Old 26th July 2007, 11:14   #196

I'm prepared to loosen up on swelled, then .
Old 26th July 2007, 11:25   #197

Next time I'm near Higginbothams, I think I'll see if they have Fowler's Modern English Usage --- anyone else got this book?

Also I remember, when I worked for a publishing company, we used a very small book as an authority on punctuation, hyphenation and some usage questions --- but I can't remember the author or title (probably included the word 'rules'). Anyone?
Old 26th July 2007, 15:30   #198

I've always wondered why the past tense of Hang is "Hanged" when referring to an execution but "Hung" in other cases?
Old 26th July 2007, 16:12   #199

Originally Posted by ajitkommini View Post
I've always wondered why the past tense of Hang is "Hanged" when referring to an execution but "Hung" in other cases?
I suppose it's just as well.

In modern English slang if you say a man is hung, it means he has a unusually large penis.

I'd rather be that than dead at the end of a rope.

Last edited by Sam Kapasi : 26th July 2007 at 16:14.
Old 26th July 2007, 16:35   #200

The Hindu (rightly) announces today: Too Much of Salt is Bad for The Health.

I don't think there is anything to criticise in terms of modern Indian English usage: it is established and accepted.

Lets look at this, and a similar example, in British English:

Too Much Salt is Bad for The Health --- the of is not required.

and

The roads are too much busy today --- Us brits would just say, "The roads are too busy today"

Any confusion between the two words to and too?.

We are going to the zoo.

Give that to me.

You can come too.
Old 26th July 2007, 16:39   #201

In the above example, I'd take greater objection to the use of "the" instead of "of". i.e. I'd rather it read Too Much Salt is Bad for Health.

The Heath doesn't sound right, to me.
Old 26th July 2007, 16:40   #202

Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post

Too Much Salt is Bad for The Health --- the of is not required.
I'd say the "The" is not required either.

"Too Much Salt is Bad for Health."

I guess it would be ok to say "Too Much Salt is Bad for The Heart" though. I dont know - just sounds right to me.
Old 26th July 2007, 16:47   #203

I think I can explain why you think THE health is wrong. (I agree with you)

Health is not a finite noun. It's a state of being, a condition like happiness or sorrow.

Love leads to sorrow. Not THE sorrow.
Street food leads to ill health, not THE ill health.
I'm in the pink of health. Not pink of the health.

Too much salt is bad for health sounds right to me.

The heart is very much a finite noun. It would be necessary to say THE heart.
Old 26th July 2007, 16:59   #204

I stumbled across this great source of information on just such a subject:
Dr.Grammar
Old 26th July 2007, 17:42   #205

Something that I have noticed often at office,while going through emails.

"Kindly revert back at the earliest"

Isnt that supposed to be "Kindly revert at the earliest" ?
Old 26th July 2007, 18:08   #206

i have seen many people use "breaking" to mean "slowing of a car". but if it is "to brake" then it should be "braking" not breaking.

sam correct me if i am wrong.

Mansi
Old 26th July 2007, 18:18   #207

Originally Posted by manaa45 View Post
i have seen many people use "breaking" to mean "slowing of a car". but if it is "to brake" then it should be "braking" not breaking.

sam correct me if i am wrong.

Mansi
You are absolutely correct Mansi.

To break is to make something into pieces.

To brake is to slow or stop your vehicle.
Old 26th July 2007, 19:46   #208

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
In modern English slang if you say a man is hung, it means he has a unusually large penis.

Originally Posted by Sam Kapasi View Post
I'd rather be that than dead at the end of a rope.
Me too in the same boat !!
Old 26th July 2007, 19:57   #209

Originally Posted by Rtech View Post
In the above example, I'd take greater objection to the use of "the" instead of "of". i.e. I'd rather it read Too Much Salt is Bad for Health.

The Heath doesn't sound right, to me.
how about "Too Much Salt is Bad for Health (that we discussed in the previous para)"?
Old 26th July 2007, 20:43   #210

Wow Sam!! This is a very good thread.

Very informative. The way every one is taking part and contributing shows how unique TBHP is.

I will try to contribute my 2 cents to this thread too.

Enlighten me - When We add our signature at the end of any post(or any e-mail for that matter) should there be a period next to it or not?

For EX- Should my signature read Bala or Bala. ?

Bala