   #91

Re: How much do you commute every day? And how much time does it take?

I commute 28 Kilometers one way from Ahmedabad to Gandhinagar on SG Highway. In the morning it takes ~ 35 minutes. Evening, its generally between 40-50 minutes.
Old 21st December 2017, 23:15   #92

Daily one way drive of 23 km from home to Office. Takes around 25 minutes in normal moving traffic and 45 minutes on rush days. Nagar Road, Pune.
Old 22nd December 2017, 05:09   #93

I commute 32 miles(52 kms) in about 30 minutes. Although it is close to Boston yet the highways allow decent speeds even in peak hour traffic.
Old 22nd December 2017, 06:39   #94

I do 43 KM's one way - from Kaggalipura to Bagmane World tech park at Mahadevapura. Takes about 80-90 minutes on way to office (11.30 am) and about 55-60 minutes on way back home. (9.30 pm)
Old 22nd December 2017, 11:05   #95

I do around 27 KMs a day. Wakad to Hinjewadi Ph2 (Quadron), Via Maan & Megapolis.
Takes anywhere between 30 Minutes to One hour each side, depending on traffic around Hinjewadi Chowk.
Old 22nd December 2017, 11:48   #96

My daily drive is for 34 KMs

Home to Office - 18 KMs ~ 1hr 05 mins

Office to Home - 16 KMs ~ 1hr 45 mins

Weekend - 50 to 60 KMs

Vinu
Old 22nd December 2017, 11:48   #97

I travel ~90 Kms (round trip) everyday. And we are aptly called the famous Dilli - Gurgaon karne wali janta! While in the morning it takes me ~1.5 - 1.75 hours, evenings are wrapped up in between 2.25-2.5 hours. On an average, I spend ~4 hours on road everyday.

Route - East Delhi - India gate - Shantipath - RTR - NH 8 - Sector 32
The same route is followed back in the evening too (with a few diversions based on the traffic situation).

My partner in crime? - A Suzuki Ritz DDiS (Mera Pyara Chotta Haathi)
Old 22nd December 2017, 12:01   #98

12 km one way or 24 km round trip. total time taken around 45 mins each with moderate traffic. Car preffered - swift petrol
Old 22nd December 2017, 12:09   #99

Distance: 10KM one way
Journey time: 20 minutes average. + - 5 minutes depending upon the traffic conditions.

To. : Ashram road, Ahmedabad.

Thanks to : Sabarmati Riverfront road.
Vehicle : RE-TBTS350(mine)/ RE-CL350(colleague's)
Old 22nd December 2017, 12:21   #100

My commute is just shy of 10 KM one way. It takes around 25 minutes on an average (min 15 min under legal speeds, and a max of 4.5 hours once). on this stretch, after avoiding as much of major roads as possible, I encounter 7 traffic lights, 3 U-turns and a 500 m stretch where road construction/upgradation work is going on.

P.S. My office is on MG road, in the "Mall mile", gurgaon
Old 22nd December 2017, 12:31   #101

Originally Posted by MacBa View Post
I travel ~90 Kms (round trip) everyday. And we are aptly called the famous Dilli - Gurgaon karne wali janta! While in the morning it takes me ~1.5 - 1.75 hours, evenings are wrapped up in between 2.25-2.5 hours. On an average, I spend ~4 hours on road everyday.

Route - East Delhi - India gate - Shantipath - RTR - NH 8 - Sector 32
The same route is followed back in the evening too (with a few diversions based on the traffic situation).

My partner in crime? - A Suzuki Ritz DDiS (Mera Pyara Chotta Haathi)
Quite a similar commute as mine as well ! Although I do start from Sector - 48 in Gurgaon and end in Vaishali. That comes out to about ~98 kms for the day. Although I am looking to now move to Vaishali somewhere around walking distance from office and visit home during weekends, since I absolutely detest essentially wasting >3 hours everyday.

However I am surprised at the time taken by you. Because it takes me ~1.20 hours in the morning and between ~1.20 to ~1.45 hours in the evening.

Last edited by akhil994 : 22nd December 2017 at 12:33.
Old 22nd December 2017, 13:45   #102

Originally Posted by akhil994 View Post
Quite a similar commute as mine as well ! Although I do start from Sector - 48 in Gurgaon and end in Vaishali. That comes out to about ~98 kms for the day. Although I am looking to now move to Vaishali somewhere around walking distance from office and visit home during weekends, since I absolutely detest essentially wasting >3 hours everyday.
Swap jobs..shall we?
I have been doing this for the last 5 years now, but yea..the idea of wasting too much of time in stop start traffic isn't too great.

Originally Posted by akhil994 View Post

However I am surprised at the time taken by you. Because it takes me ~1.20 hours in the morning and between ~1.20 to ~1.45 hours in the evening.
Depends on the time you start. For example: It takes me only an hour to reach if I start at ~7:15 AM v/s 1.5-1.75 Hrs if I start at ~8.

Plus you are on the opposite side of the road.
Old 23rd December 2017, 10:46   #103

Distance : 22 Kms
Time taken : 30 Mins

I live in Melbourne, the distance traveled is not on the freeway and through regular peak hour traffic.
Old 23rd December 2017, 11:36   #104

I commute around 21 Kms everyday. It takes about 30 to 35 minutes. Yes, it is not Bangalore
Old 23rd December 2017, 18:42   #105

In chennai I commute to / fro for 108 kms every day ! This is between my home in Virugambakkam and to office in Mahindra world city . Punto Evo D is the only reason I could do this day in and out . It takes overall 3 to 3.5 hours daily for my travel .