Team-BHP - A Guide: Eating out in Chennai

-   Shifting gears (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/)
-   -   A Guide: Eating out in Chennai (https://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifting-gears/24389-guide-eating-out-chennai-7.html)

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno (Post 822820)
BTW, the normal Mallu joints (not costly ones like Ende Keralam, Kumarakom etc) all have some out-of-the-way names like Runs, Traffic Jam, City Gate etc etc.:)

And they all serve tasty food!!

BTW, the normal Mallu joints (not costly ones like Ende Keralam, Kumarakom etc) all have some out-of-the-way names like Runs, Traffic Jam, City Gate etc etc.:)

I used to love the colourful biriyani in these mallu hotels, I still love the paya in these joints, they were called kaka hotels, wonder why !

Vikram, i remember that night, we were starved & marrybrown just shooed us away since we did not have nitrous. And crescent served us some terrific hot chicken kuruma with parottas, the best i have had in a long time & that too at 2.30 am.

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
they were called kaka hotels, wonder why!

Kaka is a term used in Kerala to refer to Muslims (like Nasrani is used for Christians) and all these hotels are owned by Mallu Muslims.

Originally Posted by esteem_lover
marrybrown just shooed us away since we did not have nitrous.

Hope you guys atleast now understand nitrous' VVIP status in Chennai. :)

Originally Posted by esteem_lover (Post 822856)

Vikram, i remember that night, we were starved & marrybrown just shooed us away since we did not have nitrous. And crescent served us some terrific hot chicken kuruma with parottas, the best i have had in a long time & that too at 2.30 am.

Crescent was the name..thanks john..that was one awesome night..!!

Originally Posted by supremeBaleno (Post 822896)
Hope you guys atleast now understand nitrous' VVIP status in Chennai. :)

I do understand the VVVIP status of the DICOR driver..:)

Do you still want the "WHOLE CHICKEN" story?:Shockked:

Originally Posted by headers
Do you still want the "WHOLE CHICKEN" story?:Shockked:

Well, this is the eating-out thread, right ? I would guess the story would be perfectly inline with the thread context, since its about chicken and all. :)

BTW, the normal Mallu joints (not costly ones like Ende Keralam, Kumarakom etc) all have some out-of-the-way names like Runs, Traffic Jam, City Gate etc etc.

I hope one does not get "the runs" after eaating at the above mentioned restaurant!

Originally Posted by headers (Post 822916)
I do understand the VVVIP status of the DICOR driver..:)

Anna ki izzat hai town mein eh! :)

Originally Posted by headers (Post 822916)
Do you still want the "WHOLE CHICKEN" story?

What is this "Whole Chicken" story? Nitrous ate a whole chicken raw kya?

Originally Posted by iraghava (Post 823113)

Did you know that the chicken is a descendant of the T-Rex ? :D

Originally Posted by esteem_lover (Post 823196)
Did you know that the chicken is a descendant of the T-Rex ? :D

You mean...T-Rex--> egg --> chicken

Aha....that solves the eternal puzzle : now I know the answer --- the egg came first, not the chicken :uncontrol

Originally Posted by Blue Thunder (Post 823218)
You mean...T-Rex--> egg --> chicken

Aha....that solves the eternal puzzle : now I know the answer --- the egg came first, not the chicken :uncontrol

How come? Didn't the T-Rex come firstlol:

Originally Posted by amtak (Post 823258)
How come? Didn't the T-Rex come firstlol:

Guess the fight was only between the chicken & the egg.

Anyone tried Shridi Bites in Cathedral Road, its opposite to Woodlands showroom, its little inside the complex, shares the Stella COllege walls...used to serve LOVELY paranthas...

Originally Posted by madbullram (Post 823479)
Anyone tried Shridi Bites in Cathedral Road, its opposite to Woodlands showroom, its little inside the complex, shares the Stella COllege walls...used to serve LOVELY paranthas...

They still do Ram. Its the parkng thats the problem there.

Should try that...was a awesome place for bird watching (Stella Marris) and hot paranthas...awesome combination :)

Originally Posted by iraghava (Post 823113)
Anna ki izzat hai town mein eh! :)

What only ONE..you must be kidding..He has a full zoo inside him..lol: Anything that moves is his favorite fetish..spare the humans! But not young girls!

Originally Posted by headers (Post 824082)
What only ONE..you must be kidding..He has a full zoo inside him..lol: Anything that moves is his favorite fetish..spare the humans! But not young girls!

You mean chicks, right ? chennai 'youths' machan.

OK, getting back to topic, there is a lovely punjabi restaurant on the poonamalee high road near elsons medicals (forgot its name). The kebabs are simply delicious. Maybe we should get some from there for our next drink 'n dine meet.