Old 27th September 2010, 02:34   #16

Originally Posted by PAVAN KADAM View Post

I wonder what will be the fate of F1 in Delhi.

Delhi never deserves to be the F1 Venue. Bangalore or Chennai suited best.

Firstly Delhi isnt where the F1 race is going to be held Its being Held In Greater Noida which is like 40 Kms away from delhi

Secondly The Last time i Checked Bangalore and Chennai were both in India and not switzerland , So how does it equip them any Better than The current venue?
Old 27th September 2010, 10:25   #17

Other countires used this game as a opportunity to develop their undeveloped locations and here i think they have added more chaos to an already chaotic city?

Funniest part the government has asked the "ARMY" to build the bridge, its more or we accept that we dont have any other construction agency which the government has faith in!

With the money spent they could have developed many cities!
Old 27th September 2010, 11:02   #18

Will India host Olympics? No, I don't think so, for a long time to come. Not because it can't build infrastructure, but for its racism, ie not till the time till it treats dark skin people on par with fair skin. Check this: Racism at Commonwealth Games? Africans upset - there goes India's hope of hosting Olympics.

And, what is CWG for? Celebrating that we our slaves days? Thats why nobody takes CWG or its corruption seriously.
Old 27th September 2010, 11:10   #19

No offenses by why does a nation like India, where there are millions are without basic health care wants to host Olympics.

We lose millions of worth of grains because of lack to storage facilities, why do we want to build stadiums to host games.

I think the policy makers should try to solve simple problems like food, health care, clean drinking water before we look at wasting money on Olympic games.

Besides all these things, the way CWG is happening i really doubt if anybody in the Olympic committee will take us seriously we say we want to host the Olympic games.
Old 27th September 2010, 11:47   #20

We are a county who is so corrupt that only God can save us, Our so called Neta’s & babus have looted all the wealth and prosperity of this nation. I feel that these people do not have a sense of guilt leave taking pride in organizing mega events.

Instead of spending money on this mega we could have built up a new planned city which would have reduced congestion in our metros .

Now with CWG in a major mess , what a shame! I am short of words to describe my frustration. As a fellow citizen I feel cheated and as my tax money is being pocketed by these greedy /corrupt officials and to feed corruption .
India is self sufficient and have enough wealth to sustain itself if corruption is weeded out. People behind CWG should get exemplary punishment for bringing the nation to shame.

I am sure no country will support us to host Olympics for the next 2 decades for sure.
Old 27th September 2010, 12:15   #21

Guess what, CWG OC have ensured just that - no Olympics for now. So will food, health care, clean drinking water conditions improve?
Originally Posted by changaez View Post
I think the policy makers should try to solve simple problems like food, health care, clean drinking water before we look at wasting money on Olympic games.
Originally Posted by tj123 View Post
I am sure no country will support us to host Olympics for the next 2 decades for sure.
Old 27th September 2010, 12:51   #22

Those were some really funny jokes and cartoons. I'm looking forward for more of them than the games itself.
But on a serious note, I somehow feel that it'll be for the betterment of the nation that this CWG fails and it fails measurably. As it said in some movie/book that sometime you need a bang to shook someone up who is in deep slumber or in the state of ignorance. This might be the one. People in power are so corrupted that they don't even feel ashamed of putting the whole nation to shame when only thinking about filling their pockets. And that's what they did for all these years preparing for the Games. Now with all these problems these people are on tenterhooks and probably might be worried too. But if the game becomes even a remote success than they'll come out and shout that these were minor glitches which happens all the time and later there might be just a farce inquiry and all these bugs will go scott free to loot the nation again and we as common people would just go back to our "chalta hai" attitude.
As a Indian I'm do ashamed and feel robbed and frustrated. I would've really loved to see such international big event to happen in India with a greater success and lesser issues.
On a side note, I also don't agree to the people who said there are other issues like proverty/food etc which are more pressing and we shouldn't have hosted the games at all. Yes they are big issues and urgent. But there are things like sports which also shouldn't take back bench for that. Those issues definitely have to be solved/reduced and they are urgent but that doesn't mean that we stop sending satellites to space or stop building roads or stop playing/hosting games. All these should go hand in hand for a nation to progress and there should be a fine balance for all.
Old 27th September 2010, 13:25   #23

The Indian media is attacking the CWG like a pack of hyenas ripping an already dead animal's carcass. Broken ceilings, falling bridges, filthy toilets, mosquitoes and yeah the poor boxer's bed collapsed. Even he couldn't resist the temptation and went to the media with his "tragic" story. Most Indians face these issues on a daily basis. What's the big deal? Why call a press conference and start slagging your own country off in front of the world! Agreed that the CWG is a mess and a big shame but so is this guy's attitude! The Indian hockey(our national sport BTW) team has faced worse conditions yet they just go out and play for their country quietly instead of bad mouthing India.

Last edited by Wolfheart : 27th September 2010 at 13:27.
Old 27th September 2010, 13:44   #24

Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Guess what, CWG OC have ensured just that - no Olympics for now. So will food, health care, clean drinking water conditions improve?
I have my doubts on how much food, health care, clean drinking water conditions improve, but i would rather spend the money on these. Even if there is corruption, there will be atleast some amount which will get spent in the right direction.

India hosting Olympics reminds of a hindi saying " Boodi Ghodi Lal Lagam ". I think the nation would be lot better off not trying to do anything like contesting to host the Olympics
Old 27th September 2010, 13:45   #25

seven years....seven years to build, rebuild, refine, prepare, test and make good. And still just days before half the world descends on the capital, you have a city in chaos, barely third world class infrastructure, organisers saying standards of cleanliness in india are different to the world, great advert eh? if they can't do a simple thing like make a room weatherproof, and keep stray dogs out, how confident can you be the water in the taps is safe to drink? or that the contents of the room will be secure when you are out? or that the arch you walk under into the stadium will not collapse onto you?

the CWG, although a massive event, it's still way smaller than the Olympics, and you can be sure the IOC will be looking closely, and have already decided that there's no way they will send the games to the sub-continent anytime in the next half century.

on top of which the ward of the olympics brings the para-olympics, a second set of games right on the heels of the first, which must be to the same standard, if not higher with all facilities and management....and from what i've seen of the london prep, that's is an even harder task to achieve.

whose fault is this? yours, the indian public. coruption and thievery will flourish in an absence of public outrage. indias "it will do" attitude allows this kind of behaviour, try a little outrage, a bit of anger, these people have made your name mud on the public stage, once again the laughing stock of the world.

or course, if the sporting achievments on the field were outstanding, that would perhaps add a little shine to the proceedings, after all with a population over a billion, there must be a seriously huge talent pool out there....

CWG - Melbourne 2006 - 22 gold, 17 silver, 11 bronze - 4th place
CWG - Edinburgh 2002 - 30 gold, 22 silver, 17 bronze - 4th place

maybe the olympics would be a better place to look?

2008 - Beijing - 1 gold, 1 bronze....50th place...
2004 - athens - 1 silver................65th place...

outstanding sporting effort.........

so what's the way forward? retreat back into the little isolated world, in the that huge country. keep believing that your way, is the way. the rest of the worlds standards are stupid, and a shrug of the shoulders will either solve the problems, or absolve you from doing so.
Old 27th September 2010, 14:44   #26

Now the question boils down to how Indian team will do in the games, as listed out by Jai recent performance has been nothing better then pathetic, so to add salt on the wound if Indian team fails again then am not sure how bad it would be for us:(

meanwhile, its seems "Mike Hooper" is leaving in India like a king about 5lakhs+ on his accomodation and luxurious car etc at the tax payers money.....!
Old 27th September 2010, 15:25   #27

Erm. I'd rather take that ridiculous statement a bit personally as an NCR resident.

How can you say Delhi didn't "deserve"? You mean to say politicians actually spare other cities? LOL.

Kalmadi is from Pune. Jaipal Reddy is from Andhra Pradesh. Only Sheila Dikshit is from delhi - we have national integration even in our corruption

Lastly, F1 in India is being promoted by Jaypee, who have already made a racetrack of an expressway in the form of the Taj expressway. Are you saying Jaypee can't deliver? erm?

I'd be glad to revisit this thread closer to the race day in an year's time!
Old 27th September 2010, 15:47   #28

Originally Posted by Born 2 Be Wild View Post
Firstly Delhi isnt where the F1 race is going to be held Its being Held In Greater Noida which is like 40 Kms away from delhi

Secondly The Last time i Checked Bangalore and Chennai were both in India and not switzerland , So how does it equip them any Better than The current venue?
Lastly, F1 in India is being promoted by Jaypee, who have already made a racetrack of an expressway in the form of the Taj expressway. Are you saying Jaypee can't deliver? erm?

I'd be glad to revisit this thread closer to the race day in an year's time!
Gentlemen, I know this is the Shifting Gears section but even then, F1 is OT on this thread

Please continue the healthy discussion here -
http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/shifti...direction.html

As far as the current topic is concerned, do we even need to ask this question?

Last edited by suman : 27th September 2010 at 15:49.
Old 27th September 2010, 16:37   #29

Delhi did deliver under Indira Gandhi (Central govt.) Asiad 1982. I am a fan of Dr. Singh but this time he has let me down. For it is always a national pride to host any Games.

CWG was always a milking baby for the government for more grants from center but they never delivered. What happened to the funds I am not sure, it is in news the liquid soap is Rs 1600 a liter, I am sure it is organic at that price.

Now almost every Delhite feels cheated as we have gone through the utter chaos for +3 years {Flyover/Metro/Electricity/Roads dug up/Beautifications/CWG mess} and still things are not in order.They built the Village near the low lying areas of Yamuna river bed and that was a blunder [since when has the met department been efficient?]

But Olympics we as a country are not ready and I thank that are not ready. Olympics is a mammoth undertaking and it is not economic viable. Look at Atlanta/Sydney/Greece and soon to be London [exception China- what goes in that country only Hu (who) knows]. These all cities are still facing the brunt of economic of games, Greece is the worst hit.

Image marred, yes certainly, hope lost nope. Once we are in top 5 economic nations, yes, we can.

As for F1 is concerned its run as a profit making venture and will be huge success in India. How many of the TBhpians wont be attending, I am sure can be counted few. We should buy the tickets for a complete grandstand, I say
Old 27th September 2010, 22:32   #30

Originally Posted by Wolfheart View Post
The Indian media is attacking the CWG like a pack of hyenas...
LOL... the international media hasn't arrived in full strength yet; I'm waiting to find out what they do.

Incidentally, the Brit media was politely told to tone down and even shut up to some extent, after PIO heavyweights mentioned that Indian business investment in UK would take a beating if India is lampooned in public for its poor show in CWG.

Talking of lampooning, this is the ultimate:
As dozens of nasty SMS jokes about Suresh Kalmadi were being circulated last week, the beleaguered CWG Organising Committee Chairman was in for further embarrassment when one such SMS joke landed on the cellphone of one of the high-ranking bureaucrats in the Central government when Kalmadi was sitting right next to him. The amused official passed on his cellphone to another high-ranking government official present there, who then went on to read out the joke aloud, much to Kalmadi's chagrin. As if to add insult to injury, officials later said that the joke could not have been much of a bother to a now, somewhat immune, Kalmadi.

Source: Now, Kalmadi brand of jokes - *National News ? News ? MSN India

Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Team-BHP.com